We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A central clean Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar el Souk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dar el Souk to your Saves list
Dar el Souk
56 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Ked, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #236 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A central clean Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

We had 4 night in Dar el Souk with our daughter. We had asked for a car to pick us up from Casablanca and it was waiting on our arrival.
Our daughter had a car waiting in Marrakech air[port for her.
The breakfast was very nice,plenty to start the day,including fruit salad, which was the only Riad that gave us this while we travelled Morocco.
The owner Madeline or daughter Maddie makes a point to come and see you, and helps you with directions or trips, they are English and know the place very well, so found there advice helpful.
The Riad rooms were abit different from other Riads as the room all had a private verandah or little sitting area. Plus a lovely roof garden.
The only negative thing I could say was the morning we left we asked the boy the night before if we could have a 7.30 breakfast, we gave him a tip to encourage him, but disappointingly he didn't wake up to make it for us. We should of ask Maddie as I think she would of arranged this for us.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    43
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
40
106
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
xxx
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

We stayed at Dar el Souk for the second time (first review) during the February half term and despite the somewhat wet weather we had a fabulous time.

Dar el Souk is in a quiet location not far from Place Jemaa el-Fna and has the feel of a colonial building and is full of many interesting rooms and sitting areas.

Our 'fully-functioning' room was wonderful and comfortable and had (like most) its own outside seating area where we ate our plentiful breakfast.

We’ve stayed in countless hotels and riads in Marrakech and have found that if you want a personal, friendly and authentic experience, then a riad is the place to stay. But if you want anonymity and to not have to talk to your fellow guests, then go to a soulless hivernage hotel. Dar el Souk was no exception with helpful staff and friendly guests.

Five out of five to Maddie, the staff and the wonderful Dar el Souk!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

We stayed at Dar el Souk for a long weekend at the end of February. The trip was a surprise for me so I had no idea what to expect, but the hotel is fabulous.

We arrived in the evening, and the owner, Maddy, had arranged our taxi from the airport, and a "barrow man" to meet up from the taxi and cart our suitcases through the streets to the hotel, which was really helpful, as although the hotel is only perhaps five minutes walk from the taxi rank, it would not be an easy walk with a suitcase!

We were met by the friendly staff, and shown to our rooms (helping us with our luggage, unlike one reviewer mentioned). The rooms we had were more than adequate in space, although not large, and beautifully decorated.

We were given easy to follow directions to the main square on the first night. It is no more than ten minutes walk away, although the walk does take longer, as you inevitably end up pausing at each little shop to admire the metalwork and ceramics along the way.

Maddy met us in the morning after breakfast and gave us a welcome briefing, which was tremendously helpful. She told us about good restaurants in the area, and interesting things to do that we might have missed, as they were not necessarily in the guidebooks (the anthropology museum is excellent).

The people in Marrakech were very friendly and helpful towards us (four English women) and we felt perfectly safe at all times.

All in all, I would very highly recommend the beautifully decorated and friendly Dar el Souk, and wouldbe happy to return on a weekly basis!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

All I can say is that if you want to stay near all the attractions yet experience authenic hospitality then look no further. The riad is just great, rustic a little tired in places yet clean and the staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. The food fantastic, the best meal we had during our stay and the breakfasts are just lovely. We had a lovely welcome from Madi who explained where to go and what to see. There were 12 of us so we more or less had the whole riad to ourselves and it was just great, I would definately return and have no hesitation in recommending Dar el Souk. Transport to and from airport all arranged as well and added to riad bill so no hassle there either. We had a great few days and have lots of lovely memories.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

This Riad is generally pleasant and I would have probably given it a decent review if I hadn't been badly scalded by the near boiling water which came spurting out of the broken shower hose onto my arm and leg. Five days on and a third of my arm is still bright red and blotchy - looks terrible. It was very painful for hours after the event.

Madelaine (very charming, superficially, and helpful when it came to giving advice and directions etc.) seemed very concerned and embarrased that this had happened and offered to pay for some cream from the pharmacy. I said it wasn't necesary.

More to the point.......... I waited until the end of my stay to see if she would perhaps offer some sort of a gesture for my horrible and unsightly injury. I had to wear long sleeves for the rest of my holiday. Nothing of the sort materialised. An offer to waive the cost of the meal we bought or perhaps a night's free stay would have been fair in my opinion - if not letting her off the hook largely. She's very very lucky I'm not the sort to have taken this matter further.

The showers were unreliable and unpredictable, the breakfasts reasonable but haphazard. Reda, the boy who works there, however, is a darling, both sweet and very helpful.

Madelaine needs to take responsibility for her business and not blame her staff for mishaps which are ultimately the responsibility of the owner. I'm very disappointed by her attitude and, what I suspect, 'fake' concern.

Finally, we all paid our bill in full before we left (she was there when we did so). Not a glimmer of any concession came from her direction. I am now feeling angry at her lack of material response. For this reason I will not be staying at Dar el Souk should I come back to Marrakech. The question remains. Is Madelaine as charming as she appears to be?

My one regret is that we had no cash left to tip Reda 'the boy' as she called him. Perhaps if you read this Madelaine you will do so on my behalf (generously please if you can manage it).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

The riad was overpriced, rooms not like pics and they were very humid and furniture was old and of cheap quality, you can stay in better riad for the same price

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

Arrived on the 7th April, having chosen this Riad heavily influenced by some very positive reviews. It was extermely disappointing. It looks great on-line via the photos, but it's tired and a weary building. The furniture and fittings are worn and faded. You carry your own baggage up several flights of stairs on arrival, which seemed odd given the proportion of able bodied male staff around. The rooms are ample, but the toiletries are inadequate and cheap/basic. The towels are thin, greying (despite purporting to be white) albeit clean. It's as if it's been set up with a flourish and little or no investment since.
The icing on the cake was being woken on our 1st morning by rooftop building work in the building next door @ 6.45 a.m. onwards. Persistent hammering went on for the next three hours as we packed up and left. We were asked to stay with the offer of two free meals and wine, not ungenerous, but wasn't going to compenaste for thta degree of disturbance.
On the previous evening we sat on the rooftop terrace having a 'romantic' dinner. We sat on plastic cushions covered with drab thin fading geen towels. Again a reflection ona klack of investment.
We moved to the Riad Kaiss nearby,which was dearer, but altogether much more genuinely being that which it suggested it was.
I think Marrakech is exciting and vibrant, but only worthy of a few days stay, It suffers generally from being very over-priced for accommodation and restaurant food, which is all a bit samey. There is much less hassle than in Egypt by comparison fom stall holders and touting guides. GFlad we went, won't rush to rteurn....p.s. don't fly Royal Air Maroc...totally unrelaible and dull.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darelsouk, Owner at Dar el Souk, responded to this review, May 25, 2010
We would like to apologise deeply for the experience that this guest seems to have had with us. Marrakech has the effect of shortening the lifespan of towels and soft furnishings in between intense sunshine and industrial laundries, and while all the linens are only a year old and all the furniture 3 years old, we are still closing in July for a full refit. While we do see the reviewers point on some issues and had plans to close in the summer well before reading this, we would equally suggest that in arriving late at night and leaving early the next morning, he had neither the opportunity nor perhaps the inclination to experience what a stay with us is really about – a home from home in the maelstrom of Marrakech. It strikes us as ironic that when this review was posted, we had 3 separate couples on a return visit to us after having enjoyed themselves so immensely the first time around, as is evidenced by the hundreds of warm and glowing reviews. The work next door was certainly not our fault – riads are not stand alone properties on acres of grounds but are nestled in the heart of the medina, providing the authenticity that most of our guests seek and if another property does some work from time to time (very rarely I may add), that is well beyond our control. All in all, we feel that this reviewer did not take the opportunity to enjoy our warmth and hospitality, and while we will indeed be replacing much of the furniture shortly, we would respectfully point prospective guests to the hundreds of positive reviews below
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar el Souk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar el Souk

Address: 56 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Ked, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dar el Souk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar El Souk Marrakech
Dar El Souk Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar el Souk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.