We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very helpful proprietor and staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Laora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Laora to your Saves list
Riad Laora
1 Derb Mqqdem | Arset Loughzail, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #512 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very helpful proprietor and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We arrived late and the proprietor and his brother took us for a meal in the square. They were so helpful and even paid for the meal as we didn't have any local curreny , which we did reimburse. Although the proprietor doesn't speak any english a number of staff do and you can get by easily. All the staff are excellent and very attentive. A beautiful Raid. Only thing quite dim lighting so a bit of a struggle to read in the evenings and chairs in some of the rooms too low. Breakfast was good and served warm. The riad is ideally located and a few minutes walking distance to the sqaure and souks. The birds do wake you in the morning with their chirping.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    18
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
6
30
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Riad Laora us well placed for getting around in the Medina. Very warm and helpful staff, two delicious meals served on the roof terrace, clean and relaxing Turquoise Suite and comfortable bed. The new proprietor had only started two weeks ago, so was busy finding his feet. Communication a bit of a problem, as he speaks no English, so dependent upon my rusty French. He put us in touch with good tour operator, but I had to speak to tour guide direct to organise trips.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband booked a surprise honeymoon at Riad Laora at the end of July 2012. Neither of us have been to Morrocco before and did not know what to expect. Upon arrival at the Riad we were welcomed by the lovely Miriam with a kind and much needed mint tea. We were totally overwhelmed by the hospitality of everyone who was at the Riad. We will not say the staff as we felt that they became our friends whilst we stayed there.We were booked into the turqouise suite which was both stunningly beautiful clean and cool. Everyday we had a magnificent breakfast on the terrace and found that the rooms were kept spotlessly clean throughout our stay. We really did feel that it was just the two of us staying there as the tranquilty of the surroundings made it feel like home but with all the facilties you would get in a 5 star hotel. The whole Riad was beautiful and is just as you would find in the pictures if not better. You would need to go there to appreciate the beauty of this place. Larcen the night porter was really helpful with the language and his English was very good! Guy gave us a map of the area and the square was a short distance to walk full of hustle and bustle of the real Morrocco of these beautiful friendly people who we will come back to visit this Spring. We did go in Ramadan but still found everyone so very friendly happy and accommodating to whatever we needed. Thank you all again for making such a memorable honeymoon.



.

Room Tip: I am sure all the rooms are as clean and well presented as The Turquoise suite where we stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

A perfect place of calm and tranquility. So welcoming and comfortable it is joy to stay here and very restful. We stayed here twice on our trip in chocolat and cocoa rooms on the first floor, both enchanting and very comfortable.
Breakfast is delicious and served in the beautiful atrium area where there is a fountain and birds flying around. A gentle and peaceful way to start the day.
Only a 10 min walk to the main square and easy to find your way back again.
The Riad have a great supply of guide books and can also help with directions etc and will arrange taxis if asked.
Best value, best location, best welcome, best breakfast in the Medina.
I would strongly recommend a stay here and would definitely return again myself.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor a bit more private. (No one can escape mosque call at 11pm ish and 5am ish - ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

An excellent Riad. We had the Turquoise suite - beautifully furnished and comfortable. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Breakfast was super and we also had a very good evening meal. The location is central and with a map and directions from the staff we managed to find our way around. The riad organised a taxi pick up from the airport - essential. A stay here is highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012 via mobile

Good location. Only a 10 min walk to the main square. The riad arranged a pick up from the airport which was a relief as I was worried I was going to get lost trying to find it. Breakfast was served warm everyday. Staff were very helpful & polite. Would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

This was a very quiet and comfortable place to stay with a good central location. Our room was extremely clean, comfortable and quite glamorous. The bathroom was spectacular. Staff were friendly and helpful and it was a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Laora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Laora

Address: 1 Derb Mqqdem | Arset Loughzail, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #512 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Prestigia, Splendia, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Riad Laora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Laora Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Laora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.