We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect base to explore Marrakech and immerse yourself in Morocco.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar El Aila

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar El Aila to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Dar El Aila
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   160 Derb El Ferane, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #337 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A perfect base to explore Marrakech and immerse yourself in Morocco.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

The riad was beautifully presented with fantastic, friendly staff who ensured that we had everything we needed for our stay. Close to the souks, it was easy to walk in the medina and the instructions provided by the riad made it easy (or as easy as it can be in the souk!) to get back in the afternoons. The terrace was perfect to relax with a book in the afternoon/evening and watch the sun go down. The air conditioning in the room was perfectly adequate but don't expect European 5* accommodation - this is a fantastic piece of Morocco, and it's authenticity is what makes it special.

A perfect base for anyone who wants to explore all Marrakech has to offer.

I have seen complaints about cats and flies - you are never going to explore a city in a hot country without flies so take the necessary precautions and the cats were in no way intrusive but are to be expected as they climb across the rooftops of the riads.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    38
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
27
53
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I had a fantastic stay at this Riad. All of the staff were really helpful, coming out to meet us and guide us to the place, recommending some amazing sights we hadn't seen yet (definitely ask about the Yves Saint Laurent gardens!), making us tea on arrival and helping us to organise our camel ride for the next day. We stayed two nights, but I would have loved to stay longer. The roof top terrace has an incredible view, and was beautiful in the evenings and at night during summer. The rooms were gorgeous, very traditionally furnished, more than comfortable, clean and with plenty of space. We had two bedrooms, a sitting room and a beautiful big bathroom with a marble bath, separate shower and double copper sinks. The restaurant was nice too, and the pool was lovely - clean and shady. The guy who was supposed to drive us to the airport the morning we left did sleep through his alarm (it was during Ramadan), but the guy working was quick to help us out and paid for our taxi in place of our airport transfer. Definitely five stars from me, I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Riad. The staff were very helpful taking our luggage to the room upon arrival. The owner also allowed us to leave our luggage at the Riad while we went on a two day trip to the Sahara Desert and was most helpful to us, booking a restaurant for us on our first night.

The Riad is centrally located and good value for money, being a five minute walk to the Souks. You do have to mind the low doorways but the place is clean and comfortable (air conditioning is provided) and is adequate for a trip to Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Horrible. Families with children please avoid in the summer months as the lack of proper air conditioning is dangerous in the heat. I booked this hotel for the air conditioning, and you guessed it, it didn't work It was 45c in Marrakech. Just imagine ... I asked two of the young "dudes" who front the Riad to look at it and they really couldn't have cared less. They also didn't have back up fans - this was all with a background of my daughter having fainted in the souk a couple of days before before due to the intense heat. In addition to this there were potholes in the floor, a socket coming out from the wall, small room, no curtains on small porthole style windows, bathroom door was broken and didn't shut, electricity waxed and waned, outdoor furniture looked dirty etc. To be fair the guys running it were nice, but were just "dudes" and simply not able to run the place professionally. To illustrate this further they had no record of our cash payment when we left. For € 20 a night more get a massive two roomed mini-suite in new town hotels with air conditioning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We slept in the "Andalous" room, it was very nice and basic furnished, but with air conditioning.
Anyway it is reccomendable to bring flip flop for the shower.
The location is very good and close to main attractions (souks, djema el fna..), tour operators for excursions and taxis.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Its a very relexing place, clean and worm. The team whas great! I came with my femily and in the begining my parents was very confuse about the medina.. And thx to cristof and abidine the crew evrithing become great! Ty for a good time in marakech. Shlomi

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and i arrived a bit late late at the airport and dint find our airport transfer we had arranged with the hotel, when we informed the hotel staff they were very apologetic and even checked with the driver only to find that he had made an error on waiting area. He was still at the airport waiting for us when we arrived at the hotel. The taxi from the airport overcharged us because normal fare should be 50-60 dirhams not 100-300. The taxi from the riad hotel is 20 during the day and 30 dirhams in the in the night is fare. We were met by one staff with curly hair, very professional, approachable and was willing to show us around the riad which was very beautiful in real life and very clean. We had to wait for our room as the previous people hadn't left and we were sat on the roof terrace and they offered us mint Moroccan tea. The hotel was authentic and very beautifully done, away from home feeling. The tortoise was same colour as the floor and I disagree that they were unkind with them, infact they were very playful with them and we had to walk carefully in the courtyard so we don't step on them. I came with my partner of 9 years and wasn't impressed when a young male staff asked me where my friend was, shouldn't assume marital status. We loved the breakfast set up and nothing we asked was too much. the young man gave us all advice we needed which we found helpful when we went to the medina and neighbouring little towns. We didn't eat at the riad but found amazing restraurants in the medina that served amazing food for 200 dirhams per person which is fare because the food was a lot of options, starter, main and desert. They cleaned our room during our stay and to our surprised the hotel exceeded our expectations, with large bedrooms, beautiful bathroom with Moroccan style. beddings very clean, towels changed and I had a one hour massage which was so relaxing, almost fell asleep. The lady was pleasant and very professional, she was not called out or disturbed at any one time. It was very quite, the whole riad hotel was so peaceful and you couldn't tell you were in Marrakech. The Hotel is hidden and we used the local boys to show us but be careful even though they were nice. by second day we could navigate where the hotel was and it made it exciting. will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms were amazing, we had one with a large balcony area in the hotel riad and it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar El Aila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar El Aila

Address: 160 Derb El Ferane, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #337 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar El Aila 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Riad Dar El Aila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar El Aila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.