We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and serene” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar el Souk

Save Saved
You added Dar el Souk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar el Souk
56 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Ked, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #220 of 1,034 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Staffordshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful and serene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We booked this Riad after reading good reviews and we wanted to be close to the major sights, we were not disappointed. We booked direct and were met at the airport and driven to the Medina where we were met by a chariot handler who transported our luggage in a cart to our Riad. Abdul greeted us and gave us a tour of the Riad. It is exactly as described, it is difficult to portray just how beautiful and serene, so quiet and peaceful it is.
We had intended to have our anniversary meal on the terrace, but due to rain, we ate in the salon, just the two of us. Our pastille and tagine were amazing. Thank you Abdul for making our meal most enjoyable. Thank you also Madi for your help and directions, we didn't get lost, had a lovely Red bus tour around the city, and a day trip to the Atlas Mountains which included a Berber house visit, a saffron 'farm', a woman's co operative where Aragon oil is made and an amazing waterfall mountain hike. For someone who doesn't like heights this was a challenge but our guide gave me the confidence to get to the top, with a helping hand and cheery banter, an unforgettable experience. With Madi's help we managed to see a lot of Marakech, we will definitely be returning, but next time we hope to leave the rain in England!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    41
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
35
105
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We spent 5 nights at Dar el Souk before visiting Essaouira for a week. We were met at the airport which is to be recommended on a first visit through a bustling and very hot Medina. We had specified that we wanted lots of light and a roof terrace and were not disappointed. Our room was comfortable and had a siting room both inside and out. The roof terrace is lovely with various areas in which to relax. Madi, the owner was very helpful in giving advice on sights and dining options. The staff were friendly and looked after us well. The local Hammam with friendly owner is well worth a visit. Kosy Bar is a good option for drinks with a great view of the skyline and nesting storks. Seafood from the stalls in the main square in the evening is also an interesting dining experience and with no ill effects in our case. We would recommend Dar el Souk as a good choice in central Marrakech.

Room Tip: We had a large room on the first floor overlooking the court yard. The outside sitting area was a re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

We chose one of the lower priced rooms but were more than happy with the room, nice atmosphere and can walk straight out to the centre of the riad.

The staff were very friendly and welcoming, each night we returned from the centre we had a nice chat to the guy on the shift (can't remember his name now though).

Only thing stopping full marks is that the taxi we arranged through the riad seemed pricey - I reckon you could probably get it cheaper from the airport. Also, I like to pay up front when I stay places and with this place you pay before you leave and when we settled the balance it seemed a lot - but this could be due to the fact that we'd spent more than expected in Marrakech through getting ripped off here and there so may be being over critical! Anyway, the riad was always a pleasure to return to after being in the centre of Marrakech!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moray
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Visited Marrakech for a night while on holiday in Agadir. My husband found this gem of a riad on the internet and we were not disappointed. Arrived in a busy, noisy, hot Marrakech after a three hour journey from Agadir. Our taxi dropped us off and our bags were put onto a chariot and we were whisked through the alleyways and arrived outside a wooden door where we rang a bell and entered into a peaceful serene courtyard. You feel as if you've walked into a different world.

We were travelling as a family of four and had two bedrooms with the bathroom inbetween. The rooms are lovely the decor is typical Moroccan, with pretty lights and brightly coloured walls. We took the opportunity to look around, while the staff brought us some cold drinks. There's a pretty sitting room with comfy chair and cushions but walk up a small flight of stairs to the roof terrace where you can look over the roof tops of other riads, you also see the storks flying and nesting on neighbouring roofs.

After exploring the souks of Marrakech the Dar el Souk is a welcome relief from the hussle and bustle and its was great to sit in the courtyard and dip our weary feet in the plunge pool, bliss.

The following day we sat and had an amazing breakfast of pastries, crepes, fruit, coffee and delicious freshly squeezed orange juice.

This riad was a perfect place to stop while visiting Marrakech we only wish our stay had been longer we will definitely be making another visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Having spent three nights at Dar El Souk I can highly recommend this as a place to stay. The accommodation is exactly as portrayed in the website and the reviews on this site, it really is excellent. I stayed in the Joutia Zrabi room and found it to be extremely comfortable and exceptionally clean. The riad staff are all very welcoming and do their utmost to make one feel at home. Madi, the owner, is an utter delight and a font of information with a shrewd judge of character with her recommendations of where to go and what to see. Located centrally, i really could not have wished for more on my first visit to Marrakech.

The second half of the week was spent in the High Atlas Mountains at the wonderful Maroc Lodge, which i would also highly recommend.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

So impressed by Dar El Souk. We arrived early morning of Tues and were greeted with a hugely grinning taxi driver who in no time at all whisked us off to the Medina, when we arrived we were met by a kindly man with a chariot whom loaded up our bags and walked us through to our Riad. All of this we arranged with Madi before our arrival. As we got there, we were warmly welcomed by Madi who gave us lovely mint tea and cake and talked through all of the amazing things to do and see in Marrakech. Madi was amazing, all excursions can be arranged there and she can tell you how to access them, she is so knowledgable and warm, take her advice and definitely go to the Cozy Bar, listening to her made our trip better, so we loved her immediately. After having a chat, Madi advised us that the hotel was not full and would we like an upgrade. We had the room downstairs with the private pool side terrace area and to be honest I was almost tempted to say no as the room was so nice anyway.. We did however get seduced by the idea of our own private terrace and graciously accepted her wonderful offer. The rooms are beautiful and well thought out with lovely touches that make it homely. The wifi works well had no issue at all. the rooms are clean and the beds are so comfy, they were serviced daily and had good air con. They also keep a selection of lunch options and refreshments should you just wish to relax at the riad for the day. The private areas around the house are lovely and peaceful away from the madness of the souks. Madis' staff were warm and accommodating, we could not have happier. We opted for a meal on our first night and I can highly recommend sitting on the roof terrace to eat it, it was delicious, the breakfast was lovely too, just enough to set you up for a days exploring and a nice touch that it changed slightly everyday. I would not hesitate coming here again and again and we fully intend to do just that, thanks so much! I would hasten to add that negative reviews on here are no reflection of the service we received at all and I am glad that I made sure I focussed on the positives when choosing this Riad. Highly recommended!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Our group of four has just returned from a fantastic stay at Dar el Souk. It was recommended by a resident who has lived nearby and turned out to exceed expectations. Close to the main square, the service was brilliant and the breakfast delicious. We would all definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar el Souk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar el Souk

Address: 56 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Ked, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 1,034 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Dar el Souk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar El Souk Marrakech
Dar El Souk Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar el Souk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.