We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad in the heart of Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar el Souk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dar el Souk to your Saves list
Dar el Souk
56 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Ked, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #236 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Riad in the heart of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Wow, your jaw just drops when you step inside this Riad. We were met, as promised, at the airport, driven straight into the old town where we were met by Abdul and the chariot handler, and led to Dar el Souk. It's absolutely beautiful and you are made very welcome by everyone who works there. All the staff are lovely and very helpful in giving you advice, making excursion arrangements (we visited the Atlas Mountains one day) and making dinner reservations for you. Nothing is too much trouble.
It really is a peaceful retreat when the madness of the souks and the squares become too much. The call to prayer can easily be heard on the roof terrace; it's very emotive.
If/when we return, we will definitely stay here again. We met someone else who'd booked a different Riad and had had to change to another one, so we definitely recommend Dar el Souk.
Just one word of warning, be wary of anyone who greets you like a long lost friend outside the Riad and says they work there - if you don't recognise them, don't do what we do and get led completely astray and follow them to various shops and co-operatives :)

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor, had no issues with it at all - can't believe the value of it comp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    43
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
40
106
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We arrived quite late and were welcomed with peppermint tea.T he rooms were adequate and beds extremely comfortable.
The decor was great - full of character
It is set on several levels and we chose to have breakfast on the terrace which was quiet hot and exquisite.
We opted for dinner at the Riad in the second night as my daughter was rather nervous about venturing out again as it can be quite intimidating. The tangine was tasty but quite dry - something we found throughout everywhere in Morocco.

The Riad is great - the only thing is that noise travels and you have someone noisy making a call at 1 am in the next door room you can hear all
We enjoyed it though!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Well we were off again on a last minute three night break as my wife had a week between positions when here charity was absorbed by NHS. So we chose Dar el Souk straight out of Booking.com.

We were interested to make the mist of such a short break so a riad was our first choice. We didn't want pampered lixury and an antiseptic aporoach to finding the real Marrakesh either. Dar el Souk just doesn't disappoint in anything. Right in the medina but quiet and peaceful attentive staff and the chance do do what you want.
A ten out of ten break in every department for the "explorer" in you!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Stayed here in December 2013. The Dar El Souk is a beautifully decorated riad - it feels both elaborate and homely and was a really peaceful place to relax after busy days exploring. I LOVED the way the rooms were furnished and can't believe how quiet it was inside the riad considering how close it is to the square and the craziness of Marrakech!
Abdul met us on arrival and was really helpful in providing any information needed. The breakfasts were lovely too and the day room / living room area was a really nice place to relax and chat to other guests. If I go back to Marrakech I will definitely stay here again, it was perfect!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

I thought this Riad had a very homely atmosphere about it - lovely warm colours to its decor with a charming layout - nice & quiet but with a gentle discreet buzz - staff very polite & attentive - breakfast & dinners were exceptionally good! - Maddi the owner & her daughter Maddo were most helpfull & went the extra mile to advise & organise trips & recommend suitable restaurants!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a small quiet riad, with a traditional feel, to use as a base to explore the city. Dar El Souk had everything we needed - and more!

The riad is very well maintained, and the pictures you see on the website are a true reflection of the standard of the property. The riad is set out in such a way that there are private seating areas alongside each of the 5 rooms and a communal lounge in which you can make yourself very comfortable for breakfast or dinner, or just to relax and read.

The roof terrace was a super place to sit and eat breakfast in the sunshine each morning and the breakfast was superb! A mixture of pancakes, bread and jam, eggs, pastries, and freshly squeezed orange juice set us up for every day of exploring the city.

We ate dinner at the riad on the first night, which was nice to take the pressure off having to find somewhere. The food was great, traditional Moroccan cooking - and lots of it!

The best thing we found about this riad was the service from the staff. With just a few rooms to look after, we felt that we had a very personal service through the whole of our stay. Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff, who are friendly and polite, and happy to help with anything we asked, from directions, to booking excursions, to helping us print missing boarding cards, booking taxi's and arranging chariots to carry our bags.

The riad is ideally placed on the middle of a Main Street between the large Jemaa square and the old palace, so is an ideal spot for starting your walks around the city and the souks. We walked though a lot of hustle and bustle to get to the riad, which is accessible only on foot, in the district of the city where cars are not permitted. After waking for 5 minutes or so, following our chariot (man with a trolley to transport our bags) down a few alleyways, we arrived and found the road to be quiet and relaxing, very close to the hustle and bustle but far enough away to have peace and quiet.

Madi and her team looked after us thoroughly, and made us laugh along the way too. I recommend this to anyone looking for a comfortable stay in the city.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

We had a fabulous stay at Dar El Souk. The riad arranged a driver and luggage carrier to come and pick us up from the airport and drop us off at the riad( a recommended arrangement ).

We were warmly welcomed by Abdullah who showed us to our room which was upgraded to a larger room at no extra cost. This made our stay extra special.

The breakfast every morning was fantastic and we had the option to have it at various locations throughout the riad.

The rooms were cleaned and towels changed every day, and the staff were so friendly and helpful.

On the first morning one of the owners, Ian, came to welcome us and show us on the map the nice places to visit and eat at.

The communication via e-mail prior to the visit was really efficient and helpful.

The location of Dar el Souk is about 5-10 minutes away from jemaa el-fna (the main square) however the little street it is on was very quiet allowing a peaceful night sleep.

We would highly recommend a stay in dar el souk, and we would like to thank Abdullah, Iman and Fatima for making our first time in Maraketch worth remembering.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar el Souk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar el Souk

Address: 56 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Ked, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dar el Souk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar El Souk Marrakech
Dar El Souk Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar el Souk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.