We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Bliss!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar El Aila

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar El Aila to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Dar El Aila
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   160 Derb El Ferane, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #328 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Honeymoon Bliss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Just arrived back from a weeks honeymoon, we were greeted by the lovely Philippe and Anique, we were booked into a fab restaurant for our first night, the superb service did not stop there, their hospitality is second to none, great food, surroundings and peaceful. We were very sad to say goodbye, we will be going back with friends again soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    40
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
30
57
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011 via mobile

I arrived with my sister and best friend with initial trepidation to be welcomed into a Riad of sheer splendour and relaxation. The atmosphere was heavenly with much space to retreat to my own personal space whilst also having areas to gather together if your there with a party of friends. This Riad has impacted us so much that we all plan to return in the near future with other family members. A big thank you to Philippe, Anique and their lovely staff who made my birthday celebration all the more special by their attention to detail. See you again soon!! D Miller

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

My two teenage daughters & I stayed in this super riad right in the centre of the Medina and had a fabulous few days. We were within walking distance of all the souks and really enjoyed our shopping sprees. What was so great was the fact you could be in the middle of all the noise , people and the atmosphere of the souks and 10 minutes later we were in total tranquility, sipping mint tea in the riad. The service was excellent and we felt so welcome by all the staff and especially Stephane who looked after our every need. A must for anyone wanting to experience the fun of Marrakech with a first class retreat to stay in and be spoilt.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Riad Dar El Aila ideally situated in the heart of the busy medina within walking distance from the famous Jemâa el Fna place.
The hustle n bustle of the medina streets give way to an oasis of peace once you open the door of the Riad Dar El Aila.

Big welcome by Stéphane n his friendly,helpfull,staff members Bouchra n Leila making me feel at home straight away.
Friendly,& personalised service is definatly one of the trademarks of Dar El Aila.

.The majestic riad is tastefully decorated in traditional Maroccan style,perfect blend of harmony & colours;
Roof top restaurant and terrace where you can admire an awesome view of the Atlas mountain.
The courtyard with swimming pool and patio is a great place for relaxing after the day's sighseeing/shopping..

The traditional Moroccan cuisine served in the rooftop restaurant is exceptional.
A stay at the Riad would nt be complete without the Hamman and massage by Leila.

All the ingredients for a perfect stay.Unforgettable.Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

I stayed in this Riad once in May, for seven nights, and three nights in July.

It was clean, air conditioning was great (and necessary as it was truly hot) in July and the staff were lovely. My room had everything I could need, and there was also a small swimming pool and a lovely courtyard area to sit in. Bushra, the manager of the place, was efficient, reliable and very pleasant, and the other ladies who work there were also charming.

It seems a bit far away from the medina at first, but it is not.. and is probably a ten minute walk to the main square. It is a nice walk too -- and the neighbourhood feels nice and somehow more real than some other parts of the town.. there are ironing shops, and a tailor and a shoe repair guy just at the top of the road.

I felt it was a good deal for Marrakech as I bargained and because of this got a price discount! I do not think I would have been happy to pay 60 Euros a night for my room. One of the other reviews was correct when they said that there was no common space to meet other people, and it was a bit ‘unatmospheric’ but this was still a nice retreat from the hustle and bustle of the souq and the rest of the city.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2005

Having stayed at Villa maroc in Essaouira a few times, the comparison is inevitably going to be difficult. The room had nowhere to sit, the public/communal areas were unatmospheric and the food was just ok. Average place to stay

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar El Aila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar El Aila

Address: 160 Derb El Ferane, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #328 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar El Aila 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Riad Dar El Aila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar El Aila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.