We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip to paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riyad Al Moussika

Save Saved
You added Riyad Al Moussika to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riyad Al Moussika
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   62 Derb Boutouil | Kennaria, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #140 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Amsterdam
1 review
“A trip to paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

It was not my first time to Marrakech, but this last, at the end of March, has been memorable, thanks to Riad Al Moussika.
Certainly one of the best hotels I have been and the most excellent in Marrakech: Everything in this hotel is of refined elegant taste. The Riad you will feel as home when traditions and fine good taste is part of your way of being.
The good location, 5 minutes walk from the main square, the stunning Moorish courts, the garden with the swimming pool, the first-rate restaurant, the charming and helpful staff, the hammam and the massages, makes your holiday in this hotel a trip to paradise

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    22
    3
    8
    0
See reviews for
32
270
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

This riyad defines the word exquisite. From the tinkling fountains filled with roses to the home-made croissants and traditional suites, there is no detail, however small, we could fault. You are welcomed with mint tea and a plate of fresh pastries, and the welcome continues throughout your stay. You will need to book well in advance but you will not be disappointed. They could only take us for two nights alas and we had to go to another, larger riyad, Al Cadi, which did not compare well while being more expensive.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond upon Thames
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

Stunning riyad. Beautifully placed for a holiday in Marrakech. The riyad is exquisite and the staff could not have been more attentive and helpful. We loved every minute of the five days we stayed there. The food was an absolute delight. The hammam was superb. Everything we could wish for.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

A truly wonderful Riyad. From the spacious and beautiful room to the friendly and helpful staff everything about the Riyad was perfect. Whilst only a short stroll to Djemaa el Fna the Riyad was a haven of peace and tranquility. Breakfast and lunch in the Courtyard (or one of the other lovely dining areas) was delicious (although some more variety at breakfast would be welcome for those staying longer than a night or two; and more Moroccan-style food as a lunch option would be welcome). The hamman and massage was blissful. Having travelled extensively and having stayed in some wonderful Hotels/B&B's/Guesthouses/Villa's etc, Riyad Al Moussika is up there with the best.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

3 night stay / March 2010 - To make it short I’ll just say I partly agree with what was said by Triptestdummy in their review dated March 17th. Though we didn’t have any problem with our room or booking what is said about the value for money it’s all correct. If we had paid 100 or 130 £ per night there wouldn’t be much to complain about – the hotel is absolutely splendid - but as soon as you pay more then 180 £ per night……..… it's a different story. I would add to the information given in the abovementioned review that this riad is located in an area that is not as good as said in some reviews – the main point of interest in the neighbourhood of the hotel being what appeared to be the central bus station of Marrakech – and that is probably why it’s so difficult to locate precisely Riad Moussika on a map (search their website.. you won’t find any). Before we had stayed here – it was our very first trip to Morocco - we had no idea this point could be a problem, but it is.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

The cultural section of the Rough Guide for Morocca mentions their love of children and this was very apparent during our stay at the Riyad. Our daughter (less than a year) was fawned over by all staff with many holding her at some stage (even when her nappy change was overdue). It made our stay very comfortable and when we left many came to bid her farewell.

Otherwise the Riyad was an oasis behind a non-descript door down an alleyway. We didn't use the pool but enjoyed evenings sitting on the balcony overlooking it. The staff were attentive (even to us adults) and remembered our unique requests by the second day. We stayed five days and enjoyed it entirely.

Like all things not always for everyone but it suited us and it particularly suited our infant daughter.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

We have just returned from 3 days in the Riyad Moussika. if you want a mini adventure then go to Marrakech, only 3 hours from london yet a world away in culture. The Riyad Moussika is in the Centre of the old town yet when you walk through the door you walk into a sanctury to relax and unwind and enjoy fabulous food. We stayed in the blue room with a four poster bed and huge bath.......... expensive but well worth treating yourself.
Hassan the manager made us very welcome he organised excellent restaurants and booked taxis ect. His staff were very friendly and always ready to help in any way. The Riyad is a little palace but the jewell in the crown is its staff and of course its chef ! we cant wait to return !

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riyad Al Moussika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riyad Al Moussika

Address: 62 Derb Boutouil | Kennaria, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#140 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riyad Al Moussika 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Moussika - For comfort, style and refinement. THE Riad experience in Marrakech! Situated in the ancient medina of Marrakech, five minutes walk from place Jemaa El Fna, the Riyad was once one of the residences of the former Pasha of Marrakech, Thami El Glaoui, and has been refurbished to a very high standard in the Andalucian style. One of the gates of Riyad Al Moussika opens on to a garden with old cypress trees soaring to the sky, a huge bougainvillea climbing across the pergolas, a swimming pool, in the centre or, more precisely, an Andalucian basin thirteen meters long, tiled with a mosaic carpet design. Here water falls from a white Carrara marble fountain to the songs of numerous small birds creating an idyllic scenario, in spite of being in the heart of central medina. A fireplace gives the winter evenings a cosy atmosphere, as do the impressive modern paintings, carpets, sofas and armchairs. There is a hi-fi system and an art deco Pleyel grand piano perfectly tuned for the pleasure of the guests. The Turkish bath or hammam in white marble with a relax room where, on request, a professional masseur can take care of the guests. There is a unique view of the medina and the Atlas Mountains from the two terraces that are sheltered partially with wooden pergolas and surrounded by large terracotta flower vases. Tables, comfortable armchairs with cushions and teak chaises-long allow guests to request breakfast and candle lit dinner, as well as to sunbathe during the day. On one of the terraces there is a pavilion with Moroccan sofas, cushions and lamps should some of the guests prefer a more intimate space. The resident Chef, Grand Diploma Cordon Bleu, has devoted his life to gastronomy and invites lovers of fine dining to experience his repertoire of Moroccan, Italian and French cuisine at the haute Cuisine riyad's Restaurant PEPE NERO. There are 4 double bedrooms, all with en-suite bathroom. All rooms have air-conditioning / heating system, telephone with external line, television with the major satellite channels (BBC, CNN etc.), Internet wireless connection is available and DVD in the music room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Prestigia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Riyad Al Moussika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riyad Al Moussika Marrakech
Riyad Al Moussika Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riyad Al Moussika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.