We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis of calm in a fascinating whirlwind of the Madinat...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Julia

Save Saved
You added Riad Julia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
Riad Julia
14, derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Médina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #503 of 1,032 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Oman
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An Oasis of calm in a fascinating whirlwind of the Madinat...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Lovely, tranquil Riad... simple rooms, well furnished, pleasant hospitality. A little shabby but very traditional and lovely plunge pool to cool off after a hot day's exploring and shopping... Best mint tea in all of Morocco... the girls who clean and make the breakfast speak almost no english, but with patience we all managed to understand each other...

They have a second Riad just a few streets away, with a reasonably good Hammam - if you'd like to try a traditional Moroccan steam bath, it's affordable and clean.

Rather difficult to find Riad Julia, but easiest from the Palace end of the Madinat... Taxi from train station should only be about 20 MRD but they'll ask for 70. Find the middle ground, or be prepared to walk as all the cabs dissapear... but only pay 20 or 30 for the return journey as they know you'll have wised up by then...

Don't trust the boys and men who offer to help you as you wind your way in and out of tiny streets and souks... better ask a shop keeper who has no interest in fleecing you for directions... Anyone who offers to help you will ask you for money and harrass you afterwards - it's like putting a big sign on your back "SUCKER"... so tell them "NO" emphatically...

While in the old city (Madinat) of Marrakech, do find the Hotel Arabia and take their Moroccan cooking class - worth every penny for the experience and a simply DIVINE Riad - too expensive for our budget but maybe one day...

Marrakech was lively and fun, great shopping and even the street touts made us laugh in the end.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    26
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
32
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

Although finding the Riad Julia for the first time is not easy you will be pleasantly surprised once you have found it and entered the front door finding yourself immersed in Moroccan charm.
Omar is the genuine and helpful owner who will talk to you and help with anything you may require. He speaks excellent English too!

Staying here on three separate occasions it became a welcome return each time as this Riad has a homely charm about it. A very informal atmosphere and simple amenities but with a delightful plunge pool to use when it’s hot.

I would be more than happy to return to the Riad Julia so I can recommend it as a place for you to consider if you are in Marrakech.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylors, SC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

I just got back from my week-long stay at Riad Julia, and couldn't be happier with the experience! Everyday we woke up to a delicious breakfast prepared in the riad's kitchen, traditional Moroccan breads and jams, coffee or delicious mint tea.fresh-squeezed orange juice. We stayed in one of the air-conditioned rooms on the second floor and slept very well, the room was nice and cool -- it's definitely worth the few extra euro for the air-conditioning.The riad itself is well-decorated and clean, and has a neat pool in the central courtyard. It's an easy 10-15 minute walk through bustling souks to get to the famed Place Jemm El Fna.

The staff are awesome, polite and very accomodating. Our very best meal in Marrakech was when we stayed in at the Riad and one of the staff ladies made us a homemade tagine. Delicious! If you're lucky, you can convince them to cook you a meal, too!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

We had a great stay here--the rooms we had were extremely comfortable, the air conditioning worked well, and it was lovely. Each day it was such a pleasure to come back in the sweltering heat of the mid-afternoon for a break and a dip in the plunge pool.
To speak to some of the other reviews here, we were very happy with the breakfast--excellent coffee and fresh orange juice, bread, crepes and jam beautifully presented in the courtyard.
We arranged to have dinner on the roof one night and it was the best food we had in Morocco. You have to arrange it in advance, and it's absolutely worth it!!
The one complaint we had was with the guides who met us to take us from the airport shuttle to the riad. We'd arrived at night, and these young men were absolute bullies. They shouted at us and demanded 20 Euros--several days' wages for a Moroccan worker--just for leading us about 3 blocks, and shouting the whole time back and forth with their friends. Once we arrived there was no one else there--no manager or staff--and we were very confused. We assumed it was just bad luck, but then we witnessed the same bullies leading another couple to the riad, and demanding 40 Euros. Really obnoxious. The management really needs to sort that out.
Oh and the TV room--ha, we didn't know that was even supposed to be a public space. We thought that was the manager's room.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

Three of us stayed here for three nights in the Amir room, then for a night in the Wazir room. The Wazir room is far nicer than the Amir room, though neither were worth the 750dh we were paying per night.
On arrival we received mint tea, but no real welcome. Our first room had a broken toilet that leaked everywhere, and one night we had to kill a cockroach that had decided to camp in the bathroom. The second room was lovely and much more of the level that you'd expect from a decent riad, it's just a shame we only stayed there for one night. The manager spends most of his time topless, lying in the living room watching tv and smoking with his friends, so we were not able to use this room.
Breakfast was rather poor, fresh orange juice and coffee (sometimes) with traditional pancakes and rather greasy fried french bread with sugar on.
The roof terrace is very nice, if a bit dusty, and altogether the riad is in a quiet location and its standard would be brilliant for a few hundred dirhams less! Takes about 10 minutes to walk to the Jemaa el Fna, and 5 to get to the souks.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

Better than any 4* hotel in the Palmeraie!!! Ideal for a romantic week break; you couldn't be further from the hecticness of the Medina and yet you are still right in its heart. This amazing family-run riad provides an astonishing breakfast of local delicacies and pastries, an elegant open courtyard with exquisite archectiture and dream-like poster-bed bedrooms. Drinking mint tea in the Berber tent on the roof terrace is memorable - this space is perfect to sun-lounge in the afternoons, taking a well-needed break from the intensity of the main square Djemna El Fna. The staff were very welcoming in English and in French, and very approachable for a social conversation over tea. True Sofia is tricky to find at first; it is advisable to get an airport transfer or manager Omar to meet you somewhere near Koutoubia, and yes the swimming pool is more of an ornament decor than an actual facility but this Riad is one of the most luxurious guesthouses you could stay in worldwide.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights. The bed was comfortable enough, and the room OK space-wise, but it didn't seem that clean either in the room or on the terrasse and courtyard areas. One of the rugs had a funny smell, and there were damp spots in the corners on the ceilings and walls where the bed is. The shower has very good pressure and lots of hot water, but the water doesn't run down the drain that well. The breakfast was mediocre and during the day there seemed to be long periods when there was no staff around at all.
This place is OK if there is nothing else available, but you can get much better places for the same amount of money. This riad looks like it might have been very nice once upon a time, but that it has not been looked after properly.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Julia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Julia

Also Known As:
Riad Julia Hotel
Riad Julia Hotel Marrakech
Address: 14, derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Médina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #503 of 1,032 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Julia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Julia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.