We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dar el Souk wonderful, calm, charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar el Souk

Save Saved
You added Dar el Souk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dar el Souk
56 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Ked, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #228 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dar el Souk wonderful, calm, charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Dar el Souk was a wonderful "oasis" for our week in Marrakech: Helpful, gracious staff, absolutely lovely decor, wonderful breakfasts, and incredibly helpful with information about the medina, city, and environs. They were able to find us an excellent guide, directions to a superb hammam/spa, great advice for touring, etc. Breakfasts (included), mint tea, and even dinner when we ordered it were delicious and beautifully served. Thank you for making us feel so at home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    42
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
38
105
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The riad is nicely decorated. It is in close proximity to all the action yet far enough to be away from the hustle & bustle. We travelled as 2 girls, and the alley to the riad can be pretty secluded in the evening. It is quite safe, but probably precautions should still be taken.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor will give you best connection to the free WIFI :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here at the start and end of our holiday, really loved both times specially as we had a chance to experience different rooms, both lovely. , opted for dinner on each occasions which was delicious and more than we could cope with. Staff were helpful and pleasant. If you have heavy luggage be prepared to haul them up very steep steps. Would definitely stay again, soon !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband & I spent a wonderful 4 nights here at this Riad situated in the Marrakech Medina, close to the El Bedi Palace. The staff were extremely welcoming, helpful & friendly. Abdul couldn't have done more to help us. We were lucky enough to be given a large bedroom on the 2nd floor with a lovely seating area right outside.
This Riad is such an interesting place to stay & in a great location.....close to the main points of interest & yet tucked away in a peaceful setting, & I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to family & friends.

Room Tip: Double bedroom on 2nd floor was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This a fantastic riad. It is decorated and run with charm and style. We loved the characterful decor, and the outside seating area for the room was a great spot to unwind. The room was beautiful and light. The location is also fantastic - not far from Jamaa Elfna, and the surrounding souks yet nicely tucked away. It is also a lot easier to find than most riads in the medina. The leafy courtyard and beautiful roof top views are a definite plus, as is the general feeling of tranquillity at Dar el Souk. Above all we really appreciated that the staff here are extremely trustworthy, helpful and evidently very highly motivated. We couldn't recommend Dar el Souk enough.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed beautiful and individual in their character and charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is another one of those increasingly rare to find Marrakech riads, unspoilt and original. It is not minimalist nor pretentious nor one of those so called, hotel spas. It is relaxed and eclectic.

The staff are extremely polite without being obsequious and the owner, Madi, is very much like the riad itself, beautiful, chic and charming.

The location is ideal with parking just a few minutes away and Place Jemaa el Fna a direct, short walk through the Riad Zitoun souk. Wonderful.

This riad is most definitely one of the best you will find in Marrakech, for both value for money and for a delightful experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at Dar el Souk in Mid-April (great time for visiting Morocco in general) and found the place to be excellent in many ways. We were welcomed by owner Madi and introduced to the team that ran the riad, all very friendly and helpful. Madi sat down in the living room with us and served us mint tea and sweet treats and gave us some good suggestions on where to visit, where to eat and what not to invest our time in. We waited on the beautiful rooftop terrace for our room to be prepared due to an early flight. The terrace became where we had breakfast, caught a bit of sun or where we retreated to the shade after a day in the Medina. We stayed on the ground floor and found our room to be cool, quiet, spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated and adored the little quiet space each room had. We arranged a 3 course evening meal for our first night and was delighted we had. Breakfast was equally pleasant. The location, as we found out after a very short period was perfectly located for access to the souk, main square (5 min) and other sights, but far enough from the roads to allow an air of calm and tranquility!
We loved our stay at Dar el Souk. Thanks to Madi and her excellent team who made our stay in Marrakech so memorable!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar el Souk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar el Souk

Address: 56 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Ked, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Dar el Souk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar El Souk Marrakech
Dar El Souk Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar el Souk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.