We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Riyad in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riyad Al Moussika

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riyad Al Moussika to your Saves list
Riyad Al Moussika
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   62 Derb Boutouil | Kennaria, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Belfast
2 reviews
“Wonderful Riyad in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

My husband and I stayed in the Riyad Al Moussika for nearly a week and were thrilled with our choice of Riyad. Firstly, the location is perfect for visitors to Marrakesh, just a ten minute stroll to the souks and yet located in the quiet backstreets. A word of warning, we would never had found it had we not used their complimentary airport transportation. The manager, the staff, and even their recommended taxi drivers are so wonderfully friendly - they could not do enough for us. The temperatures hit 48 degrees but we cooled off in their pool which we invariably had to ourselves. Unfortunately we did not sample their lunches which were included in the price as we were dining with others who were staying elsewhere... but we would definitely go back. They have five rooms and the suite would be absolutely ideal for a special honeymoon. Of the 5,000 plus Riads to choose from in Marrakesh, we were delighted to choose this one. We highly recommend it. Their recommended taxi driver was gem and took us up to the Atlas mountains for the day..a must do. He quickly became our new best friend. All the staff were the friendliest we have ever come across - smiles all round. Do stay here and try to do a day's cookery course. Great fun. Di from Northern Ireland.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Disey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Pesaro
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

I did travel around the world and stayed in all sorts of hotels, guest houses etc. etc. , form chip to chich I tried so many different places ....
This Riad, hotel or whatever you want to define it is just unique and excellent, not only an elegant and very beautiful structure, furniture etc. but let me say an exquisite and superb 7 star service from all the personnell and staff, I was truly amazed and delighted by their very high level of professionality combined with a sense of international taste and manners , local knowledge, simpathy and discretion, I WILL CERTAILNY BE BACK , CONGRATULATIONS AND MANY MANY THANKS. [--]

Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank MauroGPesaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, MO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Our stay at Riyad al Mouissika was nothing short of magical. It all started the minute we got off the train and the driver was waiting at the station. When we walked in lunch was waiting for us in a private dinning room. The physical structure was beautiful, but it was the staff that makes this place a “must stay” in Marrakech. We have traveled extensively and rank our experience at the riyad at the top of our list. We found Hassan and Allal , the managers, to be absolutely perfectly professional and caring. They arranged for all of our needs. Hassan also arranged for a fantastic dinner that we will never forget. Their knowledge of the area and ability to get things done is invaluable. Most importantly when my husband became ill, they were genuinely concerned. Hassan offered to have a physician come to the riyad to attend to him. Allal made a special tea for him to try to help. They go above and beyond to insure your comfort and satisfaction. In fact, I had a special interest in architecture and they arranged for me to meet with a local artisan to learn the technique. We left wishing we could return again soon!!!!!!! When reading some of the reviews I noticed a comment on price. We stayed in a suite and felt the level of accommodations and services far outweighed the price. You will not be disappointed if you stay here. Just be prepared to gain a little weight, as the reviews on the food are correct. We loved every meal there!! We were spoiled with the great breakfast and coffee made by Allal, just the way I like it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyGlenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

I trusted all the reviews I read about the Riyad al Moussika, from many other Riads in in Marrakech. I chose Riyad Al moussika because of the closeness to the famous Jamaa Lfan square.
Our surprise is when we was I asked to pay cash till we arrived to the Riad the manager was not aware of our long distance trip as well as the stress, the price is high as many Riads in the city are much more low as they are offering the same service.
The boys were available but the service was MEDIOCRE.
We were trapped by trusting the manager to go in trip to the Atlas Mountains with their taxi driver, this latter was stopping at every Bazar, wanted us to buy from them. This is not the problem, we were surprised as The price we paid was three time than booking in any agencies outside Riyad al Moussika.
Normally the riyad was ok, but I want you to be careful and do not trust even the reviews.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobandAnna2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

I went to Al Moussika at the end of June hoping to find the best standards of accommodation and service: I was delighted to find that the Riad surpassed even my highest expectations! This private palace has been renovated to the most accurate levels of historical authenticity - the painted ceilings are breathtaking, and the attention to detail cannot be faulted. From the moment you are welcomed at the door by the manager Hassan you step out of Marrakech and into an oasis of calm and beauty which is hard to put into words - you just have to experience it! I write this as someone who has travelled extensively and is not easily impressed.
But that is only half the story: there are few hotels to match the level of service you receive from all the staff. The Manager, Hassan, ensured that my daughter and I were able to experience the best of Marrakech in the short time we were there, guiding us to the museum and arranging a spectacular day trip to the Atlas Mountains [I recommend the mule ride up the mountain! Breathtaking!] Wisely, Hassan also arranged a massage and treatment at the hotel hammam on our return, which, take my word for it, was most appreciated after 1.5 hours on the mules!
We stayed in the Green Room, with its own private terrace and a delightful loggia overlooking the Alhambra-style pool. But a little peek at the other rooms [when the visitors had left, of course] made it hard to decide which one to book on our next trip.
We truly appreciated the exquisite level of cuisine by the Cordon Bleu trained chef, who never failed to delight us with his creations and imaginative use of spices from around the world.
Despite its obvious charm, Al Moussika could not possibly sustain its magic without the exemplary level of welcome and attention by the Manager, Hassan, and the Night Manager Allal, both of whom were outstanding in their level of care and service.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

Staying at the Riyad al Moussika lets you experience the very best of riad life. The service is kind and attentive without being oppressive. The food is simply the best in Marrakech. The layout of the riad assures you as much privacy as you want and the atmosphere is stunning. You can be in the main square in five minutes but inside the riad there is peace, quiet and simple elegance. I can recommend it as the perfect place to stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evora, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

We just loved our stay. Beautiful riyad, with great comfort, quitness and charm. The lunchs were the best meals we had in Marrakech (and we have been in very good restaurants). The staff was very helpful and couldn´t be more friendly.Thank you all.
We travel a lot and this was one of the best places we´ve ever been, we strongly recomend it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro_Semedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#7 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,487 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#16 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,198 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#29 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 860 reviews
0.9 mi away
Les Jardins de la Medina
Les Jardins de la Medina
#58 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riyad Al Moussika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riyad Al Moussika

Address: 62 Derb Boutouil | Kennaria, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#161 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Riyad Al Moussika 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Moussika - For comfort, style and refinement. THE Riad experience in Marrakech! Situated in the ancient medina of Marrakech, five minutes walk from place Jemaa El Fna, the Riyad was once one of the residences of the former Pasha of Marrakech, Thami El Glaoui, and has been refurbished to a very high standard in the Andalucian style. One of the gates of Riyad Al Moussika opens on to a garden with old cypress trees soaring to the sky, a huge bougainvillea climbing across the pergolas, a swimming pool, in the centre or, more precisely, an Andalucian basin thirteen meters long, tiled with a mosaic carpet design. Here water falls from a white Carrara marble fountain to the songs of numerous small birds creating an idyllic scenario, in spite of being in the heart of central medina. A fireplace gives the winter evenings a cosy atmosphere, as do the impressive modern paintings, carpets, sofas and armchairs. There is a hi-fi system and an art deco Pleyel grand piano perfectly tuned for the pleasure of the guests. The Turkish bath or hammam in white marble with a relax room where, on request, a professional masseur can take care of the guests. There is a unique view of the medina and the Atlas Mountains from the two terraces that are sheltered partially with wooden pergolas and surrounded by large terracotta flower vases. Tables, comfortable armchairs with cushions and teak chaises-long allow guests to request breakfast and candle lit dinner, as well as to sunbathe during the day. On one of the terraces there is a pavilion with Moroccan sofas, cushions and lamps should some of the guests prefer a more intimate space. The resident Chef, Grand Diploma Cordon Bleu, has devoted his life to gastronomy and invites lovers of fine dining to experience his repertoire of Moroccan, Italian and French cuisine at the haute Cuisine riyad's Restaurant PEPE NERO. There are 4 double bedrooms, all with en-suite bathroom. All rooms have air-conditioning / heating system, telephone with external line, television with the major satellite channels (BBC, CNN etc.), Internet wireless connection is available and DVD in the music room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riyad Al Moussika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riyad Al Moussika Marrakech
Riyad Al Moussika Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing