We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything more than perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riyad Al Moussika

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riyad Al Moussika
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   62 Derb Boutouil | Kennaria, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Everything more than perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

This was a present trip for my husband, for his 40th birthday. Riad Al Moussika had excellent reviews, but everything we could have expected was exceeded. The hotel is interesting with each room different decor and individual. It also has a perfect and safe location in the heart of the medina.

The staff were the most friendly and helpful I have ever come across, genuinely lovely boys. The food in the hotel is also excellent and a lovely touch that the chef always wants to know how you enjoyed the meal. He is then genuinely pleased if you enjoyed the food. There are numerous little touches that make the stay special (great restaurants booked and recommended, free Moroccan patisserie with drinks, free airport shuttle, etc), far too many to list. Do not forget to have a massage and hammam! Unique experience!

Staying in a hotel like this makes me want to avoid big chains in future, I just wonder if there are other boutique hotels out there as good as this. The entire holiday was wonderful, from the hotel, the food, the friendly Moroccan people and the beautiful Marrakesh.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    23
    5
    8
    0
See reviews for
33
278
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

We have just returned from our holiday in Morocco, which ended with a 3 night stay at Riyad Al Moussika. We had a fantastic stay, the hotel was really amazing, authentically Moroccan, the staff lovely and the food out of this world. The breakfast was one of the best we have ever had, but on our last night we ate in the restaurant of the riad which was wonderful. The staff was great with our small kid as well and it made an unforgettable finish to our holiday.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

Riyad Al Moussika was our first choice in Marrakech but I am very glad we stayed here. It exceeded all of our expectations. We had just come from a 5 star hotel in Fez and wanted a riad experience and I think this riad was better value, service and room than our previous hotel. The staff was helpful and went out of their way to ensure that we enjoyed our stay and the food is to die for. Bravo chef Khalid !. It’s a charming and real Moroccan riad hotel with personalized service in a great location close to the main square of the old medina, Jama El Fna making it easy for your sightseeing.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

We've been to Marrakech for 3 new-years and previously stayed in modern Riads in the medina. This is very different to the "cool" surroundings of those newly refurbished Riads like El Fenn or Maison MK and a million miles away from the new hotels in Gueliz . This Riad was originally a Palace and it shows, the interior is beautiful, very traditional, wooden carved doors, ceillings and pannels, you really feel like you're spending time in part of history here. If you want something genuinely Morroccan, this is for you. The walk to the Riad from Jemaa el Fna (the big square) is fantastic, through the tiny alleyways packed with traders. The Riad is very, very quiet almost silent most of the time, even around breakfast and lunch there were only a couple of other guests. So relaxing. They'll The food is superb... breakfast is the usual Moroccan banquet with lunch being a different country's dish each day. We had Italian, French, Greek and Moroccan. As with other Riads there's no menu, but its all fantastic. On the negative side a major drawback to us was the absence of the traditional enormous double ended baths these Riads' are renowned for, but to be fair we booked quite late and ended up with the smallest room. Also there's no bar to hang out in (which we missed) , but the terrace is lovely with plenty of protection from the wind, so for an Englishman, way hot enough for sunbathing in December! No comm's to the kitchen though (other Riads have an electronic bell) so the order of another beer was a 2 story flight of stairs trek to find a member of staff, but its a small drawback. This Riads crowing glory is the service. If you want to feel like Royalty in the surroundings of a palace, stay here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

Riad Al Moussika would be one of the best Hotel experiences my husband and I have ever experienced. The accommodation, the food the attention to detail are of the highest standard. Breakfast is fabulous and the lunches are to die for. Tours are organised as are restaurant reservations and transport is booked to pick you up all with no fuss.
It is short easy walk to the square and it is safe by day and night.

We stayed in the Green room and had access to the rooftop garden, when we go back to Marrakech we will not even bother to look at other accommodation as we dont believe that it could compare.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, WA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

From the moment we stepped through the giant front door into the entry and saw the fountain filled with red roses, we knew we were in a magical place. Our luxurious room, the excellent food, and the supreme hospitality of Hassan Id Brahim and his staff was beyond what we'd imaginined it would be. We chose Riyad because it is non-smoking and we couldn't have picked a better Riyad in all of Marrakech. The Moroccan lunches were fabulous as well as the pasta dinners. We loved the Moroccan wine. Hassan took a great deal of time to arrange sightseeing and guides for us, directed us to interesting spots, and even sent a staff person to buy a tagine for us (and wrapped it in bubble wrap to take home). We can't recommend this Riyad high enough--everything was perfect!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

The Riyad Al Moussika was once home to an extremely wealthy Moroccan pasha, but has since been restored and converted into a riyad. As noted in other reviews, it is very well-located near the Jemaa Al-Fna. The interior of the riyad was very beautiful - some elements of the intricate ceilings and wall designs in our room actually resembled those found in some of the monuments and palaces we visited. We stayed in the green room, a suite double deluxe room for one week.

The manager of the hotel (not the owner named "Giovanni" mentioned in other reviews) took pride in ensuring our experience in the hotel and Marrakech in general went well - he told us several times to consider the riyad our 'home.' Breakfast and lunch in the riyad tailored to our dietary restrictions, Moroccan mint tea and pastries whenever we liked, and transportation to and from the airport were all included in the cost of our stay. The staff was also very courteous and eager to please.

We ultimately chose to stay in a riyad to get a truer taste of Morocco and were not disappointed. That being said, there are some trade-offs with staying in a riyad as opposed to a typical hotel. For example, wireless internet, though included in the price of our stay, was not within range of our actual room so we had to go outside or to the riyad office to use internet - unlikely to happen in a hotel. Additionally, almost immediately outside the riyad door, we were exposed to the annoying locals trying to extort money from us for "helping" us with directions (i.e. declaring the street we were walking toward was "closed" and offering to provide an alternate route - for a fee). This happens everywhere in Morocco and is not the fault of the riyad, but was annoying to face right outside the door.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay in a true Moroccan riyad. Though it was not cheap, we felt that there was a lot included, making it more than worth the price we paid.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#6 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,334 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#4 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 669 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#27 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#2 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,077 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#14 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,120 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riyad Al Moussika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riyad Al Moussika

Address: 62 Derb Boutouil | Kennaria, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#154 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riyad Al Moussika 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Moussika - For comfort, style and refinement. THE Riad experience in Marrakech! Situated in the ancient medina of Marrakech, five minutes walk from place Jemaa El Fna, the Riyad was once one of the residences of the former Pasha of Marrakech, Thami El Glaoui, and has been refurbished to a very high standard in the Andalucian style. One of the gates of Riyad Al Moussika opens on to a garden with old cypress trees soaring to the sky, a huge bougainvillea climbing across the pergolas, a swimming pool, in the centre or, more precisely, an Andalucian basin thirteen meters long, tiled with a mosaic carpet design. Here water falls from a white Carrara marble fountain to the songs of numerous small birds creating an idyllic scenario, in spite of being in the heart of central medina. A fireplace gives the winter evenings a cosy atmosphere, as do the impressive modern paintings, carpets, sofas and armchairs. There is a hi-fi system and an art deco Pleyel grand piano perfectly tuned for the pleasure of the guests. The Turkish bath or hammam in white marble with a relax room where, on request, a professional masseur can take care of the guests. There is a unique view of the medina and the Atlas Mountains from the two terraces that are sheltered partially with wooden pergolas and surrounded by large terracotta flower vases. Tables, comfortable armchairs with cushions and teak chaises-long allow guests to request breakfast and candle lit dinner, as well as to sunbathe during the day. On one of the terraces there is a pavilion with Moroccan sofas, cushions and lamps should some of the guests prefer a more intimate space. The resident Chef, Grand Diploma Cordon Bleu, has devoted his life to gastronomy and invites lovers of fine dining to experience his repertoire of Moroccan, Italian and French cuisine at the haute Cuisine riyad's Restaurant PEPE NERO. There are 4 double bedrooms, all with en-suite bathroom. All rooms have air-conditioning / heating system, telephone with external line, television with the major satellite channels (BBC, CNN etc.), Internet wireless connection is available and DVD in the music room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Riyad Al Moussika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riyad Al Moussika Marrakech
Riyad Al Moussika Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riyad Al Moussika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.