We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Lena & SPA

Best prices from these 9 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Lena & SPA to your Saves list
Riad Lena & SPA
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   8, Derb El Hammam | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #272 of 1,060 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Avoid.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

So many things went wrong with this place. I am only giving this two marks because the room and riad was beautiful and the staff was friendly. Here is everything that went wrong:

1. They confirmed our pick up from the airport. No where to be found when we arrived. We called a few times and no one picked up. We waited about 45min to and hour. We then got a taxi and of course had to hire a guy to take us to the riad. They didn't say anything to us about not picking us up.

2. They do not tell you beforehand that if you want dinner at the riad you have to order in the morning (we arrived in the early evening). If we had known we would have made sure to order dinner via email before we arrived. But now when I think about it...they probably wouldn't have given us that since they didn't pick us up from the airport.

3. We told them we wanted to pay by credit card and they didn't let us upon checkout. I had to scrounge for cash. There was clearly a credit card machine on the desk. They should have told us beforehand that we NEEDED to pay in cash.

4. They overcharged us. When we got the final bill for the one night we stayed it was more than what was expected. He then told us it was for the breakfast. First of all, our breakfast was suppose to be included. Second, when I told him we needed to leave by 8am to go on our trek and that we needed breakfast at 7.30am he said not possible. Only to later find out that we could have. Third, we didn't get to even eat the breakfast.

5. We rented an apartment for 4 people. It was nice but beware that the shower does not have any covering.

It was just a disappointment. I am glad we only stayed for one night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    56
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
47
89
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

If you travel to Morocco you must go to Marrakech, Fez and Essouaira; Marrakech and Fez for the hustle and bustle of the busy Medinas and the shopping (be brave with you bargaining guys) and Essouira for a seaside break from the cities. When in Marrakech and Fez be sure to stay in the Riads for a really authentic feel. Riad Lena is a fine example of a comfortable Riad about 10 minutes walk (once you get good at navigating around the Medina) from Jamaa el Fna (the main square). The plunge pool is nice to cool off in during the day and you'll find the breakfasts and the morning staff very pleasant. If you are not familiar with the Arabic architecture you'll be pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: Book ahead. Send a confirmatory email about your arrival time and other requirements. Always have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Riad Lena is a GEM of a riad in the midst of the hustle and bustle of the Marrakech medina! Upon arrival after a long and painful overnight train ride from Tangier, my friend and I were greeted with hospitality above and beyond the Moroccan norm- delicious mint tea, pastries and cookies and even heaps of ice to soothe my swollen and dislocated knee. The attention to detail, personal touches and care for our comfort all around the riad and given to us by the manager and staff was unbelievable. Everyone truly cared how we were doing and continually offered to do anything to make the stay better - though it was already perfect and above &beyond anything we ever expected! Our room was beautiful and the breakfasts were delicious. Though the price may seem steep for Morocco, it is truly a steal for the stay and experience you get in exchange. We hope to be back again someday!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Following our desert trip with Top Desert we had a 1 day stop in Riad Lena. Even with a single nights' stay we were impressed by the level of detail given to providing a gorgeous atmosphere (flower petals / beautiful sinks / refreshing plunge pool / bubbly terrace hot bath).The roof terrace was lovely (lounge area/sunbathing/meal facilities/hot tub) and provided meals (prebooked) and a bar service (beer in Ramadan!) and was a wonderful setting for a relaxing breakfast. The bedding was luxurious and the rooms were comfortably air-conditioned. The manager arranged a taxi to the airport for us and the riad porter helped with the luggage to where the taxi could reach (access by car not possible to the door). Our arrival had not been pre-arranged by us and a few teenagers on the streets (not linked to Riad!) offered help but were a bit pushy on how much they should be paid. The walk to the main square and souks was approx 15mins, but entertaining with all the shops.

Room Tip: Room for 4 on ground floor (lovely double and 2 singles) was nice for a short stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night trip to Marrakech. Everything about our stay at the Riad Lena was perfect. The accommodation is beautiful with traditional Moroccan décor.

The roof top terrace provided a welcome retreat from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech life. The Manager, Abdel and staff were friendly and very helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. Abdel provided a personal touch experience, making the effort to catch up with us on how our trips had gone, which he had organised and booked for us.

The Riad is situated an 8 minute walk to the square. We were provided with a map, however we were regularly taken off of our route with an adventure every time!

We would definitely recommend the Riad Lena for anyone looking to stay in traditional accommodation in Marrakech with a friendly, warm welcome. We will certainly stay here again when we return to Marrakech.

Elise & Carole

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My friend and I were travelling through Morocco and we did extensive research regarding a guy and a girl travelling together so we wouldn't be offending anyone. We ended up needing separate rooms, so we wanted to find a hotel quality place with a reasonable price. I believe we found it in Riad Lena. The streets of Marrakesh are often hot and crowded, and the Riad was a perfect little oasis away from the heat, rush and noise. On arrival, we were shown our rooms then told to go to the terrace for our complimentary welcome Mint Tea and Pastries. My room was beautiful and facing the courtyard and pool. The terrace was just stunning, and the mint tea was exquisite. Abdel, the owner of the hotel, refers to mint tea as Moroccan whiskey, and he was so right. We could not get enough of it.

Here's a quick breakdown of the pros/cons I can remember:

Cons
Very glad I wasnt sharing a room as there was no door to the bathroom area. Shower is essentially a stone dugout at the end of the room with no lighting, so it requires some extra care and would not be appropriate to people with mobility issues.
Also there was a leftover smell in my bathroom that was awful, but when I told the manager he put scented sticks in there and the whole room smelt magical after that.
AC is loud and set to freezing, but considering the outside temperature I was okay with it.
Place is a little difficult to find, but if you read the instructions to get to the drop off and then ask a local boy to lead you on foot as directed, you will get to the Riad just fine.

Pros
Abdel and his staff were very informative. I'm sure they get a lot of stupid questions from ignorant tourists, so Abdel was quite adept at being a tour and culture guide, and gave us a lot of advice and information.
The hotel can hook you up with a Hammam visit- although do your research because it is a VERY different experience to a European Spa. If you prefer spa-like quality, the Riad Lena staff can direct you to a more appropriate choice for you.
Very relaxed and quiet atmosphere during our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor- entrance to the pool, less heat, closer to reception and free wifi near pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Since the hotel (it's really a riad) is in the
Medina, it is hard to find, especially when you arrive at midnight! this is because te taxi driver cannot enter the medina.
People are friendly and English is spoken, price is fair, breakfast is good.
The rooms to the door have weird locks,
Not prohibitive though. If people talk in the courtyard, then everybody can hear. That's the physics of sound in a courtyard.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Lena & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lena & SPA

Address: 8, Derb El Hammam | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #272 of 1,060 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Lena & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nora, Philippe, Abdellatif welcome you to their house, ideally situated in the Medina near the DAR BACHA Palace and eight minutes from the markets and Place Jeema el Fna. The riad has been traditionally renovated with much thought given to your comfort. The riad consists of 10 air-conditioned bedrooms, furnished in pure Moroccan style. All rooms look on to the patio and the swimming pool permitting you to cool down after sunbathing on the terrace with views of the High Atlas mountains. A first class riad in the heart of the Medina and markets, with terraces, a swimming pool and easy car access.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Lena & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Lena Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Lena & SPA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.