We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your escape within the medina of Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Lena & SPA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Lena & SPA to your Saves list
Riad Lena & SPA
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   8, Derb El Hammam | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #273 of 1,057 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Your escape within the medina of Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012 via mobile

beautiful riad in the middle of rhe old city. Clean, simple, impecable service and free wi fi.

No doubt the best value for money

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    56
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
47
89
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brazil
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

The riad is located on a narrow street and like everything else in the medina it is hard to find at first. We got a taxi from the train station (who tried to rip us off!). I recommend arranging taxi pick up/drop off with the riad. We were dropped off about 200m away from the hotel and bunch of little boys tried to get us to follow them to the riad. We eventually did follow one of them and quickly got to the riad.
It must be said that the arriving at medina in Marrakech was a bit overwhelming. We had stayed in the medinas of Fès and Meknes which were much calmer and people were more respectful of tourists. Plus the street leading to the hotel is full of butcher shops which does not provide a pretty picture. My mom immediately wanted to leave and find a hotel in the new part of the city, but after arriving at the Riad Lena and talking to Abdel she calmed down and began enjoying herself.
We had dinner twice at the hotel and I would really recommend it! Food was absolutely delicious and the dinner room on the terrace was beautifully decorated.
The room was also so pretty and breakfast was a feast.
What I liked most about this riad and what really sets it apart is their attention to detail. Lit candles around the swimming pool and on the stairs at night, high-quality and deliciously perfumed shampoo and soap available in the rooms, bathrobes, rose petals on the diner table... everything was carefully thought through to make the stay more pleasant.
Service was also amazing. The staff was so kind and helpful. We had a bread-making class with the cook (cooking classes are free if you have dinner there). They even make us breakfast at 6AM since we had an early departure.
The swimming pool was also a plus. It was wonderful to relax and cool down after walking around in the Marrakech heat!
I would absolutely recommend Riad Lena to anyone who would like to stay in the medina.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed here 17th - 20th FEB 2012, and the service at this Riad was impeccable. From arrival right through until departure we were treated like royalty; the staff really were at your beckon call. Upon arrival, the owner Abdel gave us a map to help us get to and from the riad, as well as a welcoming drink of mint tea which was just what you needed after travelling and navigating through the medina. The place was full of character; very authentic, with comfortable seating everywhere for you to decamp after a long day, free wi-fi, a sitting room with a fire, the candelit courtyard and pool, curtains hanging on the walkways... it really was beautiful, the pictures on hotels.com just don't do it justice! Our room itself was on the small side but again very authentic; a rustic open shower, traditional furniture.. One minor complaint would be that it was a tad cold at night in February.. Security was also not an issue (buzzer to get in the main door 24/7, padlock for bedroom doors), and breakfast was served on the sunny terrace up top each morning; a standard Moroccan continental breakfast, but again served promptly and with a smile. Don't be afraid to ask for more either! On our final morning we were setting off on a 3-day tour and so needed to have an early breakfast; this was no issue at all; it was waiting for us when we went up to the terrace!
The riad is also fairly easy to find and quite well situated for all the main sights (Djemma el Fna, Koutoubia Mosque, Ben Youssef Medersa etc..), surrounding area pretty sketchy though that is the nature of the Medina!

I would seriously recommend anyone to stay here; I'm struggling to think of any major negative points! A very pleasant stay, and if you're looking to have an authentic Riad experience during your trip to Morocco, you'd struggle to do better than this!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

As others have pointed out, finding the riad can be quite a mission, especially when it involves dragging your luggages through a busy market. BE WARE! when you step off the taxi some people might offer to lead you to Riad Lena, do not, i repeat do not follow them because you will get ripped off at the end (though if you do let them lead you, leave them 50 or so dirham and simply knock on the door of the Riad). I strongly recommend arranging airport pick up with the Riad prior to your arrival, save yourself the trouble. Overall the riad is very sweet, nicely decorated, clean and the roof terrace is an absolute bliss ..i can spend hours just lying there under the sun sipping mint tea or fresh orange juice. The stuff at the Riad are very very helpful and attentive , if you have an problem do let them know, the driver they arranged for us was very reliable and polite (which is rather rare in this country ). I would strongly recommend Riad Lena if you are traveling with a group of friends or special someone ;)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lokeren, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Location is hard, it lies in a very dark corner in some shabby little alley. But after a lot and trial and error, the second day we were used to it. Wouldn't recommend it to bad card readers or people who can't ask for directions though. But if you know you're way it's a 10 min walk from the central square.
The Riad is really beautiful, water from the showers in december can sometimes be cold. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are nice and in proper Morrocan style. Can be a bit noisy if there are noisy guests. Lovely rooftop where the nice breakfast is served.
Only downside is that they tried to charge us for a new years eve dinner they said was free. But they dropped it in the end, so no complaints there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brescia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

If you like to go to Marrakech staying in a Raid inside the medina (and not in a normal tourist's hotel in Gueliz) Riad LENA is perfect for these reasons: great location at the northern-top of the suk, in a very quite darb (but not too dark or scary), takes 10mins to go to Place Jamhal; very very very clean, personnel super kind, great terrasse on top with sofas, big umbrellas but even a windowed room for breakfest if it's cold.

Rooms are very good, beds perfect (ours was a bit small but they have bigger ones) and the bathroom is more than good (in the shower you can fit in 4!). Breakfast change menu each day of the week and is large and super fresh.

Staff is in 24/24 h, so if you are back late you just ring the door, they check you through a camera and open. They also organized for us the car from/to the airport with a modern and big van.

Compared to other riads I experienced they do not have ancient carpets or old/precious chandeliers, but they gain the max rating because everything's is still maroccain and not fake, they have a small but fascinating heated pool you can use all seasons and the general is a very cool place (see photos i attach)!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

I'm not qualified to compare Riad Lena with the dozens of other riads in marrakech, all I can say is that it was a delightful place to stay: Great welcome; a fantastic room that had everything you need but was uniquely decorated; great breakfast on the terrace (from where tall people can see the snow on the Atlas mountains in November). Plunge pool was heated and in use. Very helpful proprietor organised extremely efficient and definitely no rip-off transport to the airport. Food was good and wine served. Going through the (hard to find) street door and into the courtyard was like entering Dr Who's Tardis. Very well placed for all sites etc. Be prepared to be woken early by the first call to prayer; I found it moving, others might not.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Lena & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lena & SPA

Address: 8, Derb El Hammam | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 1,057 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Lena & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nora, Philippe, Abdellatif welcome you to their house, ideally situated in the Medina near the DAR BACHA Palace and eight minutes from the markets and Place Jeema el Fna. The riad has been traditionally renovated with much thought given to your comfort. The riad consists of 10 air-conditioned bedrooms, furnished in pure Moroccan style. All rooms look on to the patio and the swimming pool permitting you to cool down after sunbathing on the terrace with views of the High Atlas mountains. A first class riad in the heart of the Medina and markets, with terraces, a swimming pool and easy car access.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Lena & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Lena Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Lena & SPA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.