We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite disappointed, unfortunately.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dar el Souk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dar el Souk to your Saves list
Dar el Souk
56 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Kedim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #237 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
“Quite disappointed, unfortunately.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for the last 2 days of our stay in Morocco and were disappointed by the lack of hospitality that we had come to expect from the riads and kasbahs that we had previously stayed in. The rooms were clean and tidy but not as nicely decorated as some of the other riads. We also found that the owners only arrived each morning for a few hours before leaving for the day so there was no one to greet us or give any advice or maps etc. as the others had. There is nothing wrong with this riad as far as hotel accommodation goes but if you want a more personal service, which is something you can expect from most riads in Marrakech, then I suggest you look to some of the other smaller more personable ones.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    48
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
47
110
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

Garry and Shirley had a fab time at Dar el Souk, Maddy (Mother) helped us to make our stay more enjoyable. with it being our first time in Marrakech Maddy gave us some useful tips on where to go, what to avoid etc... I was celebrating my 40th birthday and was recommended Jad Mahal restaurant - what a magical place, a little bit more money but it was a celebration and worth every penny.
WE would like to thank the staff who went out o their way to make our stay relaxing.
Dar el Souk provided wine and not many places do, this was a great treat having a glass or two of wine on the beautiful roof terrace.
Maddy is a very stunning lady who looks a lot like Honour Blackman - very elegant !!
Thank you - Shirley and Garry

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimbledon, London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

16 friends got together for a 40th birthday and occupied the entire riad. The riad was very well presented and the rooms were clean and welcoming. The owner Madeline made us all feel very welcome and checked daily that everything was alright. We had a great meal in the riad on the first night and the breakfasts were generous and very tasty. There are lots of seating areas dotted around the riad to relax in, a plunge pool and a roof sun terrace. It was an ideal place to spend quality time with friends. I would definately recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

This is a lovely riad in a great location. The rooms were excellent and there were serveral cosy outdoor areas to sit. The host and staff were very wlecoming and the food we had was excellent. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faded grandeur on the Avon.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

We visited Dar El Souk with a group of friends to celebrate a 40th birthday. We were fortunate to hire the entire Riad between us and had a great time. Madelaine welcomed us wonderfully, and is a born hostess. We followed much of her advice and without exception were not disappointed.

During our stay in Marrakech we ate at several of the best restaurants, but came to the conclusion that the best food in town is in fact that on offer at Dar El Souk. It really was fantastic!

Madelaine and her team have created a charming oasis in the hussle and bussle of Marrakech and I recommend you visit them soon.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

Wonderful place. Great rooms, helpful staff and fantastic food.

Difficult to find fault.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

I don´t usually bother writing reviews but I had to do so with this hotel. I stayed at Dar el Souk with my boyfriend and absolutely loved it. Madeline is incredibly nice and helpful, she made our stay in Marrakech unforgettable. Our room was beautifully decorated and had a fantastic shower. Here, you can enjoy a bit of peace and tranquility after a busy day in the Souks. 100% Recommend this Riad.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#7 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#26 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#6 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#1 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,064 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#114 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar el Souk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar el Souk

Address: 56 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Kedim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Dar el Souk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar El Souk Marrakech
Dar El Souk Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar el Souk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.