We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar El Aila

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar El Aila to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Dar El Aila
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   160 Derb El Ferane, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #355 of 1,054 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Main Beach, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cozy and Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

such a perfect way to end a day of shopping, we only got to spend one night there, but it was wonderful. Arrived there after a day of haggling, getting lost in the souks and running out of money (we eventually found an atm that worked), and utilised the riad's spa menu (the hamam bath, body scrub and a 1hr massage combo is well worth the 40 odd euros!), and a late night dinner of traditional morrocan tangine cooked by the lovely ladies in the kitchen. I wish i could have stayed there longer! the staff were lovely and the atmosphere was perfect to unwind. The beds are amazing and comfortable and the bathrooms are huge!

It was a good location, near to the souks and the main square

Would have loved to extended my stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    43
    9
    7
    3
See reviews for
31
59
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My boyfriend and I booked a room there for one night after reading the excellent reviews of the Riad, but considering the low price we paid, we were still a little bit suspicious.
Having arrived in Marrakech the day before and having largely got lost the first day, we disregarded the offer to be picked up by a member of the staff and that was a fatal error. We got terribly lost again to find the Riad. We managed to refuse the "help" of the kids, but we were laughed at when they saw us going up and down the same street multiple times. We surrendered and asked the help of the guardian of the restaurant in which we decided to have a break, so we finally got to destination.
When the door opened it seemed paradise to us. The manager of the place welcomed us with a huge smile and mint tea by the swimming pool, chatting with other guests, while the staff finished preparing our room. When we saw it we were completely amazed: bright, very clean, spacious (our room had a bonus of a little terrace looking at the beautiful garden), great attention to details. The entire Riad keeps traditional features without being overwhelming and it is a joy for the eyes.
For the rest of the day we decided not to leave the riad (did not want to get lost again) and have a relaxing afternoon/evening. Therefore we booked the Spa treatment with hammam, gommage and relaxing massage. It took a couple of hours to warm up properly the hammam and it was a bit pricey relative to the standards, but worth it. We also had dinner there and to be honest, that was the one and only place in Marrakech in which I enjoyed food. The tajine of chicken with olives was DIVINE! The meat was moist and tender and the flavours were absolutely perfect.
Given the great experience the first day, we decided to stay another day before heading to the desert, but the riad was full, then guess what? The manager took care of finding us a room in the riad next door and gave us free access to his Riad for chatting, sunbathing on the terrace or dining. Furthermore, because we wanted to stay there also when we came back from our trip, he let us keep our extra luggage there. Frankly we felt home! The guestrooms did not have a lock and yet, that never made us feel unsafe.

We had a wonderful time in the Riad thanks to the great people that run it and work there to make feel each guest taken care of. It was a marvellous experience being your guest and we're just looking forward to coming back again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We came to Marrakesh in the evening, bit tired after 3h bus ride from Essaouira, hoping for a nice place to rest. Even with a map and printed directions the riad was impossible to find. We were lost in a dark maze of narrow, dirty, smelly alleyways. Same kids offered to walk us to the riad and made sure we were completely lost. When we finally arrived, kids demanded 100 dirham for guiding us! We had bit of a screaming match, gave them 20 dirham and entered riad tired, hungry and very upset. (100 dirham is what a cleaning lady earns for all day hard work.)

We had a look around and it felt like a tranquil paradise! Beautiful swimming pool, garden, fountain, roof terrace with the view over Medina and a pot of sweet tea immediately calmed our nerves. The room was very pretty and comfortable although quite narrow, breakfast was good, we even had a makeshift, romantic, candlelit dinner on the roof, when we decided not to go back to town.

Summarising: the riad was good value for money (about 30 euro prpn), quiet, beautiful place with good food and nice, helpful staff. I would definitely recommend it to my friends. However if you are there first time call the riad before arrival and ask for someone to meet you and guide you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Riad is very difficult to find but once you're there you'll fall in love and will always know how to come back! :) It is really a refugee, even inside the medina, from the fuzzy, noisy but great Marrakech! Abdou, who runs the place, I believe he is always awake :p, he's a great guy, helping us in everything and always making us feel at home! From the owners you won't get that much attention and care but that didn't make such a difference! Breakfast in the roof is really good and the decoration of the rooms is just what we were wanting from our Marrakech experience! We'll certainly be back someday!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed in this riad for three days in January. The location is not the best as it is a bit far from the main attractions of the city. However, the riad itself is very nice. The rooms are all typically decorated (although a bit too dark). The riad benefit from a great roof area where you normally have breakfast and you might organize a dinner. There is also a very nice swimming pool in the ground floor and an hammam. Unfortunately, during the three days we stayed there it was never possible to use neither the pool or the hammam as the owner always seemed to "forget" to turn on the heater (it was January!). Also, the owner is almost never there and if you need something it is sometimes difficult to sort things out. Another negative note is that the staff working there, especially the ladies that serve breakfast, are quite rude and helpless. Finally, the riad is very nice and not expensive, the service is not great but you can still manage to have a good holiday.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Just arrived back from a weeks honeymoon, we were greeted by the lovely Philippe and Anique, we were booked into a fab restaurant for our first night, the superb service did not stop there, their hospitality is second to none, great food, surroundings and peaceful. We were very sad to say goodbye, we will be going back with friends again soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011 via mobile

I arrived with my sister and best friend with initial trepidation to be welcomed into a Riad of sheer splendour and relaxation. The atmosphere was heavenly with much space to retreat to my own personal space whilst also having areas to gather together if your there with a party of friends. This Riad has impacted us so much that we all plan to return in the near future with other family members. A big thank you to Philippe, Anique and their lovely staff who made my birthday celebration all the more special by their attention to detail. See you again soon!! D Miller

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar El Aila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar El Aila

Address: 160 Derb El Ferane, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #355 of 1,054 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar El Aila 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Dar El Aila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar El Aila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;