We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, amazing staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar el Souk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dar el Souk to your Saves list
Dar el Souk
56 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Ked, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #236 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, amazing staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Dar el Souk is a beautifully done up riad with plenty of places to relax and soak up the Moroccan sunshine. Me and my friend were completely blown away by the service of the staff during our 5 day stay, who were always very kind, and ready to help.

The location of the riad is perfect distance away from the hustle and bustle of the main square (Jemaa el Fna) and the souks (about 5/10 mins walk), as well as from the main museums and attractions such as the Museum of Marrakech and old palaces, which were all within very reasonable walking distance.

You surely won't regret a stay at this Riad. It is a known fact that there are hundreds of riads around the same area, but I am positive that the wonderful staff, service and beauty of this riad is what will set it apart from the others, and all for a reasonable price.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    43
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
40
106
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glenbrook, NSW
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Very Lovely riad close to centre of medina in Marrakech.
Reasonably easy to find form outside and simple  5 minute access to town square centre of Medina.  Spotlessly clean, very friendly and helpful staff. Central courtyard of riad is like a postcard.  Room was large and well laid out. Public areas were very pleasant facing onto central courtyard.  Absolute quiet at night.   Would highly recommend and excellent value

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We came here for a friends 30th last weekend and had a an absolutely fabulous time. We were welcomed warmly by Abdul who hosted us and Maddie the owner who is a wonderfully eccentric English formidable character but very warm and friendly. The rooms were well equipped with wonderful bathrooms. The Riad is beautiful and an oasis amoungst the hustle and bustle of the streets outside. It's a wonderful location 5 minutes from the main square. Abdul was at our beck and call and every morning the 6 of us had a breakfast on the roof terrace. Maddie organised a surprise dinner with entertainment for the birthday girl and nothing was left out. Our room was a bit noisy as it was near the main door and there was often knocking and lots of loud talk, so if you like your lie ins make sure you book a room on the top floor. But Marrakech isn't a city for lie ins you, need to be up early to explore what the city has to offer- which is a lot!

Room Tip: There are only 8 rooms or so and you'll be able to judge it from the photos
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I went to Marrakech with two other couples for a birthday celebration, I had no expectation of Morocco at all and I wasn't disappointed. It's a wonderful place but totally helped by this wonderful place to stay.
Nothing was too much trouble, the staff were friendly, helpful and fun.
They gave us advice on the best places to go to suit our party, booked us into restaurants and gave us really good tips on a few of the out of the way places.
The Riad itself was fantastic. The flowers were gorgeous, the roof terrace was stunning with obvious care and love put in and the atmosphere was serene and tranquil.
One night we had dinner at the Riad and the food was delicious.
The Cost was more than reasonable for the service you get.
The location was ideal. Five minutes from the throngs of the main square, but once inside the Riad, felt like you were a million miles away.
I actually couldn't recommend this place more highly if you want to get a real feel for Morocco.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were beautiful however the higher floors, although a little bit more expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had a lovely 4 day stay at this Riad. Very traditional decor with everything you need, very peaceful. Madi, a wonderful English lady, was very welcoming and helpful. Abdulah and the staff went out of their way to make our stay memorable and just kept climbing the stairs with whatever we require and on whichever floor we wanted it, offering a very personal service. We ate in the Madina at a restaurant and in the Riad, the Riad provides excellent food. Breakfast was wonderful, very fresh. We would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All rooms equally as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for four nights in March 2013. Really friendly staff, lovely roof terrace and good rooms. Bedrooms are a little basic but if you can live without TV they are pretty good - lots of nice features. We had a great shower in our room.

The breakfast is really good and it's nice that you can have it where ever you want in the Riad. There are lots of nice quiet spaces and, if the weather's good the roof terrace is a lovely place to sit.

The main sites of Marrakesh are really easy to get to (2 mins from the main square) - the area is safe and clean even if it feels a little spooky to start with you quickly get used to it.

We booked a tour to the foothills of the Atlas Mountains through the Riad - it's more money than you'll pay if you go into town to sort it yourself but the guide that Dar El Souk hooked us up with was really great and it was worth every penny to know we were in safe hands and not being dragged around lots of shops.

So, nice place to stay in a great location with lovely staff and friendly owners - very good all round and well worth considering if you're looking for a good base to go and explore Marrakesh from.

Room Tip: the Berber room is the cheapest for a reason - having initially booked this we upgraded on arrival t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We took the whole accommodation as there were 12 of us celebrating a birthday. The decor was very traditonal and very comfortable, all rooms decorated differently and with bathrooms.especially nice was the rooftop gazebo for per dinner drinks. The staff were very accommodating, nothing being too much trouble. We wanted to go to extra special restaurants, the recommendations were perfect and all reservations made, even providing a birthday cake. Our stay was filled with fun and laughter and I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you have problems with stairs the rooms are on three floors, so request the ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar el Souk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar el Souk

Address: 56 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Ked, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dar el Souk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar El Souk Marrakech
Dar El Souk Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar el Souk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.