We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good place to stay to discover Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riyad Al Moussika

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riyad Al Moussika to your Saves list
Riyad Al Moussika
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   62 Derb Boutouil | Kennaria, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Rabat, Morocco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The good place to stay to discover Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

I’m a British expatriate leaving in Rabat and this year I decided to visit with my wife and 3 sons, Marrakech a city that I knew so far only superficially. To be in touch as deep as possible with the local Moroccan living reality we decided to book our holydays in a riyad and Riyad Al Moussika has been our choice thanks to the positive reviews on Tripadvisor and we were completely satisfied with it.
This riyad despite is central location in the old medina, very closed to the main square Jemâa el F’na, is accessible by car and there is a parking very closed to it where we left our car at a very cheap daily fees .
From the entrance we were transported to another world ...One thousand and one nights...Really amazing ambience.
We were received by Hassan, the very efficient and helpful manager, whit the traditional mint tea and exquisite Moroccan patisserie.
Our rooms were immaculate, with comfortable beds and very nice Moorish decoration: My wife and I, we stayed in the green suite with has the advantage of a private terrace and loggia in front of the room and my sons in a comfort room overlooking the swimming pool with the entrance on the same landing. The breakfast a la carte was plentiful...One of the best coffee and orange juice I ever had and the selections of viennoiserie so fresh and tasty that we always left the basket empty.
I was reluctant to try the hammam and the massage, but my wife succeeded to convince me, (as always), and I shared the experience with her... It’s incredible how better you feel after.
The luxurious ambience of this hotel and the relaxing atmosphere captured us in a way that we were quite reluctant to go out..., but we visited all museums and of course the souks that are all at a walking distance.
Riyad Al Moussika is the good place to stay to discover Marrakech and to experience a wonderful sojourn.

Room Tip: The green suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    22
    3
    8
    0
See reviews for
32
271
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella,Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Riyad Al Moussika where I spent my Easter holidays is a place really fantastic to relax and to get in touch with real Morocco.
The palace, house of the former Pasha of Marrakech, is astonishing with an atmosphere that take you in another word...Quiet and luxurious with a splendid basin, swimming pool, a magnificent Moorish court with fountains full of flowers, saloons splendidly decorated, a white marble hammam and a considerable modern painting collections that matches very well the Moroccan decor. The room was spotless and very comfortable.
The breakfast plentiful and tasty...Divine Italian espresso and fresh croissants.
In a sentence the perfect place to stay in Marrakech

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed 3 nights with our 2.5 year old. Being the quite period the hotel was empty but everything about the place was in top working condition. The staff are brilliant - very friendly and helpful and made our stay very comfortable. Would absolutely recommend it to all.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epe, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

I was looking for a romantic, typical Moroccan hotel to spend a week with my partner. It took me quite a while to find just the perfect place. They all look nice and they all serve a good breakfast, but Riyad al Moussika was somehow way beyond the others.

We were picked up from the airport by a driver and within 10 minutes we arrived somewhere in the middle of the Medina, in a place you wouldn’t imagine there could be a hotel or even a descent house. Via some narrow passages you actually reach a door that says ‘Restaurant PepeNero’. I had a nice correspondence with the owner and when we arrived, we got a warm welcome by him. He told us about the history of the Riad and showed us each room and place, telling all about it. I was happy and somehow surprised to hear Chopin play. They served some nice Moroccan mint tea with lovely sweet pastries after we inspected our room. The room was lovely decorated with hand painted doors and windows. Not the type of room you would like to spend a lot of time in however, because this is the smallest of them all, the Junior Al Asfar. But this was the only room available. I had set my mind on Riyad al Moussika and we got a nice discount (to be honest, any other room would not have been affordable for us, prices would have been 3 times higher).

Junior Al Asfar is situated right next to the restaurant, upstairs. Around 6 pm the staff is getting busy preparing for diner. They heat up the courtyard by using three big patio heaters and the warmth is crawling up the walls towards the small room. Every night the restaurant is fully booked. There is a really romantic atmosphere and even if you don’t enjoy diner downstairs, it’s lovely to look over the romantic scenery with all the candles burning and listening to the classical music. We needed earplugs to get some sleep, but that is just because we didn’t go out late at night nor eat at PepeNero.

It’s very personal, but the thing I loved best in the riad was the classical music. There was an Italian couple sleeping right behind the library (Al Wardi room, which has more privacy, less noise from downstairs and a lovely green bathroom) and they were, like us, crazy for the wonderful sound that was produced by the Bose speakers. In the morning they popped in ‘Adiago’ and turned up the volume so that the wonderful sound was filling everyones ears. We kept this tradition alive when they left, since the system was in the library, which was next to our door. Above our door was a Bose speaker, so this causes some extra loudness at night. If you don’t mind, there is no problem, but should you want to enjoy the silence like there is the rest of the day in the riad, pick another room. For example the suite Al Akhdar, which is situated at the other courtyard and has a private balcony as well! Very luxurious room. We didn’t get a chance to see the blue room, the Al Azrak, but since it is above the restaurant, like our junior suite, this is perhaps not the best choice (but still a very, very nice and spacy room though).

Breakfast in the morning is a wonderful little party. They heat up (February) several parts of the restaurant and spread up the few people in the hotel, so there is enough privacy. The sweet food just keeps coming… You can enjoy wonderful tasty yoghurt, fresh fruit cocktail, the best Italian coffee, traditional Moroccan tea or black English tea, eggs, toast, all kinds of bread and pastries, lovely fresh orange juice, water etc. The entire staff is very kind. Each and everyone is happy to assist you and to let you experience a wonderful time in Marrakech.

We didn’t use the free hammam, but it’s included in your stay. So are the soft drinks and afternoon tea with sweet pastries. Whenever we came back from a long walk, it was nice to relax on the roof terrace and have some tea. It’s funny how quiet it was on top of the building and inside the riad, while being in the middle of hectic Marrakech. Just the singing birds and in the distance the music of the snake charmers.

After a week in the romantic riad we had to say goodbye. Most memorable to me was that the owner himself carried our bags all the way to the small plaza near the hotel, where the taxi would arrive. We had to wait for a few minutes and instead of saying goodbye directly, a few members of the staff and the owner sat there together with us. We got a hug and a hand and so the story ends…

You feel a warm welcome inside the riad. It is a luxurious and very comfortable place to be. A perfect spot, close to the main square (Jemaa el Fna) but nicely tucked away, where you can enjoy the silence. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who likes classic Morocco, and who can appreciate the wonderful surroundings of the riad. If you bring a camera you just keep taking pictures here. Very photogenic place!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

3 days was for me as a dream
Staff nice, rooms good
I will come back for sure

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

I treated my wife to a surprise 40th Birthday present, a trip to Riyad Al Moussika.
The whole experience was tremendous, from checking in to checking out.
We gave the Riyad our Flight details and they took care of private transfers from and to the airport. Transfer time only 15-20 mins.
We stayed in the Green Room, which has it's own private rooftop terrace and it's own balcony overlooking the pool. The room itself was amazing and very clean, from the intricate details around the bed to the large bathroom, with enormous walk in shower. Bed was very comfortable and was made up everyday, whilst we were at breakfast.
Breakfast was included in the stay, and was very plentiful. Fresh orange juice, honey infused yoghurt, mixed fruit, pancakes/crepes with honey, toast with homemade marmalade and lots of fresh coffee. We didn't have to eat again until dinner!!
The staff were always available and ready to make us reservations at other venues.
We ate twice at Pepe Nero's, which is also located in Riyad Al Moussika, the food was that good. You could choose between Morrocan or Italian food and there was a good wine selection.
We also had a Hammam and massage at the Riyad, which was brilliant, we both felt completely refreshed, clean and relaxed - worth the €40 each.
For nervous first timers to Marrakesh, this is an excellent place to stay. One member of staff escorted us all the way to Djemaa El Fna square (about 5-10 mins walk), giving us useful tips along the way - saved us a lot of money. Just watch out for the Mopeds.
In conclusion, I would rate our stay and Riyad Al Moussika as unforgettable.
A big thank you to Hassan and all his staff.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, but the Blue and Green room are the cream of the crop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

My mum and I had stayed in this little gorgeous hotel for 3 nights in November. The service is undoubtedly top drawer. Staff is very obliging and friendly. They will bring/arrange whatever you asked for. They supply you with pastry all day without charge and it is delicious! The building is very pretty and well-maintained. Very impressive!

It is 5 minutes away from the medina and the palaces. very good location.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riyad Al Moussika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riyad Al Moussika

Address: 62 Derb Boutouil | Kennaria, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#147 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riyad Al Moussika 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Moussika - For comfort, style and refinement. THE Riad experience in Marrakech! Situated in the ancient medina of Marrakech, five minutes walk from place Jemaa El Fna, the Riyad was once one of the residences of the former Pasha of Marrakech, Thami El Glaoui, and has been refurbished to a very high standard in the Andalucian style. One of the gates of Riyad Al Moussika opens on to a garden with old cypress trees soaring to the sky, a huge bougainvillea climbing across the pergolas, a swimming pool, in the centre or, more precisely, an Andalucian basin thirteen meters long, tiled with a mosaic carpet design. Here water falls from a white Carrara marble fountain to the songs of numerous small birds creating an idyllic scenario, in spite of being in the heart of central medina. A fireplace gives the winter evenings a cosy atmosphere, as do the impressive modern paintings, carpets, sofas and armchairs. There is a hi-fi system and an art deco Pleyel grand piano perfectly tuned for the pleasure of the guests. The Turkish bath or hammam in white marble with a relax room where, on request, a professional masseur can take care of the guests. There is a unique view of the medina and the Atlas Mountains from the two terraces that are sheltered partially with wooden pergolas and surrounded by large terracotta flower vases. Tables, comfortable armchairs with cushions and teak chaises-long allow guests to request breakfast and candle lit dinner, as well as to sunbathe during the day. On one of the terraces there is a pavilion with Moroccan sofas, cushions and lamps should some of the guests prefer a more intimate space. The resident Chef, Grand Diploma Cordon Bleu, has devoted his life to gastronomy and invites lovers of fine dining to experience his repertoire of Moroccan, Italian and French cuisine at the haute Cuisine riyad's Restaurant PEPE NERO. There are 4 double bedrooms, all with en-suite bathroom. All rooms have air-conditioning / heating system, telephone with external line, television with the major satellite channels (BBC, CNN etc.), Internet wireless connection is available and DVD in the music room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Prestigia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riyad Al Moussika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riyad Al Moussika Marrakech
Riyad Al Moussika Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riyad Al Moussika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.