We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely suite, pool and gardens - customer service needs improving” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Mehdi

Save Saved
You added Palais Mehdi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palais Mehdi
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Palmeraie de Marrakech | Circuit de la palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #588 of 1,037 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely suite, pool and gardens - customer service needs improving”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Our suite (booked through Voyage Prive), although roomy and with a lovely view of gardens, was certainly 'tired' and the air conditioning unit was ill positioned so we found it blew cold air straight at our faces as we slept (even when we set the airflow directly downwards the 'fins' would always change position at some point to fire a cold blast directly across the room at us!). It was also noisy even when on 'low' meaning that we were either cold/awake or boiling hot/awake each night of our stay. The bed, though large, was hard and uncomfortable.

Our major concern was the lack of customer service. The waiting staff lacked initiative and never once asked us if we needed drinks etc when we were relaxing in the gardens, and we always needed to go in to find some to ask for a drink or menu. Apart from the gentleman who showed us to our room on the first evening who was very polite and helpful, the hotel's drive and the manager of the spa (who had a vested interest in encouraging us to book treatments), we found the staff we had contact with to be charmless, unfriendly and in some cases unhelpful. I suspect this could have been down to our lack of French, but this hotel classes itself as 5 star, so I feel friendly, proactive, helpful staff should come as part of the package - it certainly wasn't the case here.

What a pity as it could be such a lovely hotel - a real oasis away from the bustle of the city centre.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    21
    3
    6
    8
See reviews for
9
49
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
south devon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

we were not sure what to expect when we booked this holiday through voyage prive a fairly new internet booking service. it promised a 5 star hotel, a suite with a free upgrade if available!
The room we were shown when we arrived was absolutely disgusting, rising damp, threadbare carpet, there was no way you could put clothes in the wardrobe because of the smell of damp. The bathroom and shower, hmm lets just say the shower was a hand held attached to the taps. we were indignantely informed that is was a "morrocan antique" it sure was old but I don't think any self respecting antique shop would have it for sale. although this room was classed as a suite, it was actually one room with a wooden divider between the bed and the sofa, suite I don't think so!.
We did get upgraded but only by paying the hotel an extra €500 they tried to make us pay €700 but negotiated down. The room was lovely but it increased the cost of the holiday a lot. We contacted voyage prive to complain whilst we were still there but they did not help us and we had to pay the difference!
the response we got from them was that the hotel had offered us an upgrade and we refused!! we were only offered the one room and if that was an upgrade I shudder to think what the other room would have been like. Voyage prive informed us that as we had refused the "upgraded room" they could not help us and that was that, we replied but they have not bothered to reply to us yet. we were very disappointed with their customer service and would never use them again - lesson learnt.
the hotel grounds were pretty if a little tatty and like other reviewers there is no dining room as such. The food we had was pretty good if expensive.
where the hotel is located there was nowhere to walk to, only one small supermarket and one nightclub with live music (which was good) so you had to use taxis all the time to get anywhere and at €10 a time you need to take it into account on the cost of the holiday.
so our advice is to be careful who you book through and be prepared for the trip to cost more than you think.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

We were concerned having read some of the reviews on here, but have to assume there is confusion between it and another hotel. We took the travel zoo offer and had a lovely time. It is not in the centre of Marrakesh but then that is part of its charm. Very luxiourous, the staff were lovely the pool and hotel was fab too.

It was a really special few days it a great place, a hidden gem in the busy city that is Marrakesh. If you are aftern the ideal of experiencing Marrakesh with a lovely retreat to relax after a busy day this is the place to go.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

It gives me great pleasure to write this review. I booked this hotel with the Travelzoo offer then read the negative reviews. Consequently, I had no expectations and even considered losing my deposit and rebooking elsewhere. I can honestly say, having travelled all over the world, that this is the kind of hotel I have aspired to stay in for many years and I would return in a heartbeat - in fact, we didn't want to leave!!
Ghizlane met us upon arrival and explained the check in process, sat us by the pool, organised our welcome drink and walked us to our lovely suite. Rose petals everywhere, welcome snacks, lovely dressing room, bathroom and private patio - could not have been happier! We had a lovely lunch by the pool, then a rest after a sauna, then were driven directly to our dinner reservation in a famous restaurant and were picked up again bang on time by the hotel car.
Next day the breakfast by the pool was faultless, and instead of going shopping as planned we decided to spend the day at the hotel as it was so welcoming and beautiful and the weather was fantastic. We had a truly wonderful day, relaxing on the various pool furniture and getting some rays. The staff were attentive, bringing anything we needed, but were not overbearing. We enjoyed meeting the dalmatian puppies too. We had dinner in the evening at the hotel - we didn't need lunch as breakfast was so plentiful.
The Palais Mehdi made our holiday very special, not least because of the beautiful courtyards, rooms and furniture. It is a wonderful place to be. With the Travelzoo offer I feel we got exceptional value for money. I honestly can't fault the place - I'm sorry that other reviewers did not experience the service, politeness, environs and value which we did.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

Travelled with some apprehension having read mixed reviews on tripadvisor, but was very happy with our 3 night stay. All the staff were very friendly, including the Manager, and we felt very welcomed. Car was waiting for us at the ariport, the grounds are fantastic, the room was huge, clean, and very inviting, with a welcome pack awaiting us. Although not perfect in the Hilton way, it made us feel we were in Marrakech and not some sterile hotel room anywhere in the world. Food wasn't the cheapest but was good and it was nice that you could eat wherever you wanted. Breakfast was varied and extensive -- much more than we could eat. Do try Al Fassia restaurant, but best to book in advance as we only just got a table the night we visited.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

my husband and I chose this hotel in Marrakech through one of the offers courtesy of Travelzoo. As we had never visited Marrakech before, we thought the luxury of a 5* hotel would be the perfect antidote to the obvious culture shock of a Moroccan city. It was indeed beautifully decorated and furnished. A couple of little niggles; the grounds were a little unkempt as the grass needed cutting and the borders weeding. The swimming pool was freezing cold and had black algae in the middle and if you grabbed the edge with your fingers then slimey gunk met your hands! Some of the sunbeds were old and falling apart, and they could had done with more of them. I have doubts if the sunbed towels were washed everyday; they smelt like they had just been dried and folded! It was however, very peaceful but felt a little like the 'Marie Celeste' sometimes as there really was hardly anyone around at certain times.
There is no restaurant in this hotel (you ate in the corner of the reception rooms, where it's very dark) and absolutely no atmosphere in the evenings. Not surprising as the drinks were extortionately expensive, likewise the food, 15 Euros for a club sandwich for instance. You possibly would expect this in a 5* hotel but this is definitely not one!
We were persuaded to have the typical moroccan buffet on the saturday night, which although should have been hot, was lukewarm and cold. When we complained they very indignantly took it away and microwaved it to an inch of it's life. Needless to say, mine wasn't eaten. The following morning when we complained to 'Le Directore', (French speaking, with very little English), he was loud, rude, obnoxious and totally unrepentant and was having none of it. Incidentally, we got friendly with 2 other couples while were there and they had the same experience. This man should not be running an hotel!! We would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone until the management is changed. As I say, nice hotel but shame about the management.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Having read the reviews before we travelled (both good and bad) we arrived with an open mind.
On the whole this hotel does not function to the standards advertised and even though we realised that a 5 star Morroccan hotel would not meet worldwide standards, we found it lacking in several areas.
The first room we were given was very poor with holes in the bathroom curtains and a rear courtyard so overgrown with weeds and debris that I didn't want to step outside let alone sit out there. Right outside the front door was a building site with noise from morning to night. We asked to change rooms and we were charged a suplement of E60 per night.
The menu was the same for lunch and dinner which consisted of limited, overpriced fare with overpriced drinks to match.
The pool had moss and lichen growing up the sides and the water in the hot tub was a milky white colour.
The hotel dogs while very cute (one had a litter of puppies) had left their doggie deposits on the hotel lawn and there it remained for the duration of our stay.
I don't understand how people could think that there were enough sunbeds as I counted 6 in total with a few chairs and sofas as well.
In my opinion which I know is different to the next persons, this hotel is badly managed and could perform to a much higher standard than it does at present.
We certainly won't be staying again!!!

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palais Mehdi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Mehdi

Address: Palmeraie de Marrakech | Circuit de la palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #588 of 1,037 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Mehdi 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Palais Mehdi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Mehdi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Mehdi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.