We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riyad Al Moussika

Save Saved
You added Riyad Al Moussika to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riyad Al Moussika
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   62 Derb Boutouil | Kennaria, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had an incredible stay at Riyad al Moussika - the service is amazing, the food delicious, and the rooms sumptuous. I cannot say enough good things about the quality of the staff. Everyone was beyond accommodating and kind - the staff made us feel welcome and took care of us over our week long stay. At one point our group rented every room in the riad and I can honestly say they are all lovely and immaculate. Do not miss eating at Pepe Nero, the onsite restaurant at least once (if not more!) during your stay.
Location wise the riad is well situated with close walking distance to the Jemaa el Fna but also has a courtyard adjacent that allows taxis easy access. Dining out late you can always get a taxi back to the riad without any fear of getting lost.
I have been coming to Marrakech since 1995 and have stayed at many riads over the years - Riyad al Moussika definitely tops them all. We will be coming back again and again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    22
    3
    8
    0
See reviews for
32
270
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Upon arriving by taxi we were greeted by staff from the Riyad who walked us through the little alleys. It was our first time and we didn't know what to expect.

The Riyad is beautiful with the entrance having the luxury of a pool in it's centre. It was freezing in Feb, so only dipped a toe in. We were led to the library where we were told to make ourselves comfortable and we were brought the first of our Morrocan teas and pastries. Both very enjoyable and complimentary. I loved the tea.

We had the comfort room which was fairly large and nicely appointed, with a generous sized bathroom. This room is over the kitchen courtyard so could become quite noisy, but it didn't bother us as we can sleep through most things.

Breakfast was a feast and totally set us up for the day. The staff are really kind, especially the manager who couldn't do enough to help you.
He gave us a map and told us a few tricks that the young boys might try. Even after this pep talk we walked straight into the scam when an older teenager told us that the alley we were choosing was closed due to prayers at the mosque until 10am...we ended up giving him a fiver because the shop keeper didn't have any smaller change for us ....He is there every day and he can spot the newbies a mile off... It is very easy to navigate when you get over the initial shock of the winding alley's and it's great fun.

After dinner one night we asked if we could have a champagne bucket sent up, they did this for us and also provided nuts and olives which was a really kind gesture, and much appreciated. The plus side of our room was that it was connected to the library so we had the champagne sat in our robes on the lounge chairs in the library. Total relaxation.

The terrace has a few sun beds at one end and some comfortable sofas and tables at the other end. We had tea, pastries and the not so ubiquitous wine up there. It was most enjoyable to sit in the peace and quiet of an afternoon before the onslaught of the evening square.

Checking out was simple and an error on the bill was immediately rectified with profuse apologies.

I would recommend this Riyad and its staff as they are all pleasant, helpful and funny.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a lovely place to stay. The team who runs the riad is very welcoming and provides an excellent service. The building is an old palace of the last Pasha of Marrakech beautifully refurbish and with a lot of character.
We stayed at the green suite that has a private terrace and a loggia in front of the room: Very comfortable.
Try the hammam and the massages... a great experience! We will come back one day with pleasure.

Room Tip: The green suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We had booked to stay here for three nights on a recent trip to Morocco, however, due to a problem with our booking we had to spend the first night in a neighbouring riyad - a 3 minute walk away. The Riyad Al-Moussika staff were most apologetic and up-graded us for the two remaining nights to a superior suite, plus a bottle of Proseco. Although this did not actually give us any hardship, it was a bit annoying to be told of the change a full month after our initial booking. Despite this we loved our time there and thoroughly recommend this riyad for a realxing stay in Marrakech.

We were met by an hotel representative at the airport who took over our luggage and provided a car/taxi which delivered us to the riyad and a welcome drink. The staff, headed by Hassan were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them during our stay. The up-graded suite - Al Azrak or the Blue Suite - was large with delightfully decorated ceilings, a large walk-in wardrobe, 4 poster bed, tables, chairs and a desk. The stunning bathroom was well equipped and contained the largest bath I have ever seen - 10ft x 5ft x 3ft deep - which was totally impractical but fun - there was a shower!

The whole of this riyad is stunning with elegant balconies, a courtyard that doubles as a restaurant - Pepe Nero (see Trip Advisor restaurant guide), various dining and sitting rooms and a roof terrace. Breakfast was excellent with fresh orange juice and pastries, toast, various eggs and all served on the terrace.

Riyad Al-Moussika is a delightful and elegant building situated in a small, quiet lane and less than a 10 minute walk through narrow lanes to the exciting and colourful market square and souk in the Marrakech Medina. We had a really pleasant stay, thank you Hassan and your staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Riyad Al Moussika is a beautiful, peaceful place to relax and unwind after a busy day sight seeing and shopping in the souks!! Just a five minute walk from the main sqaure, it is the perfect place to stay. We stayed in the Green room which had it's own roof terrace, perfect for a bit of sunbathing. The room was spotless, with a view over the beautiful courtyard and pool. The breakfasts were great, as was the complimentary mint teas and pastries. We booked one evening in the restaurant of the Riyad,which was the best meal we had throughout our stay in Marrakech. The manager and staff were always friendly and willing to help. Would deffinately recommend.

Room Tip: Green room has own roof terrace and balcony looking over the garden courtyard and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agadir
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Due to the special offer for February we decided to book a suite to celebrate our anniversary. We made a good choice and our holidays have been very pleasant. The blue suite is just amazing ...a dream. The level of the service very high and the breackfast,included on the fare, large and delicious.
A special thanks to Hassan the manager, who has been so helpful!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Back to Marrakech, we wanted to make the experience of living in a traditional riad and our choice was completely successful. Riyad Al Moussika is a very special place: I was finally able to get an authentic experience of everyday life of the people of Marrakesh.
The riad is beautiful and has preserved the flavor of the past ... it is as if time had stopped a hundred years ago ...
The service is discreet, but very efficient, the experience of the hammam with traditional massage, the excellent and copious breakfast, have contributed to make our stay a unique experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riyad Al Moussika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riyad Al Moussika

Address: 62 Derb Boutouil | Kennaria, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#141 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riyad Al Moussika 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Moussika - For comfort, style and refinement. THE Riad experience in Marrakech! Situated in the ancient medina of Marrakech, five minutes walk from place Jemaa El Fna, the Riyad was once one of the residences of the former Pasha of Marrakech, Thami El Glaoui, and has been refurbished to a very high standard in the Andalucian style. One of the gates of Riyad Al Moussika opens on to a garden with old cypress trees soaring to the sky, a huge bougainvillea climbing across the pergolas, a swimming pool, in the centre or, more precisely, an Andalucian basin thirteen meters long, tiled with a mosaic carpet design. Here water falls from a white Carrara marble fountain to the songs of numerous small birds creating an idyllic scenario, in spite of being in the heart of central medina. A fireplace gives the winter evenings a cosy atmosphere, as do the impressive modern paintings, carpets, sofas and armchairs. There is a hi-fi system and an art deco Pleyel grand piano perfectly tuned for the pleasure of the guests. The Turkish bath or hammam in white marble with a relax room where, on request, a professional masseur can take care of the guests. There is a unique view of the medina and the Atlas Mountains from the two terraces that are sheltered partially with wooden pergolas and surrounded by large terracotta flower vases. Tables, comfortable armchairs with cushions and teak chaises-long allow guests to request breakfast and candle lit dinner, as well as to sunbathe during the day. On one of the terraces there is a pavilion with Moroccan sofas, cushions and lamps should some of the guests prefer a more intimate space. The resident Chef, Grand Diploma Cordon Bleu, has devoted his life to gastronomy and invites lovers of fine dining to experience his repertoire of Moroccan, Italian and French cuisine at the haute Cuisine riyad's Restaurant PEPE NERO. There are 4 double bedrooms, all with en-suite bathroom. All rooms have air-conditioning / heating system, telephone with external line, television with the major satellite channels (BBC, CNN etc.), Internet wireless connection is available and DVD in the music room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Prestigia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Riyad Al Moussika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riyad Al Moussika Marrakech
Riyad Al Moussika Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riyad Al Moussika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.