We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Equity Point Marrakech Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Equity Point Marrakech Hostel to your Saves list
Equity Point Marrakech Hostel
80 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 191 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Pleasanton, California, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The directions were very precise, which you will need it is still a long walk on a very hot day. The cafe you need to look for is being remodeled so look for the large building covered with a picture on the front. Everyone in the Medina spoke English & knew the cafe. The day staff was great, night staff too busy on internet to care.Watched the night clerk go through lost & found & give the restaurant owner anything she wanted before guests had a chance to miss items. The rooms were nice, air-con worked fine, water pressure was terrible & mostly a dribble. Felt completely safe. The pool wasn't filtering correctly & was cloudy the 1st day by the 2nd day it was turning green.The manager extremely nice & helpful & was trying to get the pool fixed. Internet was not available in the rooms. Food at the restaurant on top was tasty & good value, beer was cold. Grocery store is a 10 min taxi ride & alcohol stops selling at 8pm. We would stay there again.Quite location

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    67
    24
    9
    9
See reviews for
10
23
43
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Don't expect the taxi from the airport to be able to drop you at the door of this hostel- we were dropped on the street outside the medina and being our first time in Morroco we were taken advantage of and a 'guide' showed us to our hostel, he was so made and aggressive when we only wanted to pay 50MAD and as we were in the hostel foyer we had hoped they would help ease the situation but didnt!
Other times throughout our stay we asked for help with directions as the medina is a bit of a challenge to get around and the staff were pretty vague and unspecific.
The place is self is a beautiful old riad with great views from the roof and awesome courtyard with a pool, reasonable price and fairly close to the big square.
Really a good place to stay just don't expect much help from the staff!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Had a decent stay here. Staff were friendly and the building is quite attractive. Rooms are big and hot water plentiful. A few issues I had with my stay:
-Security was not great. Locks on the lockers were broken, people come an go all day with no ID check as Ive had in other hostels.
-Power went out four or five times each day. Sometimes for hours at a time.
-Was bitten all over by bed bugs. Woke up with little blood stains all over my sheets. Quite unpleasant, and itchy!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

As a group of four girl we spent 5 nights here in the height of summer – 49 degrees. And we loved it, for the money we paid we couldn’t complain. The staff were helpful and not shy to warn us of where we could and couldn’t go. Wifi throughout, you’ll lap up the rooftop view and riad architecture.

if you’re coming from the airport take up the hostel transfer option on their website, you’ll not find the hostel without paying someone to take you there anyway. You’ll be driven to the town then walked through the Souks – it’s tucked away in maze of ally ways you’ll not be able to navigate without knowing your way.

Room Tip: When you arrive ask for a room with air-conditioning, we spent our first night without it and nearly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Okay, I thought the E.P. Centric Barcelona was fabulous but wow, this location blew my socks off (in terms of what I've been told about hostels, this place ranks 5 stars)! The property is enormous, lovely, with a decent size pool immaculate grounds. The set-up is certainly along the lines of what I envisioned of traditional Riads (traditional Moroccan palaces/homes with courtyard gardens). It was absolutely beautiful. Big open kitchen, and a separate lounge area (complete with internet workstations) overlooking the courtyard and pool. There is also a beautifully decorated and plush common area on the 2nd level with a balcony overlooking the courtyard/pool. Lavish dinning room and roof terrace with views overlooking the city. Great value for your dime. Staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. The hostel offered plenty of services and activities. The atmosphere was superb! How is this a Hostel? This is the second hostel I have stayed in the E.P. chain and I must say, so far they've not let me down. They certainly understand and cater to the comforts of the international/western traveler. The only drawback here is getting to the hostel which I found to be a bit tricky. Given it's location, smacked dabbed in the middle of the medina (historic neighborhood), there were some twists and turns. However, there were plenty of wandering locals awaiting to accompany us to the hostel (give them a few bucks then it's easy to navigate one your own). If you're traveling at night, it gets dark in the alley but no worries the entrance is well lit and there were plenty of locals and travelers alike walking around as the hostel is a short walk from the main square. I traveled in January so the weather was lovely (temp ranged between 60-65). I would definitely stay here again and again

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

As hostels go this place is very good for the price.

Pros- The pool is clean and a good size (and a welcome treat during a Moroccan summer). The staff are lovely. The facilities include free wifi and use of the computer which was great. Bathrooms good. roof terrace with views over the city. bar. a MASSIVE hostel with lots of room in communal areas. very central!

Cons- bedrooms are v v small (we stayed in 8 person dorm for 2 nights). The aircon is the only real problem we encountered, it was rubbish aircon especially in a small room with 8 people sleeping and 38 degrees heat (people ended up sleeping outside by the pool). We tried sleeping with the windows open but the room lacked enough ventilation.

conclusion - great hostel shame about the aircon. Would i stay there again? depends on the weather report for Marrakesh that week

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duisburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Definitely if you want a great time in Morocco you have to stay at least two night at this hostel. The breakfast is amazing, staff is really friendly and helpful, and the atmosphere was perfect!

Room Tip: Do never ever take the first price when negotiating with moroccan people. They always put it really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Equity Point Marrakech Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Equity Point Marrakech Hostel

Address: 80 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 191 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Equity Point Marrakech Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Equity Point Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Equity Point Marrakech Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.