We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful & Charming Riad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar el Souk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dar el Souk to your Saves list
Dar el Souk
56 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Kedim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #161 of 1,149 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful & Charming Riad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The riad is nicely decorated. It is in close proximity to all the action yet far enough to be away from the hustle & bustle. We travelled as 2 girls, and the alley to the riad can be pretty secluded in the evening. It is quite safe, but probably precautions should still be taken.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor will give you best connection to the free WIFI :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winnielaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here at the start and end of our holiday, really loved both times specially as we had a chance to experience different rooms, both lovely. , opted for dinner on each occasions which was delicious and more than we could cope with. Staff were helpful and pleasant. If you have heavy luggage be prepared to haul them up very steep steps. Would definitely stay again, soon !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband & I spent a wonderful 4 nights here at this Riad situated in the Marrakech Medina, close to the El Bedi Palace. The staff were extremely welcoming, helpful & friendly. Abdul couldn't have done more to help us. We were lucky enough to be given a large bedroom on the 2nd floor with a lovely seating area right outside.
This Riad is such an interesting place to stay & in a great location.....close to the main points of interest & yet tucked away in a peaceful setting, & I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to family & friends.

Room Tip: Double bedroom on 2nd floor was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 542Barb54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This a fantastic riad. It is decorated and run with charm and style. We loved the characterful decor, and the outside seating area for the room was a great spot to unwind. The room was beautiful and light. The location is also fantastic - not far from Jamaa Elfna, and the surrounding souks yet nicely tucked away. It is also a lot easier to find than most riads in the medina. The leafy courtyard and beautiful roof top views are a definite plus, as is the general feeling of tranquillity at Dar el Souk. Above all we really appreciated that the staff here are extremely trustworthy, helpful and evidently very highly motivated. We couldn't recommend Dar el Souk enough.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed beautiful and individual in their character and charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is another one of those increasingly rare to find Marrakech riads, unspoilt and original. It is not minimalist nor pretentious nor one of those so called, hotel spas. It is relaxed and eclectic.

The staff are extremely polite without being obsequious and the owner, Madi, is very much like the riad itself, beautiful, chic and charming.

The location is ideal with parking just a few minutes away and Place Jemaa el Fna a direct, short walk through the Riad Zitoun souk. Wonderful.

This riad is most definitely one of the best you will find in Marrakech, for both value for money and for a delightful experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SophiaMarrakech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at Dar el Souk in Mid-April (great time for visiting Morocco in general) and found the place to be excellent in many ways. We were welcomed by owner Madi and introduced to the team that ran the riad, all very friendly and helpful. Madi sat down in the living room with us and served us mint tea and sweet treats and gave us some good suggestions on where to visit, where to eat and what not to invest our time in. We waited on the beautiful rooftop terrace for our room to be prepared due to an early flight. The terrace became where we had breakfast, caught a bit of sun or where we retreated to the shade after a day in the Medina. We stayed on the ground floor and found our room to be cool, quiet, spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated and adored the little quiet space each room had. We arranged a 3 course evening meal for our first night and was delighted we had. Breakfast was equally pleasant. The location, as we found out after a very short period was perfectly located for access to the souk, main square (5 min) and other sights, but far enough from the roads to allow an air of calm and tranquility!
We loved our stay at Dar el Souk. Thanks to Madi and her excellent team who made our stay in Marrakech so memorable!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clare79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Dar el Souk is a beautifully done up riad with plenty of places to relax and soak up the Moroccan sunshine. Me and my friend were completely blown away by the service of the staff during our 5 day stay, who were always very kind, and ready to help.

The location of the riad is perfect distance away from the hustle and bustle of the main square (Jemaa el Fna) and the souks (about 5/10 mins walk), as well as from the main museums and attractions such as the Museum of Marrakech and old palaces, which were all within very reasonable walking distance.

You surely won't regret a stay at this Riad. It is a known fact that there are hundreds of riads around the same area, but I am positive that the wonderful staff, service and beauty of this riad is what will set it apart from the others, and all for a reasonable price.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 783 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#2 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,088 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#112 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#67 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#25 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 619 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Jona
Riad Jona
#92 of 1,149 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar el Souk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar el Souk

Address: 56 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Kedim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 1,149 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Dar el Souk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar El Souk Marrakech
Dar El Souk Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing