We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar El Aila

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar El Aila to your Saves list
Riad Dar El Aila
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   160 Derb El Ferane, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #431 of 1,134 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Thank you to Christopher and his staff for the wonderful experience in Marrakech. My friends and I fell in love with the Riad. It was nice to to come back to the relaxing Riad after the chaos of market shopping and long day trips. The rooms were all very clean and the garden and roof top terrace was beautifully maintained. We ate dinner a couple of times at the Riad and the food was delicious. Thank you to Christopher and the hospitality of his staff to make my birthday long weekend a memorable one.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    55
    10
    11
    9
See reviews for
40
78
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Just what you would want from a riad stay in Marrakesh. Comfortable, loads of character, lovely roof terraces and places to lounge. Friendly and welcoming staff. Dinner on the roof was great. Was a little further away from the centre than some riads, but nice quiet part of the medina.

Room Tip: Rooms on the roof are light and airy, but all rooms have something special
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for four nights in March. The traditional design of the riad makes you feel at home right from the start with plenty of areas to relax, from the rooftop terrace to the pool in the reception. Our room was cleaned daily and we were welcomed with rose petals on the bed and with a towel shaped like a swan on the bed - a nice touch!

The riad is located close enough to the sooks, but far enough to chill out totally after a busy shopping trip. The owner offered us a well thought out - and very helpful - step by step guide on how to get about in the hustle bussle that takes you to and from the busy markets. The staff were very friendly, offering us good advice and reccomendations on trips, as well as making sure we were well refreshed with a mint tea or a cold beer!

We enjoyed a hammam in the riad too which was excellent. The breakfasts were a delicious French and Moroccon fusion of fresh breads, patiserrie jams and excellent coffee. We also dined in the restaurant for two nights, which offered a homemade tagine and cous cous. It was as tasty as any local tagine we experienced.

I would highly recommend this riad to anyone who is planning a stay in Marrakesh.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have stayed there at january 2013. I am also in hotel business and we liked it very much. Its clean, stylish, great staff, nice location. Has a great terrace over looking the Atlas mountains, we have enjoyed one night dinner food was good. especially terrace restaurant area is nice spot to spend time during the night and I am quite sure whole terrace is great when the weather is nice..Thanks guys

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were part of a large group that hired out the whole riad
Rooms are well appointed and I loved the traditional morrocan features
Rooms were clean and were cleaned daily. I would have liked the towels to be changed more frequently but they were nice and large and fluffy
The rooms at night were cold but we were provided with heaters which warmed the room nicely. My mattress was hard as a rock though. This was not typical of all the rooms.
As others have mentioned the riad is down the back streets but we soon worked out our way around.
Breakfast and evening meals were a little cold on the roof terrace and a couple of heaters would have been appreciated
Breakfasts if not luxurious we're adequate
We were let down on the first night when the meal that was provided was no where near enough for everybody, they did make up for it on the other 2 nights we ate there. They also organised a fantastic night with entertainment. Acrobats, musicians, belly dancer and fire eater
Thank you to Aberdeen who was excellent in meeting our groups needs ( we were noisy)
We were sadly let down at end when we were supposed to be transfered to our next riad but ended up having to pay double the rate to get there which was a sad end to an otherwise wonderful stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We were very pleased with the riad. It is a bit awkward to find it as it is in narrow windy dead end alley off another windy narrow alley in the middle of the uncharted medina (old city). Even google earth and your gps will only be able to put a blinking dot in the middle of an empty area of the NW of the Medina. Do call the riad when you get to one of the 'main' streets nearby and they'll come and lead the way. We did not and ended up having a hugly discussion with one (plus one plus another) youth that insisted on taking us there using the longest possible route and then expected to be paid as if you had rided a limo. When you get there the place is a real oasis. The riad occupies two old houses that are connected through the roof terrace (common) which is a real highlight of the place. This is where you have breakfast overlooking the roofs of the medina, the maze of houses and mosques with the powerful back image of the snow covered peaks of the High Atlas range. In spite of the fact that we had booked a 25 m2 room we came back with the impression ... that it was much smaller. The house has the typical inner courtyard and the rooms give on to this patio. The decoration, full of tastful local elements was well taken care of and once you get used to the fact that your rooms cannot be locked you actually enjoy the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Main Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

such a perfect way to end a day of shopping, we only got to spend one night there, but it was wonderful. Arrived there after a day of haggling, getting lost in the souks and running out of money (we eventually found an atm that worked), and utilised the riad's spa menu (the hamam bath, body scrub and a 1hr massage combo is well worth the 40 odd euros!), and a late night dinner of traditional morrocan tangine cooked by the lovely ladies in the kitchen. I wish i could have stayed there longer! the staff were lovely and the atmosphere was perfect to unwind. The beds are amazing and comfortable and the bathrooms are huge!

It was a good location, near to the souks and the main square

Would have loved to extended my stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Dar El Aila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar El Aila

Address: 160 Derb El Ferane, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #431 of 1,134 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar El Aila 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar El Aila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar El Aila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.