We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a most welcome retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Julia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Julia to your Saves list
Riad Julia
14, derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Médina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #492 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a most welcome retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We loved the Riad. Our room was cool and immaculately clean and full of Moroccan character and charm as is the rest of the riad. We really appreciated the peace and quiet and the cool plunge pool after the madness of souk haggling and the stifling heat. It was pretty quiet and in comparison to other reviews we weren't made aware of the possibility of eating there in the evening which I am sure we would have taken advantage of. Breakfasts were delicious and freshly cooked. Once we got our bearings the location was fine and not too far to walk to central sights. We didn't meet the manager , only the 2 staff who worked there who didn't speak English. They were however really keen to be as helpful as they could with our requests. Lovely place, lovely people and I would recommend it to any of my friends. I would go back without hesitation

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    28
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
34
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

The rooms are comfortable and clean, the riad is very quaint, the people who run it are very friendly and polite. When you book breakfast expect to wait a while and its very basic.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

Relatively easy to find (which is a rarity in Marrakech) but a wee bit out the way. Overall I was suprised at how small it was and the social area is not much bigger than a closet, whover took photos for their website did a good job of making it look grander than it was.
They also dont have a license for alcohol which might not bother many people but its quite hard to actually find places that are licensed in the old town so its good to have a cold one when you come back. Ziad the guy who runs the place is really, really nice and helps in any way he can. He even gave us a couple of beers left behind by another guest! You need to pre book meals and breakfast which we forgot to do but they made it for us anyway. The room we were in (Moustachar) had quite possibly the best bed I've ever slept in. If you what something cheaper, with a license and a bit more of a social experience I'd recommend Riad Chennaoui.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

This is the best place I found in Marrakech, It was my second time and for my opinion they just getting better and better. All the staff are great and friendly, great and traditional rooms, amazing terrace and breakfast is delicious...
Perfect for people that want to stay in relax and not in the middle of the caos, anyway the riad is just behind the corner from Jeema el Fna.

Vito and Olga

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

After traveling around Morocco for 2 weeks, Riad Julia was by far our favorite place we stayed. The staff is amazing - very friendly and eager to do everything to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Delicious breakfast included with beautiful rooms at a great price. Bathrobes provided are a wonderful treat after a hot shower. Hammams, massages and excursions are easily arranged by the manager.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humanes De Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

Cozy place in a good location. We had a very good experience with the manager who helped us a lot with suggestions and arrangements.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

The large room and roomy ensuite at Riad Julia was ideal to kick back in after the tiring buzz of the Medina. Ziad and the women who work here were helpful when asked and the terrace and courtyard were very pleasant spaces to relax in. The plunge pool would be very inviting in warmer weather too. The Lonely Planet map had us thinking it was miles out but it is a short walk to the square and close to other must-see destinations. No wifi but Marrakesh Korner just up the road has free wifi and great coffee on their terrace. All in all we could not fault this place.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Julia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Julia

Address: 14, derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Médina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #492 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Julia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Julia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Julia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.