We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really set up for groups of students” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Equity Point Marrakech Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Equity Point Marrakech Hostel to your Saves list
Equity Point Marrakech Hostel
80 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Devon UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not really set up for groups of students”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed here with 22 further education students for 2 nights before and after a visit to the high Atlas Mountains .
Difficult to find and very difficult to book in with only one person on the reception desk who did not seem very happy to see us.
The rooms were fine and the buildings interesting .
Most disappointing was the food, it was very tasty but such tiny portions and nothing to accompany the single piece of lamb in a prune sauce apart from a piece of bread.
Breakfast was equally disappointing .
I think this would suit small groups of friends or single visitors .
Our bedroom was very dark and the bed mattress was really uncomfortable .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    73
    24
    9
    9
See reviews for
10
23
48
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights in January 2014 & firstly the location was excellent! It requires a careful read of the directions to get there however we managed it with ease, so please ensure you take a copy!

The location is minutes away from Jem el-Fnaa Square & we (3 ladies - Mid 20's) felt safe walking back to the hostel even after 10pm.

The hostel appears to be more of a hotel & it has a vast number of common rooms, so you can always find a quiet spot to yourself should you need one! We were travelling in a group of 3 and the hostel provided us with a private 4 bed dorm which suited us fine (we had 1 bed spare)

The staff at reception were eager to help us check in & assist us in finding our feet / giving us ideas of what to do / where to visit. We enjoyed a cooking class there, which was really informative & we enjoyed our food out on the terrace.

It really has a beautiful balcony where you can catch a good sun tan!

I'd definitely recommend this place to travellers who are looking for a little bit of luxury! Please note however, because of the number of common rooms - It can be a little hard meeting other travellers, so you've really got to bite the bullet & make an effort to talk to others at Breakfast etc

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

The rooms are spacious enough considering We stayed as a group of 6 and the hostel its self is beautiful and has one of the best roofs in all of Marrakech for chilling in the afternoon and watching the sun set over the Khautobia and the Atlas Mountains. Great price, great service 5 mins walk from the Jamal Fna and right in the middle of the City.

Room Tip: Bottom Floor is the best but top floor is closer to the bar and breakfast area (which is included)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I was trying to find this in heavy rain, not Ideal, especially with so many "false guides" around.
Eventually someone showed me where it was, down a labyrinth of lanes and alleys.

I was pretty good, excellent roof terrace, swimming pool (well, more like a paddling pool! ;-) ), and restaurant (well, not quite), I didn't try the food as a few Brazilian people had warned me off it), the breakfast, which was included was basic, but fine.

The staff were very helpful and accommodating.

I would recommend this place, and would stay there again, if I ever went back to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

A huge thankyou to Zac, who went out of his way to help us when we stayed at this hostel. He was so genorous, helpful, and caring when we needed it.

It was really beautiful hostel too. The pool area and rooftop terrace are amazing. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed at the Equity Point for 2 nights and in my opinion the Riad was great value for money. I had a nice room (staying at 4 bed female dorm), a hot shower and nice breakfast. A little bit of suggestion, it would be better if the Riad provide more signage so the guests are more easier to find the place

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights and found the riad very comfortable and clean. The location is very good ( shopping, nice places to eat) and once you have figured out how to get to the main square it's easy to find your way around. We didn't find the riad very social, most people stayed in their rooms however the staff were pleasant and the riad it's self is very pretty. Nice terrace very high up with a great view over the city. Breakfast is average.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Equity Point Marrakech Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Equity Point Marrakech Hostel

Address: 80 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Equity Point Marrakech Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Equity Point Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Equity Point Marrakech Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.