We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Riad at its Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar el Souk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dar el Souk to your Saves list
Dar el Souk
56 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Kedim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #256 of 1,120 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Peebles Scotland
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Traditional Riad at its Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

Traditional riad at its best,Maddie and staff all very helpful.Lovely meal on arrival with a few wines to wash away the long journey.All rooms differaint with very traditional furnishings and all appeared to have there own little chill out area ideal when the weather was hot.Roof top terrace very special and laid out so that all areas were quite private.Breakfast very good and it was served anytime up till 12 and anywhere you wished .A few minutes walk to the main square and its many attractions and also a few minutes walk in the other direction to a very nice small square and artisan area where Kosybar is situated which is a must visit at sunset..Maddie arranged a trip to the mountains for us which is a must do if you have the time.All in all we had a great trip to Marrakech and if we pass this way in the future then Dar El Souk will be our first choice.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    48
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
46
109
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

A beautifully decorated Morrocan Riad, beds very comfy, showers always had hot water. Hairdryer available on request. fresh towels daily.Every room is different. A beautiful roof top terrace with several different areas to chill.The front door is always kept locked and staffed throughout the night. Feels very safe. Had delicious traditional evening meal of 3 courses. Breakfast served where ever you want. one of the few Riads to serve wine. We were given an extensive review of the local area & the owner gave us her recommendations & booked us in restaurants for the evening & was happy to book other excursions or guides if we needed. Run by friendly staff & the owner is on hand every morning for guests, extremely accomodating & helpful. Riad a 5 min walk to the Jeema el fna square, which is a fantastic hit for all the senses, the sounds, smells & sights are an experience not to be missed. The stalls in the square & in the souks are amass with all local produce & I found the locals were friendly & not too persistent, once you said no they left you to it, but you'd be missing out if you didnt give the haggling a go, its an art form which can be great fun & enjoyed by both you and the seller if you embrace it.
The hamman's are also a good place to be pampered, whether you like just a massage or the full mud & scrub works, again a whole different experience.

I found the whole experience excited my senses & i want to go back for more.
I thought hard & cant come up with any major negatives, the only thing which was a little annoying were the amount of mopeds travelling through the narrow streets, you have to watch your back, but i came through unscathed.
Again when i go back I will definately stay at this Riad, the only thing I would change if poss would be an extra pillow & hand towels for my hair.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

We travelled to Marrakech for my mother's birthday weekend. As we arrived at the riad we were welcomed by Rida - who made us feel at home straight away. The colours and scented smells of Dar el Souk were what we hoped for and more. As we arrived at night the lanterns were all lit and giving off a magical glow. Our first night we had ordered a meal for two in the sitting room. The food was superb, traditional and we had the place to ourselves so were secluded too. All washed down with a lovely crisp bottle of rose! We met Madelaine, the owner the following day and spent time learning about all the wonderful sights Marrakech had to offer. She gave us plenty of advice and suggestions for our weekend of sightseeing, shopping and eating. The 3 nights passed by far too quickly, and we were left wanting to stay longer. Our riad experience in Dar el Souk was great, lovely breakfasts on our own balcony seated area, great service from the staff and wonderful chats & insights from Madelaine. All these compiled to make our first trip to Morocco a happy and memorable one.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Travelled for 3 nights with three friends to Marrakech and the Dar El Souk. There are a lot of Riads to choose from but for us, this one turned out to be just perfect. From start to finish everything was handled to perfection through Madeline, the owner of the Riad. A taxi and chariot man was organised for us upon arrival at Marrakech airport. This is a must as you will never find it on your first visit. A home cooked meal and a cold bottle of wine (or 2!) was waiting for us on our arrival and that was great.
Madeline sat with us on Saturday morning and gave us maps and guides of what to do in our short time in Marrkech, even booking restaurants for us. All the staff were great too, very friendly and helpful.
If you want a great riad at a reasonable price in a marvellous location, look no further.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheddar Valley
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

From the moment I made contact with Madeline I knew we had made a good choice of Riad from the many on offer within the Medina. We were met on arrival at the airport by our very pleasant,English-speaking taxi driver (pre-booked). Upon arrival at the Riad (via short walk escorted by charioteer who carved his way through the throngs,bicycles and mopeds with great aplomb) we were greeted by Redar (spelling?) who showed us around, our room and then to the roof terrace to savour sundown with a very nice bottle of local wine. Great Riad, rooms and location very well managed by Mother & Daughter (Madi & Madeline). Wonderful, friendly and courteous staff. This is reflected in Marrakech itself where there is none of the hassle, pressure selling and occasional hostile looks that we experienced in Tangier. Our meal at the Riad surpassed any of the restaurants and we had a great lunchtime sardine bap from stall just up the street towards the square. Marrakech & Dar el Souk has become my favourite short break destination and we will go back again soon!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

stayed at Dar El Souk 5-8 March. From moment we stepped off plane all arrangements to convey us to our accommodtaion went smoothly. Amazing cultural experience and all staff were very helpful. thank-you to Madelaine, the Riad Owner. She was a great tour guide and ensured we used our short time in the area wisely and recommended great restaurants to visit. Tip! Would recommend any young girls with blonde hair take a pashmina to wrap over head and avoid attention of local men- immediatly gave them an invisibility when they covered up!!
Definitely would go back!

Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

We stayed at Dar el Souk for 5 nights. The riad is comfortable and the rooms were exactly as they appeard in the photos. All the staff in the Riad were extremely helpful with things such as arranging taxis, trains, and with other queries. Maddy was very helpful on arrival in suggestions of where to visit and how to survive Marrakech. She recommended a local hamam which ended up being a total highlight of the trip! The Riad is an easy walk into the main square and we (2 females) felt safe walking to and from, even late at night. It's amazing how peaceful it was sitting on the sun terrace considering how close we were to the square. We ate dinner in the Riad one evening and it was delicious. Another plus is that they serve alcohol, and sipping wine on the sun terrace was a nice afternoon break! Just a tip that as a light sleeper in a ground floor room, I was woken up by the breakfast preperation each morning in the adjoining kitchen at 8am. Otherwise it was a great and I would definitely recommend this Riad to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar el Souk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar el Souk

Address: 56 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Kedim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #256 of 1,120 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Dar el Souk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar El Souk Marrakech
Dar El Souk Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar el Souk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.