We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A heavenly riad amongst the Marrakesh chaos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar El Aila

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar El Aila to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Dar El Aila
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   160 Derb El Ferane, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #324 of 1,037 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A heavenly riad amongst the Marrakesh chaos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for four nights in March. The traditional design of the riad makes you feel at home right from the start with plenty of areas to relax, from the rooftop terrace to the pool in the reception. Our room was cleaned daily and we were welcomed with rose petals on the bed and with a towel shaped like a swan on the bed - a nice touch!

The riad is located close enough to the sooks, but far enough to chill out totally after a busy shopping trip. The owner offered us a well thought out - and very helpful - step by step guide on how to get about in the hustle bussle that takes you to and from the busy markets. The staff were very friendly, offering us good advice and reccomendations on trips, as well as making sure we were well refreshed with a mint tea or a cold beer!

We enjoyed a hammam in the riad too which was excellent. The breakfasts were a delicious French and Moroccon fusion of fresh breads, patiserrie jams and excellent coffee. We also dined in the restaurant for two nights, which offered a homemade tagine and cous cous. It was as tasty as any local tagine we experienced.

I would highly recommend this riad to anyone who is planning a stay in Marrakesh.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    40
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
30
55
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have stayed there at january 2013. I am also in hotel business and we liked it very much. Its clean, stylish, great staff, nice location. Has a great terrace over looking the Atlas mountains, we have enjoyed one night dinner food was good. especially terrace restaurant area is nice spot to spend time during the night and I am quite sure whole terrace is great when the weather is nice..Thanks guys

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were part of a large group that hired out the whole riad
Rooms are well appointed and I loved the traditional morrocan features
Rooms were clean and were cleaned daily. I would have liked the towels to be changed more frequently but they were nice and large and fluffy
The rooms at night were cold but we were provided with heaters which warmed the room nicely. My mattress was hard as a rock though. This was not typical of all the rooms.
As others have mentioned the riad is down the back streets but we soon worked out our way around.
Breakfast and evening meals were a little cold on the roof terrace and a couple of heaters would have been appreciated
Breakfasts if not luxurious we're adequate
We were let down on the first night when the meal that was provided was no where near enough for everybody, they did make up for it on the other 2 nights we ate there. They also organised a fantastic night with entertainment. Acrobats, musicians, belly dancer and fire eater
Thank you to Aberdeen who was excellent in meeting our groups needs ( we were noisy)
We were sadly let down at end when we were supposed to be transfered to our next riad but ended up having to pay double the rate to get there which was a sad end to an otherwise wonderful stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro, Portugal
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We were very pleased with the riad. It is a bit awkward to find it as it is in narrow windy dead end alley off another windy narrow alley in the middle of the uncharted medina (old city). Even google earth and your gps will only be able to put a blinking dot in the middle of an empty area of the NW of the Medina. Do call the riad when you get to one of the 'main' streets nearby and they'll come and lead the way. We did not and ended up having a hugly discussion with one (plus one plus another) youth that insisted on taking us there using the longest possible route and then expected to be paid as if you had rided a limo. When you get there the place is a real oasis. The riad occupies two old houses that are connected through the roof terrace (common) which is a real highlight of the place. This is where you have breakfast overlooking the roofs of the medina, the maze of houses and mosques with the powerful back image of the snow covered peaks of the High Atlas range. In spite of the fact that we had booked a 25 m2 room we came back with the impression ... that it was much smaller. The house has the typical inner courtyard and the rooms give on to this patio. The decoration, full of tastful local elements was well taken care of and once you get used to the fact that your rooms cannot be locked you actually enjoy the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Main Beach, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

such a perfect way to end a day of shopping, we only got to spend one night there, but it was wonderful. Arrived there after a day of haggling, getting lost in the souks and running out of money (we eventually found an atm that worked), and utilised the riad's spa menu (the hamam bath, body scrub and a 1hr massage combo is well worth the 40 odd euros!), and a late night dinner of traditional morrocan tangine cooked by the lovely ladies in the kitchen. I wish i could have stayed there longer! the staff were lovely and the atmosphere was perfect to unwind. The beds are amazing and comfortable and the bathrooms are huge!

It was a good location, near to the souks and the main square

Would have loved to extended my stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My boyfriend and I booked a room there for one night after reading the excellent reviews of the Riad, but considering the low price we paid, we were still a little bit suspicious.
Having arrived in Marrakech the day before and having largely got lost the first day, we disregarded the offer to be picked up by a member of the staff and that was a fatal error. We got terribly lost again to find the Riad. We managed to refuse the "help" of the kids, but we were laughed at when they saw us going up and down the same street multiple times. We surrendered and asked the help of the guardian of the restaurant in which we decided to have a break, so we finally got to destination.
When the door opened it seemed paradise to us. The manager of the place welcomed us with a huge smile and mint tea by the swimming pool, chatting with other guests, while the staff finished preparing our room. When we saw it we were completely amazed: bright, very clean, spacious (our room had a bonus of a little terrace looking at the beautiful garden), great attention to details. The entire Riad keeps traditional features without being overwhelming and it is a joy for the eyes.
For the rest of the day we decided not to leave the riad (did not want to get lost again) and have a relaxing afternoon/evening. Therefore we booked the Spa treatment with hammam, gommage and relaxing massage. It took a couple of hours to warm up properly the hammam and it was a bit pricey relative to the standards, but worth it. We also had dinner there and to be honest, that was the one and only place in Marrakech in which I enjoyed food. The tajine of chicken with olives was DIVINE! The meat was moist and tender and the flavours were absolutely perfect.
Given the great experience the first day, we decided to stay another day before heading to the desert, but the riad was full, then guess what? The manager took care of finding us a room in the riad next door and gave us free access to his Riad for chatting, sunbathing on the terrace or dining. Furthermore, because we wanted to stay there also when we came back from our trip, he let us keep our extra luggage there. Frankly we felt home! The guestrooms did not have a lock and yet, that never made us feel unsafe.

We had a wonderful time in the Riad thanks to the great people that run it and work there to make feel each guest taken care of. It was a marvellous experience being your guest and we're just looking forward to coming back again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We came to Marrakesh in the evening, bit tired after 3h bus ride from Essaouira, hoping for a nice place to rest. Even with a map and printed directions the riad was impossible to find. We were lost in a dark maze of narrow, dirty, smelly alleyways. Same kids offered to walk us to the riad and made sure we were completely lost. When we finally arrived, kids demanded 100 dirham for guiding us! We had bit of a screaming match, gave them 20 dirham and entered riad tired, hungry and very upset. (100 dirham is what a cleaning lady earns for all day hard work.)

We had a look around and it felt like a tranquil paradise! Beautiful swimming pool, garden, fountain, roof terrace with the view over Medina and a pot of sweet tea immediately calmed our nerves. The room was very pretty and comfortable although quite narrow, breakfast was good, we even had a makeshift, romantic, candlelit dinner on the roof, when we decided not to go back to town.

Summarising: the riad was good value for money (about 30 euro prpn), quiet, beautiful place with good food and nice, helpful staff. I would definitely recommend it to my friends. However if you are there first time call the riad before arrival and ask for someone to meet you and guide you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar El Aila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar El Aila

Address: 160 Derb El Ferane, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #324 of 1,037 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar El Aila 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Dar El Aila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar El Aila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.