We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hostel shame about the aircon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Equity Point Marrakech Hostel

Save Saved
You added Equity Point Marrakech Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Equity Point Marrakech Hostel
80 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 182 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great hostel shame about the aircon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

As hostels go this place is very good for the price.

Pros- The pool is clean and a good size (and a welcome treat during a Moroccan summer). The staff are lovely. The facilities include free wifi and use of the computer which was great. Bathrooms good. roof terrace with views over the city. bar. a MASSIVE hostel with lots of room in communal areas. very central!

Cons- bedrooms are v v small (we stayed in 8 person dorm for 2 nights). The aircon is the only real problem we encountered, it was rubbish aircon especially in a small room with 8 people sleeping and 38 degrees heat (people ended up sleeping outside by the pool). We tried sleeping with the windows open but the room lacked enough ventilation.

conclusion - great hostel shame about the aircon. Would i stay there again? depends on the weather report for Marrakesh that week

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    59
    21
    9
    8
See reviews for
8
18
42
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duisburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Definitely if you want a great time in Morocco you have to stay at least two night at this hostel. The breakfast is amazing, staff is really friendly and helpful, and the atmosphere was perfect!

Room Tip: Do never ever take the first price when negotiating with moroccan people. They always put it really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

This years girls trip was a 3 night stay in Marrakech, thanks to Easyjets new flights. We took up the offer of getting the hostel to book a cab from the airport, and then a guy with a cart for the final leg. As previous reviews state, it is a bit tricky to find, and for the £5 we paid and made our life easier. Once you're there you find it in a great location, close to the Main Square, a cash point, pharmacy, the souks and plenty of restaurants. We stayed in a room just off the pool, private ensuite for 4 people. Biggest room we've had in a hostel so far, bonus, more room to fling our clothes around. Other than a visit from Eric the cockroach on our first night we loved the place (gotta remember it is Africa). The hostel is big, traditional riad style, with several areas to sit socially. The pool was a massive bonus and is open from 9am-9pm, which with 40degree heat certainly came in useful. They provide towels too which saves you a little bit of room for more shopping! Breakfast was alright, nothing to write home about, but then we like to snooze in the mornings so usually aren't bothered. The resident cat, recently renamed Charlie/Charlotte - can remember is it's a boy or a girl :-s anyway, its very friendly for obviously reasons. Oh and free Wifi too.
If you're used to hostels then this place will be one of the better you've stayed in, particularly in the more Exotic countries. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I stayed a total of 6 nights (back and forth from a desert trip and a beach visit)

Ok, so avoid the fact that it is down a few alleyways...
It is in fact worthwhile, a lovely place to stay and HUGE! I arrived, picked up by transport organised by the Hostel and then tipped someone to take me to the hostel for the first time. It was clean, organised (Not sure why ANYONE would give the place a 1 star!) interesting and friendly. I loved the room, clean and spacious. There are loads of places to leave your stuff...locked of unlocked. There is a beautiful pool and loads of places to chill.
The best thing was access to WIFI 24/7. So useful to plan our trips. The hostel offer fab trips out...nice touch. I've stayed in quite a few places around the world (Travelled for a year) and understand how much that have catered and accommodated for real travellers. Don't stay here if you want luxury...go to a Riad and pay the high prices. If you want luxury for hostels definitely stay here. Oh finally, the breakfast is good and means you only need a small lunch out! PERFECT!

Room Tip: If you are a girl so for a Dorm Room, Room 202/203 are NICE! Bring earplugs if you want to sleep ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

We couldn't believe this place when we finally found it (it's well hidden). The place is amazing, looks like a palace. It's huge, has a pool, lovely staff and is right in the center of Marrakesh.

This place is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012 via mobile

I would not advise going here at all, my stay was very unwelcoming and felt uncomfortable. I recently came on a trip here with college and was very unhappy with the overall service was rubbish and you cant use half of the facillities stated on the website and pictures very much disieving(rooms do not look like they do on the website) The rooms are very small for the amount of People that are staying in there and very unclean, the sheets my friend had, had old blood stains on them and there is chewing gum all over the bump bed, the bathrooms have no air getting them while you are in the shower which also makes it uncomfortable. The staff here also act like they couldnt care less about customer service, security guards are rude and unpleasant, and overall all staff are horrible. All in all i will not be putting my money in there pocket, overall experience was crap. 1/10

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. An oasis of calm in the sea of chaos that is Marrakech. The staff is fantastic, and the place is *really* nice. Very clean (though our bathroom had a bit of an odor coming from the pipes). Overall a great place to stay, especially for the price. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Equity Point Marrakech Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Equity Point Marrakech Hostel

Address: 80 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 182 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and HostelBookers so you can book your Equity Point Marrakech Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Equity Point Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Equity Point Marrakech Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.