We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem - Such a lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Mehdi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Palais Mehdi to your Saves list
Palais Mehdi
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Palmeraie de Marrakech | Circuit de la palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #502 of 1,079 Marrakech B&B and Inns
chester
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem - Such a lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

We were concerned having read some of the reviews on here, but have to assume there is confusion between it and another hotel. We took the travel zoo offer and had a lovely time. It is not in the centre of Marrakesh but then that is part of its charm. Very luxiourous, the staff were lovely the pool and hotel was fab too.

It was a really special few days it a great place, a hidden gem in the busy city that is Marrakesh. If you are aftern the ideal of experiencing Marrakesh with a lovely retreat to relax after a busy day this is the place to go.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    23
    3
    6
    8
See reviews for
10
54
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

It gives me great pleasure to write this review. I booked this hotel with the Travelzoo offer then read the negative reviews. Consequently, I had no expectations and even considered losing my deposit and rebooking elsewhere. I can honestly say, having travelled all over the world, that this is the kind of hotel I have aspired to stay in for many years and I would return in a heartbeat - in fact, we didn't want to leave!!
Ghizlane met us upon arrival and explained the check in process, sat us by the pool, organised our welcome drink and walked us to our lovely suite. Rose petals everywhere, welcome snacks, lovely dressing room, bathroom and private patio - could not have been happier! We had a lovely lunch by the pool, then a rest after a sauna, then were driven directly to our dinner reservation in a famous restaurant and were picked up again bang on time by the hotel car.
Next day the breakfast by the pool was faultless, and instead of going shopping as planned we decided to spend the day at the hotel as it was so welcoming and beautiful and the weather was fantastic. We had a truly wonderful day, relaxing on the various pool furniture and getting some rays. The staff were attentive, bringing anything we needed, but were not overbearing. We enjoyed meeting the dalmatian puppies too. We had dinner in the evening at the hotel - we didn't need lunch as breakfast was so plentiful.
The Palais Mehdi made our holiday very special, not least because of the beautiful courtyards, rooms and furniture. It is a wonderful place to be. With the Travelzoo offer I feel we got exceptional value for money. I honestly can't fault the place - I'm sorry that other reviewers did not experience the service, politeness, environs and value which we did.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

Travelled with some apprehension having read mixed reviews on tripadvisor, but was very happy with our 3 night stay. All the staff were very friendly, including the Manager, and we felt very welcomed. Car was waiting for us at the ariport, the grounds are fantastic, the room was huge, clean, and very inviting, with a welcome pack awaiting us. Although not perfect in the Hilton way, it made us feel we were in Marrakech and not some sterile hotel room anywhere in the world. Food wasn't the cheapest but was good and it was nice that you could eat wherever you wanted. Breakfast was varied and extensive -- much more than we could eat. Do try Al Fassia restaurant, but best to book in advance as we only just got a table the night we visited.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

my husband and I chose this hotel in Marrakech through one of the offers courtesy of Travelzoo. As we had never visited Marrakech before, we thought the luxury of a 5* hotel would be the perfect antidote to the obvious culture shock of a Moroccan city. It was indeed beautifully decorated and furnished. A couple of little niggles; the grounds were a little unkempt as the grass needed cutting and the borders weeding. The swimming pool was freezing cold and had black algae in the middle and if you grabbed the edge with your fingers then slimey gunk met your hands! Some of the sunbeds were old and falling apart, and they could had done with more of them. I have doubts if the sunbed towels were washed everyday; they smelt like they had just been dried and folded! It was however, very peaceful but felt a little like the 'Marie Celeste' sometimes as there really was hardly anyone around at certain times.
There is no restaurant in this hotel (you ate in the corner of the reception rooms, where it's very dark) and absolutely no atmosphere in the evenings. Not surprising as the drinks were extortionately expensive, likewise the food, 15 Euros for a club sandwich for instance. You possibly would expect this in a 5* hotel but this is definitely not one!
We were persuaded to have the typical moroccan buffet on the saturday night, which although should have been hot, was lukewarm and cold. When we complained they very indignantly took it away and microwaved it to an inch of it's life. Needless to say, mine wasn't eaten. The following morning when we complained to 'Le Directore', (French speaking, with very little English), he was loud, rude, obnoxious and totally unrepentant and was having none of it. Incidentally, we got friendly with 2 other couples while were there and they had the same experience. This man should not be running an hotel!! We would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone until the management is changed. As I say, nice hotel but shame about the management.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Having read the reviews before we travelled (both good and bad) we arrived with an open mind.
On the whole this hotel does not function to the standards advertised and even though we realised that a 5 star Morroccan hotel would not meet worldwide standards, we found it lacking in several areas.
The first room we were given was very poor with holes in the bathroom curtains and a rear courtyard so overgrown with weeds and debris that I didn't want to step outside let alone sit out there. Right outside the front door was a building site with noise from morning to night. We asked to change rooms and we were charged a suplement of E60 per night.
The menu was the same for lunch and dinner which consisted of limited, overpriced fare with overpriced drinks to match.
The pool had moss and lichen growing up the sides and the water in the hot tub was a milky white colour.
The hotel dogs while very cute (one had a litter of puppies) had left their doggie deposits on the hotel lawn and there it remained for the duration of our stay.
I don't understand how people could think that there were enough sunbeds as I counted 6 in total with a few chairs and sofas as well.
In my opinion which I know is different to the next persons, this hotel is badly managed and could perform to a much higher standard than it does at present.
We certainly won't be staying again!!!

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

What a pity - lovely place, splendid Moorish public rooms, great gardens, bedrooms, swimming pool - in fact a real haven of peace and tranquility as an escape from the souk and city centre. But badly let down by the food - a restricted menu, poor quality, expensive, and often cold. This did undermine the enjoyment of the place as it meant having to take yet another taxi for the 15 minute trip into the centre for dinner each evening. And when we complained about the quality and standard of the food, the response of the Directeur made Basil Faulty look really quite diplomatic. Best avoided unless the hotel can buck up its ideas about its food - and send the manager on a customer care course - even basic politeness!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

Very nice hotel, just 23 suites and ours was spacious and very well equipped.
The pool was perfect for lounging around, the breakfasts were excellent and the staff very accomodating.
It is in the Palmeraie area so its a 15 min taxi ride into the medina for €10 but that didnt pose any real problem, the hotel would provide their own car for the outward journey, and you could then enjoy the bumpy ride back in a the small local taxis.
Very good value and a lovely setting.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palais Mehdi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Mehdi

Address: Palmeraie de Marrakech | Circuit de la palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #502 of 1,079 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Mehdi 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palais Mehdi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Mehdi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Mehdi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.