We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful, organic, bohemian Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar el Souk

Save Saved
You added Dar el Souk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar el Souk
56 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Ked, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #228 of 1,043 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Marrakech
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A beautiful, organic, bohemian Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is another one of those increasingly rare to find Marrakech riads, unspoilt and original. It is not minimalist nor pretentious nor one of those so called, hotel spas. It is relaxed and eclectic.

The staff are extremely polite without being obsequious and the owner, Madi, is very much like the riad itself, beautiful, chic and charming.

The location is ideal with parking just a few minutes away and Place Jemaa el Fna a direct, short walk through the Riad Zitoun souk. Wonderful.

This riad is most definitely one of the best you will find in Marrakech, for both value for money and for a delightful experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    177
    41
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
36
105
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at Dar el Souk in Mid-April (great time for visiting Morocco in general) and found the place to be excellent in many ways. We were welcomed by owner Madi and introduced to the team that ran the riad, all very friendly and helpful. Madi sat down in the living room with us and served us mint tea and sweet treats and gave us some good suggestions on where to visit, where to eat and what not to invest our time in. We waited on the beautiful rooftop terrace for our room to be prepared due to an early flight. The terrace became where we had breakfast, caught a bit of sun or where we retreated to the shade after a day in the Medina. We stayed on the ground floor and found our room to be cool, quiet, spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated and adored the little quiet space each room had. We arranged a 3 course evening meal for our first night and was delighted we had. Breakfast was equally pleasant. The location, as we found out after a very short period was perfectly located for access to the souk, main square (5 min) and other sights, but far enough from the roads to allow an air of calm and tranquility!
We loved our stay at Dar el Souk. Thanks to Madi and her excellent team who made our stay in Marrakech so memorable!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Dar el Souk is a beautifully done up riad with plenty of places to relax and soak up the Moroccan sunshine. Me and my friend were completely blown away by the service of the staff during our 5 day stay, who were always very kind, and ready to help.

The location of the riad is perfect distance away from the hustle and bustle of the main square (Jemaa el Fna) and the souks (about 5/10 mins walk), as well as from the main museums and attractions such as the Museum of Marrakech and old palaces, which were all within very reasonable walking distance.

You surely won't regret a stay at this Riad. It is a known fact that there are hundreds of riads around the same area, but I am positive that the wonderful staff, service and beauty of this riad is what will set it apart from the others, and all for a reasonable price.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenbrook, NSW
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Very Lovely riad close to centre of medina in Marrakech.
Reasonably easy to find form outside and simple  5 minute access to town square centre of Medina.  Spotlessly clean, very friendly and helpful staff. Central courtyard of riad is like a postcard.  Room was large and well laid out. Public areas were very pleasant facing onto central courtyard.  Absolute quiet at night.   Would highly recommend and excellent value

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We came here for a friends 30th last weekend and had a an absolutely fabulous time. We were welcomed warmly by Abdul who hosted us and Maddie the owner who is a wonderfully eccentric English formidable character but very warm and friendly. The rooms were well equipped with wonderful bathrooms. The Riad is beautiful and an oasis amoungst the hustle and bustle of the streets outside. It's a wonderful location 5 minutes from the main square. Abdul was at our beck and call and every morning the 6 of us had a breakfast on the roof terrace. Maddie organised a surprise dinner with entertainment for the birthday girl and nothing was left out. Our room was a bit noisy as it was near the main door and there was often knocking and lots of loud talk, so if you like your lie ins make sure you book a room on the top floor. But Marrakech isn't a city for lie ins you, need to be up early to explore what the city has to offer- which is a lot!

Room Tip: There are only 8 rooms or so and you'll be able to judge it from the photos
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I went to Marrakech with two other couples for a birthday celebration, I had no expectation of Morocco at all and I wasn't disappointed. It's a wonderful place but totally helped by this wonderful place to stay.
Nothing was too much trouble, the staff were friendly, helpful and fun.
They gave us advice on the best places to go to suit our party, booked us into restaurants and gave us really good tips on a few of the out of the way places.
The Riad itself was fantastic. The flowers were gorgeous, the roof terrace was stunning with obvious care and love put in and the atmosphere was serene and tranquil.
One night we had dinner at the Riad and the food was delicious.
The Cost was more than reasonable for the service you get.
The location was ideal. Five minutes from the throngs of the main square, but once inside the Riad, felt like you were a million miles away.
I actually couldn't recommend this place more highly if you want to get a real feel for Morocco.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were beautiful however the higher floors, although a little bit more expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had a lovely 4 day stay at this Riad. Very traditional decor with everything you need, very peaceful. Madi, a wonderful English lady, was very welcoming and helpful. Abdulah and the staff went out of their way to make our stay memorable and just kept climbing the stairs with whatever we require and on whichever floor we wanted it, offering a very personal service. We ate in the Madina at a restaurant and in the Riad, the Riad provides excellent food. Breakfast was wonderful, very fresh. We would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All rooms equally as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar el Souk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar el Souk

Address: 56 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Ked, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 1,043 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dar el Souk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar El Souk Marrakech
Dar El Souk Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar el Souk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.