We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but no more than four nights.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar El Aila

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar El Aila to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Dar El Aila
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   160 Derb El Ferane, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #324 of 1,036 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“OK, but no more than four nights.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have just returned from a city break in Marrakech. We stayed four nights at this Riad.
Taxi from airport dropped us at the nearest point to the Riad and the driver was kind enough to accompany us to the door which we would NEVER have been able to find ourselves. It was through a very narrow maze of alleyways, thus this was the beginning of our Marrakech experience.
Firstly, I am being completely honest, and first impressions of the Riad weren't too good. The door opens into the reception area and swimming pool, which is more just a water feature than a swimming pool. The young man who greeted us explained about the dangers of Marrakech, which was obviously good to know but not really what you want to hear. He was of course quite correct to warn of the copious amount of hustlers and basically just guys out to cheat you out of your hard earned holiday cash. BE WARNED. DO NOT LISTEN or pay ANY attention to guys who stop and try to direct you around. Hide your maps and try to look cool and act like you know exactly where you are going, even though you haven't a scooby. We overheard a couple at the Riad and it sounded like they got lost and handed over 1000DM to get back to the Riad.
We booked our Riad through BOOKING.COM and got it for an amazing price, but the rooms we got reflected that low price, because they weren't nice rooms. Ours in particular was a dark, horrible room, with a shower room and toilet which was at window height! Very strange. We did however get clean towels and the room cleaned every day.
We had dinner at the Riad on the first night which was home cooked and lovely. The roof terrace had plenty of sitting areas and was kept clean. The cats and kittens were a delight. The flies were, on the other hand a complete pain in the neck, but no creepy crawlies.

The main square is basically in a straight line from the street at the end of the Riad. DO NOT go through the souks to reach the square. You will get lost and lots of hassle. Small children are pests and ask for money and you can't trust anyone. Do not be fooled.

The big souks are just off the main square and are absolutely worth a look. They are like Aladdins Caves full of treasure. The Square at night is a must, but only once! We visited a restaurant on the square. Unfortunately, my husband and son are STILL experiencing the effects of the meal.

Marrakech is the craziest place we have ever visited and we have been in some places! I would not recommend it for more than 3 or 4 nights. There is very little to do apart from the Square and the Souks, with the latter becoming a pest because of the constant need for haggling.

Riad Dar El Aila was good for what we paid, but we would not return to the Riad or Marrakech.

Once experienced, better forgotten!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    40
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
30
55
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

The riad was beautifully presented with fantastic, friendly staff who ensured that we had everything we needed for our stay. Close to the souks, it was easy to walk in the medina and the instructions provided by the riad made it easy (or as easy as it can be in the souk!) to get back in the afternoons. The terrace was perfect to relax with a book in the afternoon/evening and watch the sun go down. The air conditioning in the room was perfectly adequate but don't expect European 5* accommodation - this is a fantastic piece of Morocco, and it's authenticity is what makes it special.

A perfect base for anyone who wants to explore all Marrakech has to offer.

I have seen complaints about cats and flies - you are never going to explore a city in a hot country without flies so take the necessary precautions and the cats were in no way intrusive but are to be expected as they climb across the rooftops of the riads.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I had a fantastic stay at this Riad. All of the staff were really helpful, coming out to meet us and guide us to the place, recommending some amazing sights we hadn't seen yet (definitely ask about the Yves Saint Laurent gardens!), making us tea on arrival and helping us to organise our camel ride for the next day. We stayed two nights, but I would have loved to stay longer. The roof top terrace has an incredible view, and was beautiful in the evenings and at night during summer. The rooms were gorgeous, very traditionally furnished, more than comfortable, clean and with plenty of space. We had two bedrooms, a sitting room and a beautiful big bathroom with a marble bath, separate shower and double copper sinks. The restaurant was nice too, and the pool was lovely - clean and shady. The guy who was supposed to drive us to the airport the morning we left did sleep through his alarm (it was during Ramadan), but the guy working was quick to help us out and paid for our taxi in place of our airport transfer. Definitely five stars from me, I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Riad. The staff were very helpful taking our luggage to the room upon arrival. The owner also allowed us to leave our luggage at the Riad while we went on a two day trip to the Sahara Desert and was most helpful to us, booking a restaurant for us on our first night.

The Riad is centrally located and good value for money, being a five minute walk to the Souks. You do have to mind the low doorways but the place is clean and comfortable (air conditioning is provided) and is adequate for a trip to Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Horrible. Families with children please avoid in the summer months as the lack of proper air conditioning is dangerous in the heat. I booked this hotel for the air conditioning, and you guessed it, it didn't work It was 45c in Marrakech. Just imagine ... I asked two of the young "dudes" who front the Riad to look at it and they really couldn't have cared less. They also didn't have back up fans - this was all with a background of my daughter having fainted in the souk a couple of days before before due to the intense heat. In addition to this there were potholes in the floor, a socket coming out from the wall, small room, no curtains on small porthole style windows, bathroom door was broken and didn't shut, electricity waxed and waned, outdoor furniture looked dirty etc. To be fair the guys running it were nice, but were just "dudes" and simply not able to run the place professionally. To illustrate this further they had no record of our cash payment when we left. For € 20 a night more get a massive two roomed mini-suite in new town hotels with air conditioning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We slept in the "Andalous" room, it was very nice and basic furnished, but with air conditioning.
Anyway it is reccomendable to bring flip flop for the shower.
The location is very good and close to main attractions (souks, djema el fna..), tour operators for excursions and taxis.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Its a very relexing place, clean and worm. The team whas great! I came with my femily and in the begining my parents was very confuse about the medina.. And thx to cristof and abidine the crew evrithing become great! Ty for a good time in marakech. Shlomi

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar El Aila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar El Aila

Address: 160 Derb El Ferane, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #324 of 1,036 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar El Aila 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Dar El Aila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar El Aila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.