We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar el Souk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dar el Souk to your Saves list
Dar el Souk
56 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Kedim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #163 of 1,149 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Paul MN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Helpful Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Dar el Souk is centrally located to the sites of Marrakech. The staff was very helpful and made our stay very comfortable. Maddie helped us with all the logistics of arriving, departing and arranging our tours. The food was wonderful! Really enjoyed nights up on the rooftop terrace. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1LP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were three females travelling alone but felt completely safe travelling to and from the Riad. Located just 5-10 min walk the Jemaa al Fna square and souks, we really enjoyed the daily walks to and from. We were warmly welcomed by Madi who was so helpful with practical tips for getting around town, and taken care of by Emaan and Hanan the girls during the day, and Abdul in the evening - if we needed anything they were on hand! The riad itself is beautiful and we had a twin room on the second floor with a shared bathroom, which was just right for us. The riad is situated along an alley with other riads and residential homes, which may at first seem quiet but stay a day or so and you'll get to know who's who. Would definitely recommend to family and friends to stay here, and given the opportunity we'd love to go back. Thank you Madi and your team!

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor for best wifi access, and if you're more than 3 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iffat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Riad is beautiful and our room was very traditional which is exactly what we were looking for as we were only staying in Marrakech for three days and wanted to make sure that we really felt like we were staying in Marrakech 24/7 rather than a faceless hotel. The staff were fantastic, very helpful giving us tips for things to do and very attentive when it came to the serving of our food etc. On our first evening we opted to have an evening meal, which was a huge portion and vey tasty. We were particularly impressed that this meal was prepared for us specially, despite us arriving very late into the evening. Only negative is that the Riad has been operating for about 7 years and so things like the seating areas in the communal terrace area could do with updating, however other than that it was spot on and i would go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KDSw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Dar el Souk was a wonderful "oasis" for our week in Marrakech: Helpful, gracious staff, absolutely lovely decor, wonderful breakfasts, and incredibly helpful with information about the medina, city, and environs. They were able to find us an excellent guide, directions to a superb hammam/spa, great advice for touring, etc. Breakfasts (included), mint tea, and even dinner when we ordered it were delicious and beautifully served. Thank you for making us feel so at home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bagel1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The riad is nicely decorated. It is in close proximity to all the action yet far enough to be away from the hustle & bustle. We travelled as 2 girls, and the alley to the riad can be pretty secluded in the evening. It is quite safe, but probably precautions should still be taken.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor will give you best connection to the free WIFI :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winnielaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here at the start and end of our holiday, really loved both times specially as we had a chance to experience different rooms, both lovely. , opted for dinner on each occasions which was delicious and more than we could cope with. Staff were helpful and pleasant. If you have heavy luggage be prepared to haul them up very steep steps. Would definitely stay again, soon !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband & I spent a wonderful 4 nights here at this Riad situated in the Marrakech Medina, close to the El Bedi Palace. The staff were extremely welcoming, helpful & friendly. Abdul couldn't have done more to help us. We were lucky enough to be given a large bedroom on the 2nd floor with a lovely seating area right outside.
This Riad is such an interesting place to stay & in a great location.....close to the main points of interest & yet tucked away in a peaceful setting, & I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to family & friends.

Room Tip: Double bedroom on 2nd floor was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 542Barb54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#112 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#68 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Tresor
Hotel du Tresor
#198 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Eden
Riad Eden
#210 of 1,149 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 292 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Jona
Riad Jona
#92 of 1,149 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad L'Empire
Riad L'Empire
#408 of 1,149 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar el Souk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar el Souk

Address: 56 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Kedim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 1,149 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dar el Souk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar El Souk Marrakech
Dar El Souk Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing