We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riyad Al Moussika

Save Saved
You added Riyad Al Moussika to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riyad Al Moussika
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   62 Derb Boutouil | Kennaria, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Surrey
1 review
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

Stayed at this wonderful hotel for a post Christmas break after recommendations on trip adviser. We were not disappointed. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable.
The service was excellent, nothing was too much trouble from restaurant recommendations to guides and excursions.
Soft drinks including tea and coffee were included in the price and served (with little pastries) in your room, roof terrace etc day or evening on request. Breakfast and lunch were usually served(weather permitting) in the beautiful courtyard complete with fountain. The food was delicious and we especially enjoyed the yoghurt and chopped fruit which was served as part of the excellent breakfast. Vegetarians are well catered for and the selection was varied and tasty.
After a day experiencing the sights and sounds of the medina the hotel was a welcome oasis of comfort and tranquility.
Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Good service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    22
    3
    8
    0
See reviews for
32
270
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

We have just returned from a 5 day trip to Marrakech, a fantastic place fully of interesting sites and lovely people. We spent 3 nights at the Riyad Al Moussika and couldn't bear to leave. The owner has excellent taste, the rooms are beautifully decorated and furnished. There are several lounges to relax in plus a large roof terrace, so you can feel like it is your own place. The roof terrace is a lovely sun trap and nice enough to sit out on even in December.
Food here is just delicious, I almost blew the diet with the gorgeous lunches and a heavenly chocolate pud. This is at the high end of our price range but worth the expense for a special occasion or a honey moon. We are definately planning to go back to this Riad in the not too distant future.

  • Liked — Fantastic building and decor plus excellent food and service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2008

We have recently returned from our honeymoon in Morocco.

Spending three nights at Riyad Al Moussika was an absolute pleasure. The riyad is beautiful, the rooms very comfortable and well equipped, the food fantastic and the service and staff first class.

I would and have highly recommend this riyad.

  • Liked — Staff were brilliant
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2008

Everything, the premises, the location, the service, not to mention the food, simply perfect!! Difficult to add something more.
We had a wonderful holiday and we will be back soon.
Mark and Nora

  • Liked — the food and the atmosphere
  • Disliked — we can't find
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

As the taxi driver took us to the riyad, down the narrow street, our hearts dropped. Surely there couldn't be a hotel here - but when we arrived at the large ornate front door, it was opened by a smiling Anas (whose smile stayed with him for the whole of our
7-day stay) We entered into a peaceful oasis, full of trees, shrubs and wonderful fountains filled with roses floating on the surface.

It was formerly the Palace of the Pasha of Marrakesh, which has been lovingly renovated and refurbished to a very high standard by local master craftsmen in the true Moorish style. It has black and white Carrara marble chequered floors, carved cedarwood ceilings, beautifully carved plasterwork and tiny coloured tiles.

It has a Library filled with a diverse selection of books, a Music Room, Dining Room, Moroccan Lounge, in addition to the steam bath and various patios and places to relax around beautiful pools. There is a rooftop terrace on which to sunbathe and relax, with wonderful views of the Atlas mountains.

The staff were attentive and smiling - nothing was too much trouble for them - bringing mint tea and pastries up to the roof terrace at any time of the day, serving a meal in our room or in any of the sitting rooms, if we wanted a quiet evening "at home".

We stayed on a half-board basis which included a breakfast of yoghurt and fruit, home made croissants and pastries, eggs, toast, jams and honey. The lunches were delicious and extremely varied, with Moroccan, French and Italian food, with everything prepared by the Cordon Bleu chef. We ate in the Medina in the evenings and although the restaurants were adequate, they bore no comparison to the truly wonderful food prepared by le Chef. Everything served to us was made on the premises.

It was lovely to return to the peace and quiet of Riyad after spending the day in the noisy and bustling Medina with its souks and snake charmers.

  • Liked — Traditional Moroccan furnishings
  • Disliked — Nothing that I can think of.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2008

We had a great stay at the Riad. The staff were excellent, food (especially the breakfast) great and the quality of the room and public rooms and spaces fantastic. A real treat to be able to stay in such a wonderful place that contrasts with the excitement, hussle and general crazyness of the medina. It is expensive but what you get for the money (breakfast, lunch, taxis to/from the airport, mint tea any time fo day served anywhere you want, tranquil atmosphere and beautiful restored Moroccan decor, make it a really memorable experience. We stayed in the blue room and I'm already missing the enormous bath you could almost do laps in!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

The Riyad was absolutely beautiful, the staff incredibly helpful, and the food delicious. We really felt that coming back to the Riyad from the business of Marrakech made the trip. The lack of a safe or good air conditioner was a small issue. Also, the riyad's recommended restuarants are the most expensive in the city; you are better off finding one in the square on your own. Overall, we had a wonderful experience and would definitely return.

  • Liked — The afternoon tea on our balcony
  • Disliked — Their overpriced dinner recommendation
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riyad Al Moussika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riyad Al Moussika

Address: 62 Derb Boutouil | Kennaria, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#140 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riyad Al Moussika 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Moussika - For comfort, style and refinement. THE Riad experience in Marrakech! Situated in the ancient medina of Marrakech, five minutes walk from place Jemaa El Fna, the Riyad was once one of the residences of the former Pasha of Marrakech, Thami El Glaoui, and has been refurbished to a very high standard in the Andalucian style. One of the gates of Riyad Al Moussika opens on to a garden with old cypress trees soaring to the sky, a huge bougainvillea climbing across the pergolas, a swimming pool, in the centre or, more precisely, an Andalucian basin thirteen meters long, tiled with a mosaic carpet design. Here water falls from a white Carrara marble fountain to the songs of numerous small birds creating an idyllic scenario, in spite of being in the heart of central medina. A fireplace gives the winter evenings a cosy atmosphere, as do the impressive modern paintings, carpets, sofas and armchairs. There is a hi-fi system and an art deco Pleyel grand piano perfectly tuned for the pleasure of the guests. The Turkish bath or hammam in white marble with a relax room where, on request, a professional masseur can take care of the guests. There is a unique view of the medina and the Atlas Mountains from the two terraces that are sheltered partially with wooden pergolas and surrounded by large terracotta flower vases. Tables, comfortable armchairs with cushions and teak chaises-long allow guests to request breakfast and candle lit dinner, as well as to sunbathe during the day. On one of the terraces there is a pavilion with Moroccan sofas, cushions and lamps should some of the guests prefer a more intimate space. The resident Chef, Grand Diploma Cordon Bleu, has devoted his life to gastronomy and invites lovers of fine dining to experience his repertoire of Moroccan, Italian and French cuisine at the haute Cuisine riyad's Restaurant PEPE NERO. There are 4 double bedrooms, all with en-suite bathroom. All rooms have air-conditioning / heating system, telephone with external line, television with the major satellite channels (BBC, CNN etc.), Internet wireless connection is available and DVD in the music room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Prestigia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Riyad Al Moussika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riyad Al Moussika Marrakech
Riyad Al Moussika Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riyad Al Moussika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.