We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Undoubtably amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Lena & SPA

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Lena & SPA to your Saves list
Riad Lena & SPA
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   8, Derb El Hammam | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Ranked #275 of 1,064 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Undoubtably amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

We loved Riad Lena! Although its located within the busy medina it is hidden away drop of paradise and really peaceful! Firstly the Riad itself is lovely with lots of little traditional touches that certainly do not go unnoticed! Amazing value - i would happily pay up to triple the rates! The staff are extremely friendly and treat you like part of their family! (even came to pick us up when we got lost in the souqs!). I would highly recommend this Riad! Book now!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    57
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
47
91
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I cannot recommend the Riad Lena enough. It was a an oasis of calm and the perfect place to relax and have a mint tea after a day seeing the sights of Marrakech.

The owners were so helpful and friendly, even driving us to the hammam and helping my girlfriend to get the kilim boots she wanted for a price that was fair. The rest of the staff were just as great too.

The riad itself was clean, the breakfast was fantastic (and on the last day served even earlier for us so we could eat before our flight) and the plunge pool was a lovely way to cool down.

It is a few metres down an alleyway but not hard to find once you've been shown the first time (we gave a local a few dirhams from where the cab dropped us off) and totally safe.

I'd stay here again and recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

wanted to write a review, as i know when you are looking for a hotel in a country miles away- it is so hard to choose. But if you are looking for a clean and friendly place- this is it! We ate there everynight (more than you would pay in the main square) but i think worth it to prevent that icky tummy! Food was AMAZING. You must contact the hotel before your depatrutre and they will collect you from the airport and take you straight to the Riad door. This is so worth it so you do not get lost. Walk to the main square is about 10 mins walking through the market alley ways.
** Michelle, the waiter, provides 1st class service and a true credit to the riad.***
Our room was cool (temp wise) , all made from stone with the traditional open shower.
Try and get on the sightseeing bus if you can, leaves from the square.
Great place to Stay and would DEFINITELY RECOMMEND!!!- If you go, say hi to the birdie!! :D

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012 via mobile

beautiful riad in the middle of rhe old city. Clean, simple, impecable service and free wi fi.

No doubt the best value for money

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

The riad is located on a narrow street and like everything else in the medina it is hard to find at first. We got a taxi from the train station (who tried to rip us off!). I recommend arranging taxi pick up/drop off with the riad. We were dropped off about 200m away from the hotel and bunch of little boys tried to get us to follow them to the riad. We eventually did follow one of them and quickly got to the riad.
It must be said that the arriving at medina in Marrakech was a bit overwhelming. We had stayed in the medinas of Fès and Meknes which were much calmer and people were more respectful of tourists. Plus the street leading to the hotel is full of butcher shops which does not provide a pretty picture. My mom immediately wanted to leave and find a hotel in the new part of the city, but after arriving at the Riad Lena and talking to Abdel she calmed down and began enjoying herself.
We had dinner twice at the hotel and I would really recommend it! Food was absolutely delicious and the dinner room on the terrace was beautifully decorated.
The room was also so pretty and breakfast was a feast.
What I liked most about this riad and what really sets it apart is their attention to detail. Lit candles around the swimming pool and on the stairs at night, high-quality and deliciously perfumed shampoo and soap available in the rooms, bathrobes, rose petals on the diner table... everything was carefully thought through to make the stay more pleasant.
Service was also amazing. The staff was so kind and helpful. We had a bread-making class with the cook (cooking classes are free if you have dinner there). They even make us breakfast at 6AM since we had an early departure.
The swimming pool was also a plus. It was wonderful to relax and cool down after walking around in the Marrakech heat!
I would absolutely recommend Riad Lena to anyone who would like to stay in the medina.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed here 17th - 20th FEB 2012, and the service at this Riad was impeccable. From arrival right through until departure we were treated like royalty; the staff really were at your beckon call. Upon arrival, the owner Abdel gave us a map to help us get to and from the riad, as well as a welcoming drink of mint tea which was just what you needed after travelling and navigating through the medina. The place was full of character; very authentic, with comfortable seating everywhere for you to decamp after a long day, free wi-fi, a sitting room with a fire, the candelit courtyard and pool, curtains hanging on the walkways... it really was beautiful, the pictures on hotels.com just don't do it justice! Our room itself was on the small side but again very authentic; a rustic open shower, traditional furniture.. One minor complaint would be that it was a tad cold at night in February.. Security was also not an issue (buzzer to get in the main door 24/7, padlock for bedroom doors), and breakfast was served on the sunny terrace up top each morning; a standard Moroccan continental breakfast, but again served promptly and with a smile. Don't be afraid to ask for more either! On our final morning we were setting off on a 3-day tour and so needed to have an early breakfast; this was no issue at all; it was waiting for us when we went up to the terrace!
The riad is also fairly easy to find and quite well situated for all the main sights (Djemma el Fna, Koutoubia Mosque, Ben Youssef Medersa etc..), surrounding area pretty sketchy though that is the nature of the Medina!

I would seriously recommend anyone to stay here; I'm struggling to think of any major negative points! A very pleasant stay, and if you're looking to have an authentic Riad experience during your trip to Morocco, you'd struggle to do better than this!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

As others have pointed out, finding the riad can be quite a mission, especially when it involves dragging your luggages through a busy market. BE WARE! when you step off the taxi some people might offer to lead you to Riad Lena, do not, i repeat do not follow them because you will get ripped off at the end (though if you do let them lead you, leave them 50 or so dirham and simply knock on the door of the Riad). I strongly recommend arranging airport pick up with the Riad prior to your arrival, save yourself the trouble. Overall the riad is very sweet, nicely decorated, clean and the roof terrace is an absolute bliss ..i can spend hours just lying there under the sun sipping mint tea or fresh orange juice. The stuff at the Riad are very very helpful and attentive , if you have an problem do let them know, the driver they arranged for us was very reliable and polite (which is rather rare in this country ). I would strongly recommend Riad Lena if you are traveling with a group of friends or special someone ;)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Lena & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lena & SPA

Address: 8, Derb El Hammam | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #275 of 1,064 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Lena & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nora, Philippe, Abdellatif welcome you to their house, ideally situated in the Medina near the DAR BACHA Palace and eight minutes from the markets and Place Jeema el Fna. The riad has been traditionally renovated with much thought given to your comfort. The riad consists of 10 air-conditioned bedrooms, furnished in pure Moroccan style. All rooms look on to the patio and the swimming pool permitting you to cool down after sunbathing on the terrace with views of the High Atlas mountains. A first class riad in the heart of the Medina and markets, with terraces, a swimming pool and easy car access.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Lena & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Lena Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Lena & SPA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.