We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will definitely return !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riyad Al Moussika

Save Saved
You added Riyad Al Moussika to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riyad Al Moussika
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   62 Derb Boutouil | Kennaria, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“We will definitely return !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Riad Al Moussika at the beginning of March. Great weather. We had stayed in other boutique hotel in Marrakesh years ago so we had a point of comparison. The hotel staff were extremely friendly, courteous and attentive from the moment we arrived. The accomodations were first class, clean, and the suite was ample size. The breakfast was filling and generous and the dinner we had at the riad, to die for. We were in a safe location very close to all tourist attractions. The location, the service, the food, all made our stay very special. We will definitely return to the Riyad Al Moussika.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    376
    22
    3
    8
    0
See reviews for
32
270
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

At Riyad Al Moussika staff is extremely helpful and offers great suggestions as to local museums and events, and is extremely caring. The entire hotel and rooms are authentically decorated and comfortable offering the modern amenities. Food is wonderful and the location perfect.
I will be returning here when in Marrakech again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

This was a present trip for my husband, for his 40th birthday. Riad Al Moussika had excellent reviews, but everything we could have expected was exceeded. The hotel is interesting with each room different decor and individual. It also has a perfect and safe location in the heart of the medina.

The staff were the most friendly and helpful I have ever come across, genuinely lovely boys. The food in the hotel is also excellent and a lovely touch that the chef always wants to know how you enjoyed the meal. He is then genuinely pleased if you enjoyed the food. There are numerous little touches that make the stay special (great restaurants booked and recommended, free Moroccan patisserie with drinks, free airport shuttle, etc), far too many to list. Do not forget to have a massage and hammam! Unique experience!

Staying in a hotel like this makes me want to avoid big chains in future, I just wonder if there are other boutique hotels out there as good as this. The entire holiday was wonderful, from the hotel, the food, the friendly Moroccan people and the beautiful Marrakesh.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

We have just returned from our holiday in Morocco, which ended with a 3 night stay at Riyad Al Moussika. We had a fantastic stay, the hotel was really amazing, authentically Moroccan, the staff lovely and the food out of this world. The breakfast was one of the best we have ever had, but on our last night we ate in the restaurant of the riad which was wonderful. The staff was great with our small kid as well and it made an unforgettable finish to our holiday.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

Riyad Al Moussika was our first choice in Marrakech but I am very glad we stayed here. It exceeded all of our expectations. We had just come from a 5 star hotel in Fez and wanted a riad experience and I think this riad was better value, service and room than our previous hotel. The staff was helpful and went out of their way to ensure that we enjoyed our stay and the food is to die for. Bravo chef Khalid !. It’s a charming and real Moroccan riad hotel with personalized service in a great location close to the main square of the old medina, Jama El Fna making it easy for your sightseeing.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

We've been to Marrakech for 3 new-years and previously stayed in modern Riads in the medina. This is very different to the "cool" surroundings of those newly refurbished Riads like El Fenn or Maison MK and a million miles away from the new hotels in Gueliz . This Riad was originally a Palace and it shows, the interior is beautiful, very traditional, wooden carved doors, ceillings and pannels, you really feel like you're spending time in part of history here. If you want something genuinely Morroccan, this is for you. The walk to the Riad from Jemaa el Fna (the big square) is fantastic, through the tiny alleyways packed with traders. The Riad is very, very quiet almost silent most of the time, even around breakfast and lunch there were only a couple of other guests. So relaxing. They'll The food is superb... breakfast is the usual Moroccan banquet with lunch being a different country's dish each day. We had Italian, French, Greek and Moroccan. As with other Riads there's no menu, but its all fantastic. On the negative side a major drawback to us was the absence of the traditional enormous double ended baths these Riads' are renowned for, but to be fair we booked quite late and ended up with the smallest room. Also there's no bar to hang out in (which we missed) , but the terrace is lovely with plenty of protection from the wind, so for an Englishman, way hot enough for sunbathing in December! No comm's to the kitchen though (other Riads have an electronic bell) so the order of another beer was a 2 story flight of stairs trek to find a member of staff, but its a small drawback. This Riads crowing glory is the service. If you want to feel like Royalty in the surroundings of a palace, stay here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

Riad Al Moussika would be one of the best Hotel experiences my husband and I have ever experienced. The accommodation, the food the attention to detail are of the highest standard. Breakfast is fabulous and the lunches are to die for. Tours are organised as are restaurant reservations and transport is booked to pick you up all with no fuss.
It is short easy walk to the square and it is safe by day and night.

We stayed in the Green room and had access to the rooftop garden, when we go back to Marrakech we will not even bother to look at other accommodation as we dont believe that it could compare.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riyad Al Moussika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riyad Al Moussika

Address: 62 Derb Boutouil | Kennaria, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#125 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riyad Al Moussika 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Moussika - For comfort, style and refinement. THE Riad experience in Marrakech! Situated in the ancient medina of Marrakech, five minutes walk from place Jemaa El Fna, the Riyad was once one of the residences of the former Pasha of Marrakech, Thami El Glaoui, and has been refurbished to a very high standard in the Andalucian style. One of the gates of Riyad Al Moussika opens on to a garden with old cypress trees soaring to the sky, a huge bougainvillea climbing across the pergolas, a swimming pool, in the centre or, more precisely, an Andalucian basin thirteen meters long, tiled with a mosaic carpet design. Here water falls from a white Carrara marble fountain to the songs of numerous small birds creating an idyllic scenario, in spite of being in the heart of central medina. A fireplace gives the winter evenings a cosy atmosphere, as do the impressive modern paintings, carpets, sofas and armchairs. There is a hi-fi system and an art deco Pleyel grand piano perfectly tuned for the pleasure of the guests. The Turkish bath or hammam in white marble with a relax room where, on request, a professional masseur can take care of the guests. There is a unique view of the medina and the Atlas Mountains from the two terraces that are sheltered partially with wooden pergolas and surrounded by large terracotta flower vases. Tables, comfortable armchairs with cushions and teak chaises-long allow guests to request breakfast and candle lit dinner, as well as to sunbathe during the day. On one of the terraces there is a pavilion with Moroccan sofas, cushions and lamps should some of the guests prefer a more intimate space. The resident Chef, Grand Diploma Cordon Bleu, has devoted his life to gastronomy and invites lovers of fine dining to experience his repertoire of Moroccan, Italian and French cuisine at the haute Cuisine riyad's Restaurant PEPE NERO. There are 5 double bedrooms, all with en-suite bathroom. All rooms have air-conditioning / heating system, telephone with external line, television with the major satellite channels (BBC, CNN etc.), internet wireless connection is available and DVD in the music room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Prestigia, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Riyad Al Moussika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riyad Al Moussika Marrakech
Riyad Al Moussika Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riyad Al Moussika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.