We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riyad Al Moussika

Save Saved
You added Riyad Al Moussika to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riyad Al Moussika
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   62 Derb Boutouil | Kennaria, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Enchanting stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip to Marrakech and Morocco, and what a wonderful welcome it was to stay at this haven of peace, charm and elegance in the bustling medina - steps away from the action, but extremely quiet, located at the end of a small alley.

We were picked up at the airport (included in our room rate) around 11pm, and, after a 15-min drive, arrived at the Riyad, transported into a different world, a different age... Mr. Hassan and Abdel, who were fantastic hosts around the clock, greeted us with mint tea in the courtyard, our bags were taken care of, and we immediately felt at home.

We absolutely loved our large room (the Al Alzrak suite or "blue suite"), which gave out on one of the courtyards. It has a large fourposter bed, from which you can gaze up to the beautifully painted wooden ceiling, and is tastefully furnished, has a huge walk-in closet, and a separate entrance that leads to the roof terrace. The marble bathroom is amazing, with the largest bath tub (with three steps!) ever - you could almost swim in it, fit for an emperor! As it gets quite cold at night in December-January, the excellent heating system (on when we arrived) was most welcome.

All personnel was very friendly, and pur hosts went out of their way to make this a memorable stay. They helped us to rent a car for a week for our explorations beyond Marrakech (excellent, brand new vehicle for reasonable price, delivered at the Riyad), and, when we left, Abdel drove in front of us on his scooter to show us the way out of town!

The Riyad also has an excellent restaurant, Pepenero, which serves fantastic Italian and Moroccan food. We ate here every evening, in the courtyard, as the food was so good, and the ambience fabulous. We were offered a glass of prosecco free of charge, with a delicious amuse bouche. It is important to book a table, as the restaurant has an excellent reputation as one of the very best in town, so many people come to dine or have lunch.

Breakfast is a feast as well, with delicious orange juice, fresh fruits, excellent yoghurt, eggs any style, Moroccan pancakes, croissants, rolls and much more!

We enjoyed our two nights (26 and 27 December) in the Riyad Al Moussika so much that, after our week of touring, we decided to stay there again for our last night in Morroco. We weren't disappointed: same warm welcome, and very relaxing last day. We were offered the same room, discounted because we came back!

We strongly recommend the Riyad Al Moussika and would not hesitate to return. Many thanks to the hosts and their staff for such a delightful stay.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    22
    3
    8
    0
See reviews for
32
270
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Extraordinary Riyad, well situated with a good level of service.
The bedrooms and living rooms are richly decorated in Moroccan style. A long nice pool in the garden, and a beautiful hammam with a masseur very competent ... I felt ten years younger in two hours! Great breakfast and coffee and tea with delicious pastries at any time, free of charge. A great experience for my first visit to Marrakech.

Room Tip: The Green Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The highlight of our trip to Morocco has certainly been this riad.

The level of the service provided by the young team of boys, always smiling, the beauty of the place fantastically well restored, the gorgeous suite, the delicious and fresh breakfasts and the location at few minutes walk from the main square of the old Medina, make riad Al Moussika the ideal place for a relaxing holiday in Marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Marrakesh offers so many choices, that it was hard to decide, but Riyad Al Moussika has been the right one.
We spent a weekend in this spot of beauty and we were totally satisfied. I share completely all the positive reviews and me too I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton-on-Thames, England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This must be one of the best riads to stay in Marrakech. There is a plunge pool in the courtyard surrounded by lit lanterns at night and lush tropical plantations everywhere. The riad has a roof terrace, a library and an excellent restaurant Pepe-Nero for dinner (warning: you need to book at least 24 hours in advance as it is very popular). The manager Hassan gave us a very warm welcome and was very attentive, polite and helpful throughout our stay and did everything possible to ensure our comfort and that we were looked after at all times. Abdel-Kadir served us breakfast daily and is very charming, chatty and attentive. Our suite was huge with a four-poster bed and a separate hallway; the bathroom had a very deep wide bath. Moroccan lanterns hanging from the ceilings. The riad felt like a small palace and a haven of peace away from the mayhem of the city outside. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Eccelent location at few minutes walk from the main square El Fna, the main museums and the souks of the old medina. The riad is wonderfull very well restaured and the room are full of antiques and nice paintings old and modern.
Beautiful swimmingpool in the garden and a relaxing hammam.
Very large breakfast with the best croissant I had since my trip to Paris.
The service is 5 stars and the boys do their best to make your stay memorable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, USA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

To describe our stay at Riyad Al Moussika will be resumed by a word: Perfect!
Our bleu suite and its bathroom are just a dream, the saloons and the courtyards with marble fountains are gorgeous and the hammam and massage a fantastic experience that I repeated twice..
The service is very professional and discreet with personal touches such as a bottle of French champagne complimentary offered to celebrate my friend’s birthday.
We will come back!

Room Tip: the suite deluxe Al AZRAK
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riyad Al Moussika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riyad Al Moussika

Address: 62 Derb Boutouil | Kennaria, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#141 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riyad Al Moussika 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Moussika - For comfort, style and refinement. THE Riad experience in Marrakech! Situated in the ancient medina of Marrakech, five minutes walk from place Jemaa El Fna, the Riyad was once one of the residences of the former Pasha of Marrakech, Thami El Glaoui, and has been refurbished to a very high standard in the Andalucian style. One of the gates of Riyad Al Moussika opens on to a garden with old cypress trees soaring to the sky, a huge bougainvillea climbing across the pergolas, a swimming pool, in the centre or, more precisely, an Andalucian basin thirteen meters long, tiled with a mosaic carpet design. Here water falls from a white Carrara marble fountain to the songs of numerous small birds creating an idyllic scenario, in spite of being in the heart of central medina. A fireplace gives the winter evenings a cosy atmosphere, as do the impressive modern paintings, carpets, sofas and armchairs. There is a hi-fi system and an art deco Pleyel grand piano perfectly tuned for the pleasure of the guests. The Turkish bath or hammam in white marble with a relax room where, on request, a professional masseur can take care of the guests. There is a unique view of the medina and the Atlas Mountains from the two terraces that are sheltered partially with wooden pergolas and surrounded by large terracotta flower vases. Tables, comfortable armchairs with cushions and teak chaises-long allow guests to request breakfast and candle lit dinner, as well as to sunbathe during the day. On one of the terraces there is a pavilion with Moroccan sofas, cushions and lamps should some of the guests prefer a more intimate space. The resident Chef, Grand Diploma Cordon Bleu, has devoted his life to gastronomy and invites lovers of fine dining to experience his repertoire of Moroccan, Italian and French cuisine at the haute Cuisine riyad's Restaurant PEPE NERO. There are 4 double bedrooms, all with en-suite bathroom. All rooms have air-conditioning / heating system, telephone with external line, television with the major satellite channels (BBC, CNN etc.), Internet wireless connection is available and DVD in the music room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Prestigia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Riyad Al Moussika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riyad Al Moussika Marrakech
Riyad Al Moussika Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riyad Al Moussika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.