We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis on a budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Lena & SPA

Save Saved
You added Riad Lena & SPA to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Lena & SPA
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   8, Derb El Hammam | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #272 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Oasis on a budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My friend and I were travelling through Morocco and we did extensive research regarding a guy and a girl travelling together so we wouldn't be offending anyone. We ended up needing separate rooms, so we wanted to find a hotel quality place with a reasonable price. I believe we found it in Riad Lena. The streets of Marrakesh are often hot and crowded, and the Riad was a perfect little oasis away from the heat, rush and noise. On arrival, we were shown our rooms then told to go to the terrace for our complimentary welcome Mint Tea and Pastries. My room was beautiful and facing the courtyard and pool. The terrace was just stunning, and the mint tea was exquisite. Abdel, the owner of the hotel, refers to mint tea as Moroccan whiskey, and he was so right. We could not get enough of it.

Here's a quick breakdown of the pros/cons I can remember:

Cons
Very glad I wasnt sharing a room as there was no door to the bathroom area. Shower is essentially a stone dugout at the end of the room with no lighting, so it requires some extra care and would not be appropriate to people with mobility issues.
Also there was a leftover smell in my bathroom that was awful, but when I told the manager he put scented sticks in there and the whole room smelt magical after that.
AC is loud and set to freezing, but considering the outside temperature I was okay with it.
Place is a little difficult to find, but if you read the instructions to get to the drop off and then ask a local boy to lead you on foot as directed, you will get to the Riad just fine.

Pros
Abdel and his staff were very informative. I'm sure they get a lot of stupid questions from ignorant tourists, so Abdel was quite adept at being a tour and culture guide, and gave us a lot of advice and information.
The hotel can hook you up with a Hammam visit- although do your research because it is a VERY different experience to a European Spa. If you prefer spa-like quality, the Riad Lena staff can direct you to a more appropriate choice for you.
Very relaxed and quiet atmosphere during our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor- entrance to the pool, less heat, closer to reception and free wifi near pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    54
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
46
86
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Since the hotel (it's really a riad) is in the
Medina, it is hard to find, especially when you arrive at midnight! this is because te taxi driver cannot enter the medina.
People are friendly and English is spoken, price is fair, breakfast is good.
The rooms to the door have weird locks,
Not prohibitive though. If people talk in the courtyard, then everybody can hear. That's the physics of sound in a courtyard.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I would like to recommend riad lena in marrakech: very friendly people, the marrakech ambiance, beautifull rooms, quite, sunny terrace for breakfast and siesta, very helpfull staff, good location: 10 min walk to the souks, 25' drive to the airport. Tx!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Another pretty riad in the medina -- initially we were very impressed as we were able to book on hotels.com from the station the morning we arrived on the overnight train from Tangier. The room was 'Moroccan-charming' though design-wise there was no door on the bathroom and no ceiling fan. The a/c did cool off the room at night though it was loud and from what we could figure out was either cold or off.

Following a trip to the desert we booked a different riad the following week and concluded that the owner of Riad Lena was a bit indifferent or out of touch with the competitive lodging market in Marrakech. It barely met cleanliness standards, the water in the pool had a yellowish cast and the staff seemed only marginally trained/organized.

The day manager didn't offer help unless asked and then he was courteous/engaged. He recommended the Heritage Spa which was a very pleasant experience. If you needed anything in the evening you had to run up 3 flights of steps to the terrace to find staff, wait until they finished what they were doing to come to the first floor to assist.

The desk was often unoccupied and 2-3 different men seemed to come and go. They were pleasant enough but didn't seem to know how to do their jobs well enough to warrant high marks for customer service. We were assured we could pay with a credit card but ultimately had to settle with cash as the credit card machine was 'broken' for several days.

The next riad we booked, also in the medina, was an entirely different experience as they were very well organized and offered exceptional customer service as well as very competitive prices.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Riad Lena is immaculately clean and the plunge pool quite refreshing. It is beautiful and quite. They helped us to organize a car rental and kept some of our luggage whilst we were traveling in other parts of Morocco. Breakfast on the terrace was plentiful and tasty. The free filter water was a great bonus. I didn't give it a five as we so often had trouble locating some one when we had questions, and I had sent several emails after making my booking before arrival (regarding transport), none of which were responded to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Riad Lena was the perfect place to stay for our girls trip away to Marrakech. The bedroom was clean and had air con which was essential with the heat, although no door to the shower and a door to the toilet that didn't shut.
The staff were amazing, always friendly and helpful with anything we needed, and providing free filtered water whenever needed (which was often in the sun!). The plunge pool was perfect to cool off in-between sunbathing, shame we left before the new fountain was finished.
Location is perfect, taxi from the airport drops off just 2 mins from the Riad, and a local will help show you the way (the Riad again was kind enough to break a note for us so we could give the local some change - as other reviews have mentioned, they do try and get more tip than than the 2 min walk is worth!). Just 10 min walk to the main square through the souk (if you manage the route without stopping to shop!).
We didn't eat in the Riad, we opted for other restaurants that were recommended or in the main square, but we saw the food other guests had and it looked amazing.
The only downside to Marrakech is the unwanted attention from some of the locals, perhaps as we were 3 girls alone. Nothing too bad, but definitely worth sticking together and not wearing anything too skimpy and respecting the local culture.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Riad Lena was beautiful and perfect for what we needed. Good position, excellent breakfast and incredibly helpful staff. Nothing was too much for them to do. I would recommend this place to everyone, regardless of what their reasons for travelling is, couples, family etc. it has a very relax atmosphere and is very clean and tidy with smiles all round from all staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Lena & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lena & SPA

Address: 8, Derb El Hammam | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #272 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Lena & SPA 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nora, Philippe, Abdellatif welcome you to their house, ideally situated in the Medina near the DAR BACHA Palace and eight minutes from the markets and Place Jeema el Fna. The riad has been traditionally renovated with much thought given to your comfort. The riad consists of 10 air-conditioned bedrooms, furnished in pure Moroccan style. All rooms look on to the patio and the swimming pool permitting you to cool down after sunbathing on the terrace with views of the High Atlas mountains. A first class riad in the heart of the Medina and markets, with terraces, a swimming pool and easy car access.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Lena & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Lena Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Lena & SPA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.