We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in a quiet alley” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar el Souk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dar el Souk to your Saves list
Dar el Souk
56 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Ked, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #236 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gem in a quiet alley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Good email communication before our stay and a great welcome on arrival. Our room was perfect - Saghir was a wing of the 2nd floor with different areas, indoors and out - all in jewel colours. The room had heaters for the cold, and a sunny patio for the warm. The bed was huge.
Breakfast was delicious, and the lunch we had on arrival was lovely too - one of the best meals we had during our stay. We asked the riad to arrange our transfer from the airport and that was money well spent - it couldn't have been smoother or easier. Taxis are not cheap in Morrocco and this bypassed all the hagglimng. Thoroughly recommend this riad.

Room Tip: Saghir - fab and lots of different areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    43
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
40
106
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed the week of 18 Jan. This was an excellent Riad, well run and immaculate. The owner is English and was most welcoming and offed us some very welcome guidance on where to go and which restaurants were good. Very well received. The day to day running of the Riad is done by her employees and I have to say Abdul and the ladies were outstanding. Nothing was too much trouble for them. If you are going to Marrakech this hotel is in a perfect location within the Medina.
Totally recommended for a perfect stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We took our trip to Marrakesh just before Christmas. We wanted to escape the festive build up for a few days and Marrakesh was the perfect spot.

We stayed 4 nights at Riad Dar El Souk and i wish we booked longer. It was fantastic. The staff are lovely Madi the hostess was fantastic and so helpful giving us all the top tips on where to go and booking us our Hammam which was wonderful and restaurants for us.

I loved the fact there was a working fireplace which was so nice on a chilly night.

The location is fab being right next to the Jamel fna squar and a short walk to the palace and the kasbah.

The breakfast is amazing! A wonderful assortment of pancakes and traditional Morrocan bread. My favorite was the yogurt and pomegranates. Ive tried to recreate this at home but it's not as good maybe it's because i need the roof top terrace sunshine to help it taste better which was one of my highlights of the holiday. I never felt so looked after and relaxed. The rooms were lovely and very clean with your own private terrace place to sit and read books or just snooze away the stress.

We were very sad to leave but we definitely return to Dar El Souk next time we plan a trip back to Marrakesh.

Hannah and Blue x

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

The riad is very nice, and the staff as well. Nevertheless we have a few remarks which other customers planning to stay at dar el souk should be aware of...
- during the winter Marrakech is very cold during the night and the heating system of our room was not enought at all to keep a confortable temperature, so the room was FREEZING after sunset!
- the staff propose to organize transferts from/to the airport at the rate of 15€ each while you can EASILY find lots of regular taxis which will charge only 7€ !!!!!!! Ok, It is not a lot of money, but...
- we reserved the room through bookimg.com where rates are indicated without VAT (10%) and without credit card commissions (4.5%), so get ready to pay 15% MORE than expected!!!

Since there are so many nice riads in marrakech, have a look around before booking dar el souk...

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darelsouk, Owner at Dar el Souk, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments which are always appreciated and always
taken under advisement.

With regard to your bill. On the Booking.com confirmation it states
that 10% VAT/TVA is included. On our bill it says 'Dont TVA 10%' -
which means that it includes 10% Vat - it doesn't mean that the 10%
has been added. This is for Moroccan accountancy purposes and is
common practise with ALL Riads and Hotels in Marrakech. You were not
charged extra.

On our follow up confirmation, we invited you to pay cash or by card
but that a charge of 4.5% would be added for card payments. We took
care to translate this into Italian for you so there would be no
misunderstanding.

As a small business trying to keep prices as low as possible, we do
add a supplement for card payments, but we make sure to tell our
guests well in advance in their native language so misunderstandings such as this, where you feel unfairly treated and we are having to
publicly defend our honesty don't happen.

We charge 15 Euros per airport transfer. It eliminates any problems in
locating the riad for new arrivals who may otherwise find themselves
taken on a frustrating and expensive tour of the city. Our drivers will wait for any delays for no extra charge and the fact that they
will take you straight to the riad is generally appreciated after a
day travelling. I personally get asked for 25 Euros when I try to get
a taxi at the airport and most riads charge upwards of 20 Euros for this
service.

We very much regret the fact that you were not warm enough in your
room despite a working fireplace and an air conditioning unit, which doubles up as a heater. Marrakech can be chilly at night, but we have always found that the A/C reversible heater and in the room you stayed in, a fireplace usually suffices very well. We apologise if that was not the case in your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location, all staff helpful and friendly. Food was excellent at Riad but overpriced.they do have wine though (rare!) which was great to enjoy with dinner and reasonable! Wifi strong in common areas but patchy in rooms which is a shame. Clean with great hot showers and lots of blankets and good heater for when it was chilly at night. We are going back for our final night in Morocco - would recommend!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Very peaceful place yet only minutes walk from the madness of the main square and souks to the north and to the only proper bar in the Medina (Kosibar) to the south, where you could also pick up a taxi or red tour bus.

Madi arranged everything for us including airport transfers and the highlight of our visit - a day trip to the High Atlas mountains with a good English speaking driver and mountain guide with lunch in Berber village. Also gave us lots of useful local information and advice on arrival.

The staff were all very welcoming and helpful with Abdul the night manager very helpful and had fluent English and Imane, the day manager very welcoming and efficient. We had very nice breakfast with local fruit (loved the pomegranates with yoghurt) served wherever we wanted - if warm enough on the top terrace in the sun - we were there in November and the temperature very pleasant ,cool in the mornings/evenings but never cold.

The Riad is very nicely appointed in traditional Moroccan style and is great value for the location.

I wasn't on a golf trip but I did have a game of golf at the Royal Marrakech club - only a short taxi ride away and the Riad would be a good base for a golf/sightseeing trip

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful location in the medina, just minutes from the main square and also only a short walk to taxis. Beautifully decorated in Morrocan style. Staying here in November it was very cool in the evenings but the heater in our room kept us very cosy! Breakfast was good with fresh fruit, pancakes, eggs and bread etc. and they would serve it to you wherever you wanted - our favourite was on the roof terrace overlooking the rooftops!
Maddie and her team were very knowledgable about things to do and see and you could book excursions with them.
We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Marrakech!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar el Souk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar el Souk

Address: 56 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Ked, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dar el Souk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar El Souk Marrakech
Dar El Souk Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar el Souk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.