We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Riad in heart of Medina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar el Souk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Dar el Souk to your Saves list
Dar el Souk
56 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Ked, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #237 of 1,066 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Riad in heart of Medina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2008

We had a pleasant stay in the Dar el Souk. Arrived at the airport and our taxi was waiting. It's only a short trip to the Riad, about 10-15 mins.
Once there, Madeline, the owner, sat us down in the courtyard and explained a little about Marrakech and recommended some great things to do and some fantastic places to eat. You are given a map on arrival, and trust us, you really do need it if you plan to venture around.
We stayed in the Sagha room which was very nice. Breakfast is served wherever you like, we ate ours outside our room but i would recommend eating on the roof terrace too. Breakfast consisted of pancakes, fruit salad, bread, tea/coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice.
You can eat in the Riad, you just have to tell the cooks the meal before what you want, although we did not get a chance to do this as Madeline recommended so many nice places to eat that we ate somewhere different every lunch and dinner.
Depending on your budget you can eat as extravagantly or as cheaply as you like.
The first night we ate on the square which was quite an experience. There are many stalls to choose from and you just sit down and order what you want. All the stalls generally cook the same things, and they are all of the same quality.
Some restaurants i would recommend if you want to splash out are Sultan hotel for lunch, and Les Tobsil for dinner - this restaurant is a converted riad and its a 5 course meal fantastically cooked with rose petals on the table by candle light.
I would recommend the tour bus also which takes you around medina and new city outside (hop on hop off).
After the day exploring the Medina, it was relaxing to come back to our Riad and chill on the roof terrace with access to the 'honesty bar'.
All in all a lovely stay at the Dar el Souk and would recommend Marrakech for an eye opening long weekend!

  • Liked — Location and romantic atmosphere
  • Disliked — Walls are a little thin, you can hear conversations in courtyard, and people walking above your room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    43
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
40
106
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DEVON
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2008

A lovely riad, conveniently close to the main square but tucked away from the hussle and bussle. The roof garden is truly lovely and the call to pray is actually quite therapeutic! I stayed on the ground floor and since it was winter there was little or no noise. I can imagine it gets a bit noisy in the summer when its hot enough to sit out at night. But you can't hear the call to pray down there. The hospitality was good, breakfast simple but pleasant. Not suitable for young childfren, but a good place for an adult break. In my opinion 3 days in Marakech is plenty of time to see the sights and its not as cheap as you might expect for food or transport out of the city.

  • Liked — elegant, in keeping with historic marakesh, not over the top
  • Disliked — the room a little on the small side
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2008

We have just returned from our stay at the Dar el Souk and totally loved it. We arrived in Marrakech as two novices and Madeline and the staff at the Riad made our stay a complete pleasure. The advice, guidance and suggestions of where to go provided by Madeline on our first morning was a great help.

The peace and tranquility of the Riad after a day wandering through the madness of Marrakech was wonderful and our trip to the Atlas Mountains with Madeline was the absolute highlight of our visit.

We would gladly recommend the Dar el Souk to anyone and would love to go back for a return visit.

Thank you, Gary & Phillip

  • Liked — the overall tranquility / charm of the host
  • Disliked — there was nothing negative about the accomodation
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2008

My wife has wanted to go to Marrakech for some time and as a gift for her 30th birthday we decided to do a 4 day trip in Morocco in late January / early February; 2 days in Marrakech followed by 2 days in the Atlas Mountains. We wanted an authentic Moroccan experience and decided early that we wanted to stay in a riad. The reviews covering Dar El Souk were excellent and so in spite of the wide choice of enticing options we decided to give it a go. We were not at all disappointed. Maddie and the team were extremely friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

As were arrived in Marrakech we were initially daunted by the maze-like streets and with my appalling sense of direction I could sense trouble ahead! However, Maddie and her map make a great team and we were full of confidence after our 30 minute welcome chat. In fact, we found it quite straightforward to make our way to and from the riad. Maddie made some great recommendations of restaurants and places to visit. These were all great and in particular the hammann was a truly memorable experience. The only thing we didn't enjoy during our 2 days was the horse and carriage ride. We were taken around the perimeter of the city, spending most of our time on busy, main roads and seeing very few interesting sights.

The riad itself was clean, tastefully furnished and offered delicious food. The breakfasts really set us up for the day so we would recommend not missing them! It was an absolute delight sitting on the roof terrace and sipping our fresh orange juice and coffee and munching through a selection of pastries. I can't really add much to the previous reviews, which I wholeheartedly endorse, and we would not hesitate to stay in the Dar El Souk when we next visit Marrakech.

Marrakech for us was an interesting and fun experience. We felt that 2 days is sufficient to get a good feel of the place and we felt ready to then move on to the next leg of our trip.

We hope that you enjoy the Dar El Souk as much as we did.

  • Liked — Friendly service
  • Disliked — No criticisms
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

My cousin and i decided to take a trip together and Morocco it was. As soon as we arrived the welcome was warm and friendly and it stayed that way. From Maddy the owner, to the chefs, night watch man and the cleaners, everyone was wonderful. The rooms were clean, cultural and the ambience fantastic. The breakfasts were amazing and we loved the roof top :) Our favourite part of the stay of course, was the opportunity my cousin and I had to cook our lunch with the Chef in the kitchen. We had a great day and learned alot about Moroccon cooking. We will definately recomend this place. Maddy (the owner) even drove us to the Atlas mountains for the day.

  • Liked — the security, peacefulness and the food.
  • Disliked — it was cold at times
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2008

We (mum, dad and adult daughter) stayetd at Dar el Souk for three nights to celebrate my 62 birthday. We couldn't have done better! Although our flight was delayed by several hours the hotel pre-arranged taxi was waiting for us at the airport. The Riad is in the centre of the old city (the Medina) where the street are too narrow for even the smallest taxi, so your bags are transported from the taxi stop to Dar el Souk by a man with a hand cart. Sounds antiquated, but it's a very efficient system. The 5 minute walk thru the narrow streets is a little disconcerting initially but it is REALLY very easy to get your bearings.

Entering the Riad is a awesome experience - from the noise and sights of the narrow streets to almost total silence (except for the tinkling of water in the fountains and the twittering of the birds in the courtyard) is remarkable. The staff are REALLY helpful and friendly. The ambience is REALLY serene. The food is REALLY nice (we had breakfast every morning on the roof-top terrace and on arrival we had a traditional dinner in the dining room/lounge in front of the roaring log fire). We had other meals at various city locations, some were very good, others quite disappointing.

The beds were comfortable, the bathroom facilities were fine - only complaint was the dawn chorus from the local birds at 5am! On our first morning we were met by Madeline who gave us a map and spent a good deal of time explaining places we should visit and the restraurants where we should dine.

If you don't stay at Dar el Souk then stay in another Riad. If you stay in one of the modern chain hotel outside the city walls you'll be missing out on one of the major attractions Marrakech has to offer. We recommend Dar el Souk 110%. Don't hesitate - go for it!!

uncletony, Aberdeen, Scotland, UK

  • Liked — The ambience, the staff, the location, the food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2008

Even before we arrived in Marrakech, we had recieved helpful emails from the riad's owners helping us with our journey planning- arranging a taxi for us from the airport and a porter with a cart to take us from the taxi drop off point through the alleys to the riad. I am sure if we had been left to our own devices it would have taken us twice as long and we would have been far more frazzled when we arrived! As it was, we were welcomed into a calm, cool and inviting house with mint tea, comfy sofas and a chat with Madi, our gracious hostess, with advice on places of interest, good places to eat and other useful nuggets of information as well as a handy map.
We soon met the house staff; Imane, Naima, Fouzia and later Reda, all of whom were extremely obliging, never intrusive but always ready and willing to help if we needed them. I can't thank them enough for helping us to feel so at home and for being very tolerant of our mangled French!
We rested for a while and then set off to explore the wonders of the Place Jemaa el Fnaa and to have dinner at the Marrakshi restaurant, as recommended AND booked for us by Madi. We feasted like kings on tagine, pastilla and oranges a la cannelle as we watched the activity in the Place from the enormous windows. On our return I was genuinely touched to find we had been left a charming note and a bottle of fizzy in our room which we took upstairs to the terrace to enjoy by lamplight. What a perfect way to spend my 40th birthday!
The house is beautifully decorated in opulent style without being so over the top as to feel like you are visiting an art gallery. Each floor has small, quiet seating areas as well as the roof terrace with its honesty bar - a lovely touch and most welcome after a hard day's shopping - so you never feel confined to your room in your downtime. The situation in the medina is perfect, with many sights within easy walking distance and the Place only minutes away. If you want to go further afield there's a handy taxi rank very close by too.
The local shop owners and stall holders soon became familiar and greeted us each morning, even when they knew we weren't stopping to buy. We ate breakfast in the courtyard each morning - a splendid array of pancakes, fresh juice, bread, cakes, coffee... it really sets you up for the day! We met some new friends at breakfast too, of the avian variety. Two small birds joined us each day to share our crumbs and entertain us. If they had been any cuter we would have been in danger of becoming a Disney cartoon!
Madi organised a trip to the mountains which we were delighted to join. She accompanied us herself, translating for us with our driver, mountain guide and at various places of interest along the way, all of which were well worth stopping for and none of which we would have found alone.
Our week came to an end all too soon but right up to our final moments in the riad, the staff were still helping us out, making sure we had a taxi ready to take us to the airport in good time for our flight. I actually had a bit of a tear in my eye as I left!
I fell in love with Marrakech, but Dar el Souk was the matchmaker. Can you imagine that some people still choose to stay in boring hotels with anonymous staff and identikit furnishings? Nope, I just don't get it. Go to Dar el Souk instead and really have a holiday to remember.

  • Liked — The friendly welcome
  • Disliked — A little lacking in privacy, but only because we were on the ground floor.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar el Souk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar el Souk

Address: 56 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Ked, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 1,066 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dar el Souk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar El Souk Marrakech
Dar El Souk Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar el Souk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.