We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff at a beautiful riad in central location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Julia

Save Saved
You added Riad Julia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Julia
14, derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Médina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #506 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful staff at a beautiful riad in central location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

After traveling around Morocco for 2 weeks, Riad Julia was by far our favorite place we stayed. The staff is amazing - very friendly and eager to do everything to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Delicious breakfast included with beautiful rooms at a great price. Bathrobes provided are a wonderful treat after a hot shower. Hammams, massages and excursions are easily arranged by the manager.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    26
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
33
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Humanes De Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

Cozy place in a good location. We had a very good experience with the manager who helped us a lot with suggestions and arrangements.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

The large room and roomy ensuite at Riad Julia was ideal to kick back in after the tiring buzz of the Medina. Ziad and the women who work here were helpful when asked and the terrace and courtyard were very pleasant spaces to relax in. The plunge pool would be very inviting in warmer weather too. The Lonely Planet map had us thinking it was miles out but it is a short walk to the square and close to other must-see destinations. No wifi but Marrakesh Korner just up the road has free wifi and great coffee on their terrace. All in all we could not fault this place.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oman
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Lovely, tranquil Riad... simple rooms, well furnished, pleasant hospitality. A little shabby but very traditional and lovely plunge pool to cool off after a hot day's exploring and shopping... Best mint tea in all of Morocco... the girls who clean and make the breakfast speak almost no english, but with patience we all managed to understand each other...

They have a second Riad just a few streets away, with a reasonably good Hammam - if you'd like to try a traditional Moroccan steam bath, it's affordable and clean.

Rather difficult to find Riad Julia, but easiest from the Palace end of the Madinat... Taxi from train station should only be about 20 MRD but they'll ask for 70. Find the middle ground, or be prepared to walk as all the cabs dissapear... but only pay 20 or 30 for the return journey as they know you'll have wised up by then...

Don't trust the boys and men who offer to help you as you wind your way in and out of tiny streets and souks... better ask a shop keeper who has no interest in fleecing you for directions... Anyone who offers to help you will ask you for money and harrass you afterwards - it's like putting a big sign on your back "SUCKER"... so tell them "NO" emphatically...

While in the old city (Madinat) of Marrakech, do find the Hotel Arabia and take their Moroccan cooking class - worth every penny for the experience and a simply DIVINE Riad - too expensive for our budget but maybe one day...

Marrakech was lively and fun, great shopping and even the street touts made us laugh in the end.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

Although finding the Riad Julia for the first time is not easy you will be pleasantly surprised once you have found it and entered the front door finding yourself immersed in Moroccan charm.
Omar is the genuine and helpful owner who will talk to you and help with anything you may require. He speaks excellent English too!

Staying here on three separate occasions it became a welcome return each time as this Riad has a homely charm about it. A very informal atmosphere and simple amenities but with a delightful plunge pool to use when it’s hot.

I would be more than happy to return to the Riad Julia so I can recommend it as a place for you to consider if you are in Marrakech.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylors, SC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

I just got back from my week-long stay at Riad Julia, and couldn't be happier with the experience! Everyday we woke up to a delicious breakfast prepared in the riad's kitchen, traditional Moroccan breads and jams, coffee or delicious mint tea.fresh-squeezed orange juice. We stayed in one of the air-conditioned rooms on the second floor and slept very well, the room was nice and cool -- it's definitely worth the few extra euro for the air-conditioning.The riad itself is well-decorated and clean, and has a neat pool in the central courtyard. It's an easy 10-15 minute walk through bustling souks to get to the famed Place Jemm El Fna.

The staff are awesome, polite and very accomodating. Our very best meal in Marrakech was when we stayed in at the Riad and one of the staff ladies made us a homemade tagine. Delicious! If you're lucky, you can convince them to cook you a meal, too!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

We had a great stay here--the rooms we had were extremely comfortable, the air conditioning worked well, and it was lovely. Each day it was such a pleasure to come back in the sweltering heat of the mid-afternoon for a break and a dip in the plunge pool.
To speak to some of the other reviews here, we were very happy with the breakfast--excellent coffee and fresh orange juice, bread, crepes and jam beautifully presented in the courtyard.
We arranged to have dinner on the roof one night and it was the best food we had in Morocco. You have to arrange it in advance, and it's absolutely worth it!!
The one complaint we had was with the guides who met us to take us from the airport shuttle to the riad. We'd arrived at night, and these young men were absolute bullies. They shouted at us and demanded 20 Euros--several days' wages for a Moroccan worker--just for leading us about 3 blocks, and shouting the whole time back and forth with their friends. Once we arrived there was no one else there--no manager or staff--and we were very confused. We assumed it was just bad luck, but then we witnessed the same bullies leading another couple to the riad, and demanding 40 Euros. Really obnoxious. The management really needs to sort that out.
Oh and the TV room--ha, we didn't know that was even supposed to be a public space. We thought that was the manager's room.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Julia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Julia

Address: 14, derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Médina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #506 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Julia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Julia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Julia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.