We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SIMPLY THE BEST” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Fenn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added El Fenn to your Saves list
El Fenn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 472 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“SIMPLY THE BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

For some reason our review was credited to our daughter. Given her attention to detail she would have loved it even more than we did. Here is what should have been attributed to us: Tucked in an alley is one of the best hotels we have ever experienced. The Branson family has had a remarkable and positive impact on Morocco. El Fenn is a perfect example. Even 108 degrees could not deter our enjoyment. From the moment you enter to when you leave, you feel you are a guest at a friend's hideaway. Much of the credit for this goes to Adil and his colleague, Anna. No request is too small. And they do it with skill, enthusiasm and pride. Let's be honest, not many of us get to live in an understated palace like El Fenn. Do not even think about staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    50
    18
    9
    3
See reviews for
82
258
26
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Tucked in an alley is one of the best hotels we have ever experienced. The Branson family has had a remarkable and positive impact on Morocco. El Fenn is a perfect example. Even 108 degrees could not deter our enjoyment. From the moment you enter to when you leave, you feel you are a guest at a friend's hideaway. Much of the credit for this goes to Adil and his colleague, Anna. No request is too small. And they do it with skill, enthusiasm and pride. Let's be honest, not many of us get to live in an understated palace like El Fenn. Do not even think about staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Arriving here is like a dream. I just cannot fault it. Me and my friends had a truly wonderful stay, everything was completely perfect. The choice of pools, the food, the scenery, the atmosphere and the service...all AMAZING. We will definitely all visit again

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I celebrated our ten year anniversary at El Fenn. The property is beautiful and our room spectacular but what makes El Fenn truly special is the staff. Idil and his team took such great care of us and guided us in the right direction in a new city that can be quite overwhelming. I can't imagine what our vacation would have been like if we didn't have their help!

The property is decorated with such care (and with amazing taste!) and the art is constantly evolving. We highly recommend the suite down by the pool on the first level. The breakfast was also delicious! We will be returning as soon as possible.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Firstly, if you are looking for American style 5 star (marble everywhere and phones in the loo) this is not the place for you. If you want understated luxury, truly attentive staff and a fab art collection El Fenn is the one.

Hidden away off the main road (just down from the main square) behind a huge wooden door, leading to a warm and welcoming reception, is a cavern of rooms and spaces that feel like even if the hotel was at full capacity you would always have a quiet corner somewhere, to sit and chat or read or sip mint tea.

I stayed in a suite that unfortunately developed a small plumbing issue, however with no fuss we were move to an even bigger suite with a freestanding metal bath for the evening before returning to our original room once the issue was fixed, and we were given a bottle of champagne by way of an apology.

The hotel staff were attentive and always on hand if needed however not overbarring so one always felt reassured yet undisturbed. The hotel kindly arranged a trip to La Pause for the wife's 30th birthday which was a unique experience and well worth the drive into the hills.

The hotel has a roof top bar, restaurant, pool and a general space to relax. There appear to be no hard and fast rules, with a very relaxed approach to everything. There is a larger pool downstairs, a larger bar and formal dinning room if required. Afternoon tea was served in one of the shady courtyards to allow you to enjoy your mint tea away from the heat of the sun.

I hope to return to El Fenn, as it was an oasis of calm, relaxation amongst the heat and chaos of Marrakesh; and having traveled extensively this is one of the best hotels, if not the best hotel I have stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from a wonderful 3 night stay at El Fenn with my mum. We shared a beautiful high ceilinged courtyard room with a huge marble bath, and swam every morning, before breakfast on the roof terrace. The building is a series of quirky and beautifully decorated interior and exterior spaces and we experienced fantastic service from the staff who were helpful, friendly and caring. I am looking forward to a second stay with my husband, preferably in the same room, which the courtyard tortoises like to visit.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

No matter where you are in El Fenn, every corner, every room, every detail makes you feel like you've just ended up in a story of 1001 Nights. A dream come true. With its professional and welcoming staff, overwhelming view and bedrooms you don't want to leave, there's not much more a guest could wish for. Many thanks to Willem and all @ El Fenn for such a lovely stay! Karen van den Ende

Room Tip: Riad Vanessa is also run by El Fenn and can be booked as private Riad (4 bedrooms).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to El Fenn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Fenn

Address: Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#19 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#22 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#42 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Fenn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 20 individually styled rooms and suites, a four-bedroom private riad, 3 swimming pools and its own hammam spa, El Fenn is a unique boutique hotel combining grandeur and historic architecture with hideaway nooks, terraces and gardens - making it the most peaceful place from which to enjoy Africa's most exotic city.Our story began with two friends on the hunt for a small riad to buy as a holiday home. It was 2002 when Vanessa Branson and Howell James walked into the almost ruined courtyard of one of Marrakech's formerly great private homes. Nearing dusk and with the sound of the muezzin's call to prayer echoing in the air, they instantly fell in love with the atmospheric house which was being sold with three smaller neighbouring homes. They soon realised that their holiday home was going to become so much more.At the time, only a handful of Marrakech's riads had been converted to small hotels and Vanessa and Howell knew they wanted to open a place offering something different – a home from home retreat that combined great food and service with the spirit of the building's past and a contemporary decorative twist. During a two-year renovation, local craftsman used traditional techniques to breathe new life into the building. Polished lime plastering was used in a rainbow of colours to create walls, baths and bed frames, original tiling was renovated and carved cedar ceilings restored. Retro furniture sourced from local flea markets was combined with one-off bespoke pieces to create a unique interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your El Fenn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Fenn Marrakech
Riad El Fenn Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Fenn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.