We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Mehdi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Palais Mehdi to your Saves list
Palais Mehdi
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Palmeraie de Marrakech | Circuit de la palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #493 of 1,072 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Deal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We booked through Voyage Prive and I later looked at reviews. I was actually dreading going.
We were shown to our suite (upgraded) which was fine, decent size, clean. My husband then went to look at a deluxe suite and was stupid enough to show it to me. Stunning! Huge beautifully decorated sitting room, good entrance hall ,fab bathroom with jacuzzi bath (not tried -I don't like them) and separate shower, and large bedroom. Patio doors front and back to patios and gardens. We chose to pay for the deluxe suite- our choice, the other room was fine. We ate in the hotel each lunch time and everything we had was delicious and we did not think overpriced.Better quality wine than in a Kempinski in Turkey at 25% less.
Great jazz club/ restaurant (the Block- must book for Sats) 10 min walk away with jolly good food and including 2 bottles Chablis was £80 for 2.
We loved the location being outside of the city. It was so peaceful and relaxing.
I would suggest anyone thinking of booking, to think Relais Chateaux rather than huge hotel chain. It just depends what you prefer. I would also suggest factoring in the upgrade, if not too busy there, negotiate a price.
All the staff were charming, helpful and friendly. Whenever drinks were ordered they always came with big plate of olives/ nuts/etc.
Take trip into Atlas mountains- just brilliant
We will be going back next year as we loved our 4 days there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    23
    3
    6
    8
See reviews for
10
54
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Beautiful lush hotel
Friendly staff
Tasty breakfast
Spotless room and hotel
A real treasure! I can't wait to go again

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Our suite (booked through Voyage Prive), although roomy and with a lovely view of gardens, was certainly 'tired' and the air conditioning unit was ill positioned so we found it blew cold air straight at our faces as we slept (even when we set the airflow directly downwards the 'fins' would always change position at some point to fire a cold blast directly across the room at us!). It was also noisy even when on 'low' meaning that we were either cold/awake or boiling hot/awake each night of our stay. The bed, though large, was hard and uncomfortable.

Our major concern was the lack of customer service. The waiting staff lacked initiative and never once asked us if we needed drinks etc when we were relaxing in the gardens, and we always needed to go in to find some to ask for a drink or menu. Apart from the gentleman who showed us to our room on the first evening who was very polite and helpful, the hotel's drive and the manager of the spa (who had a vested interest in encouraging us to book treatments), we found the staff we had contact with to be charmless, unfriendly and in some cases unhelpful. I suspect this could have been down to our lack of French, but this hotel classes itself as 5 star, so I feel friendly, proactive, helpful staff should come as part of the package - it certainly wasn't the case here.

What a pity as it could be such a lovely hotel - a real oasis away from the bustle of the city centre.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south devon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

we were not sure what to expect when we booked this holiday through voyage prive a fairly new internet booking service. it promised a 5 star hotel, a suite with a free upgrade if available!
The room we were shown when we arrived was absolutely disgusting, rising damp, threadbare carpet, there was no way you could put clothes in the wardrobe because of the smell of damp. The bathroom and shower, hmm lets just say the shower was a hand held attached to the taps. we were indignantely informed that is was a "morrocan antique" it sure was old but I don't think any self respecting antique shop would have it for sale. although this room was classed as a suite, it was actually one room with a wooden divider between the bed and the sofa, suite I don't think so!.
We did get upgraded but only by paying the hotel an extra €500 they tried to make us pay €700 but negotiated down. The room was lovely but it increased the cost of the holiday a lot. We contacted voyage prive to complain whilst we were still there but they did not help us and we had to pay the difference!
the response we got from them was that the hotel had offered us an upgrade and we refused!! we were only offered the one room and if that was an upgrade I shudder to think what the other room would have been like. Voyage prive informed us that as we had refused the "upgraded room" they could not help us and that was that, we replied but they have not bothered to reply to us yet. we were very disappointed with their customer service and would never use them again - lesson learnt.
the hotel grounds were pretty if a little tatty and like other reviewers there is no dining room as such. The food we had was pretty good if expensive.
where the hotel is located there was nowhere to walk to, only one small supermarket and one nightclub with live music (which was good) so you had to use taxis all the time to get anywhere and at €10 a time you need to take it into account on the cost of the holiday.
so our advice is to be careful who you book through and be prepared for the trip to cost more than you think.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

We were concerned having read some of the reviews on here, but have to assume there is confusion between it and another hotel. We took the travel zoo offer and had a lovely time. It is not in the centre of Marrakesh but then that is part of its charm. Very luxiourous, the staff were lovely the pool and hotel was fab too.

It was a really special few days it a great place, a hidden gem in the busy city that is Marrakesh. If you are aftern the ideal of experiencing Marrakesh with a lovely retreat to relax after a busy day this is the place to go.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

It gives me great pleasure to write this review. I booked this hotel with the Travelzoo offer then read the negative reviews. Consequently, I had no expectations and even considered losing my deposit and rebooking elsewhere. I can honestly say, having travelled all over the world, that this is the kind of hotel I have aspired to stay in for many years and I would return in a heartbeat - in fact, we didn't want to leave!!
Ghizlane met us upon arrival and explained the check in process, sat us by the pool, organised our welcome drink and walked us to our lovely suite. Rose petals everywhere, welcome snacks, lovely dressing room, bathroom and private patio - could not have been happier! We had a lovely lunch by the pool, then a rest after a sauna, then were driven directly to our dinner reservation in a famous restaurant and were picked up again bang on time by the hotel car.
Next day the breakfast by the pool was faultless, and instead of going shopping as planned we decided to spend the day at the hotel as it was so welcoming and beautiful and the weather was fantastic. We had a truly wonderful day, relaxing on the various pool furniture and getting some rays. The staff were attentive, bringing anything we needed, but were not overbearing. We enjoyed meeting the dalmatian puppies too. We had dinner in the evening at the hotel - we didn't need lunch as breakfast was so plentiful.
The Palais Mehdi made our holiday very special, not least because of the beautiful courtyards, rooms and furniture. It is a wonderful place to be. With the Travelzoo offer I feel we got exceptional value for money. I honestly can't fault the place - I'm sorry that other reviewers did not experience the service, politeness, environs and value which we did.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

Travelled with some apprehension having read mixed reviews on tripadvisor, but was very happy with our 3 night stay. All the staff were very friendly, including the Manager, and we felt very welcomed. Car was waiting for us at the ariport, the grounds are fantastic, the room was huge, clean, and very inviting, with a welcome pack awaiting us. Although not perfect in the Hilton way, it made us feel we were in Marrakech and not some sterile hotel room anywhere in the world. Food wasn't the cheapest but was good and it was nice that you could eat wherever you wanted. Breakfast was varied and extensive -- much more than we could eat. Do try Al Fassia restaurant, but best to book in advance as we only just got a table the night we visited.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palais Mehdi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Mehdi

Address: Palmeraie de Marrakech | Circuit de la palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #493 of 1,072 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Mehdi 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palais Mehdi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Mehdi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Mehdi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.