We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic colorful retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Fenn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added El Fenn to your Saves list
El Fenn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
sao paulo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Chic colorful retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Well appointed, colorful oasis in the middle of chaos, El Fenn has everything you expect from a Boutique Riad. Helpful staff, delicious lunch, amazing decoration.
We booked a familiar room, it was a good deal but it lacked some privacy and comfort for the two sleeping upstairs. I'll sure be back to try other rooms!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    49
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
77
238
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bad Homburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

1000 Places to see before you die - El Fenn belongs to them and is the place to be.

When you step into the hotel you enter a different world and forget the noise outside. The interior design with its colors is breathtaking and every room is individually designed. Due to the comfortable bed I never slept better.

Breakfast and lunch at the roof top restaurant are absolutely delicious and the desert is to die for. I will marry the cook in my next life. I drive a fast car - hope this helps;-).

Another highlight of the day is the afternoon tea with homemade cakes and mint tea served in the courtyard.

The hamam is a must.

Very friendly and helpful front desk staff.

K

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Escape the hectic fracas of the medina and relax in the most beautiful and peaceful surroundings of El Fenn. Lunch was a set menu for 250dms that was a feast set for a king or queen. Fresh vegetable salads with bags of flavour and their signature lamb and cous cous was devine. A relax by the pool in the afternoon sun and you're ready for anything.

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

El Fenn is a beautiful hotel in the Medina of Marrakesh. You walk into the hotel and discover an oases of beauty. The colors of the walls, the furniture, and the fabrics are beautiful and inspiring. Walls are filled with art, and you discover "still-life" around in the hotel. All the rooms are different, and has its own personality and atmosphere. And the bathrooms as well. I experienced only excellent service, the hotel staff was so kind and accommodating. Very good food was served in their restaurant. I am already looking forward to travel back to Marrakesh and El Fenn

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The riad is stunning, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The afternoon tea amongst roaming tortoises is also a nice touch. The design that has gone into this place could not be bettered.

Perhaps unsurprisingly the place attracts the glitterati- during our stay we were told repeatedly by staff that Vanessa Branson and her mother were in residence, and later that a 'supermodel' had checked in. Unfortunately, if you're not glitterati, you may feel like a second tier guest.
Also, be wary of any 'complementary' room upgrades- you'll be charged service (5%) on the price of the upgraded room, which lessens the complementary nature! For us this was compounded by our travel agent (Mr and Mrs Smith)/ hotel communication breakdown whereby we were upgraded from a specially requested twin room into a double which took a day and much communication with the travel agent to be sorted. We were then asked by El- Fenn to move rooms again later during our stay. Fortunately they realised that this was going to cause considerable extra stress and allowed us to stay in the second room.
The bill can also be a problem- ours did not reflect the deposit taken by the travel agent and service was initially charged twice.
For the price, the service could be a lot better and the treatment of us as guests could have been significantly improved

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed in many boutique hotels in various far flung places and without doubt this is one of my favourites. As you step inside El Fenn from the hustle and bustle that is the Medina of Marrakech you are transported to an oasis of calm.

Originally a number of separate Riads that have been joined together it has been tastefully decorated in a traditional Moroccan style. There are only 20 rooms none of which have locks, as they want it to feel like you are staying in a home from home. This takes a little getting used to but I see their point! (There are safes in every room and padlocks are available!)

All the rooms are decorated differently with the owners art works liberally distributed throughout but I would definitely recommend going for a room on the first floor. We stayed in room 18 which was spacious and really lovely.

There is a stunning roof top terrace with loungers, a small pool (think baby pool), a bar with the best Mojitos in town (we tried quite a few from all over the city!) a restaurant area with great food and fabulous views across the rooftops of Marrakech. Its worth noting that most of the hotel has good free wifi connections.

El Fenn is a great location to explore Marrakech city centre.

In the main the service was great although I would have liked to have had a late checkout as we weren't being picked up until 2pm for our return flight. Getting changed in a side office for our return trip wasn't really what I would have expected and spoilt what would have been a perfect review.

Another reviewer coined the phrase Luxury Hippy Chic and I would have to agree.

Room Tip: All the rooms are decorated differently with the owners art works liberally distributed throughout b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, 6 days ago
It was great to meet you and see your wonderful pictures on our social media feeds. It's such a pleasure to see guests' different impressions of El Fenn through their photographs. You obviously had a great stay and we're delighted that you did. Just sorry not to be able to give you a late check out because we always offer one if we can. Unfortunately it's not always possible because we're a small hotel with a limited number of rooms and so we have to prepare them for new arrivals. I hope this explains and we look forward to seeing you again at El Fenn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed her in the last week in Feb, Friendly welcome & tour by manager, amazing pool room, with rooftop views of Marrakesh. Every day you will notice a different more stunning piece of art. So many nice touches, a tray of tea & coffee outside your door in the morning, relaxed breakfast in the roof top restaurant, afternoon tea, fantastic staff in the ground floor restaurant, good food. The El Fenn newspaper guide in your room, will become your bible for your stay. Can't wait to go back. Just be sure you are aware of the culture & what is & isn't accepted outside the hotel.

Room Tip: 19 has to be the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, 6 days ago
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay - and our newspaper! We just produced it and thought that something packed with information which was light to carry would be really useful to guests. So pleased it was a hit with you. We also have all the information on a web page that you can download to your phone because we know that there's so much on offer in Marrakech that it can be daunting to pick what to do and where to eat. Happy to know it helped you. And we really hope to see you again at El Fenn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Fenn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Fenn

Address: Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#14 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#27 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#29 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Fenn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 20 individually styled rooms and suites, a four-bedroom private riad, 3 swimming pools and its own hammam spa, El Fenn is a unique boutique hotel combining grandeur and historic architecture with hideaway nooks, terraces and gardens - making it the most peaceful place from which to enjoy Africa's most exotic city.Our story began with two friends on the hunt for a small riad to buy as a holiday home. It was 2002 when Vanessa Branson and Howell James walked into the almost ruined courtyard of one of Marrakech's formerly great private homes. Nearing dusk and with the sound of the muezzin's call to prayer echoing in the air, they instantly fell in love with the atmospheric house which was being sold with three smaller neighbouring homes. They soon realised that their holiday home was going to become so much more.At the time, only a handful of Marrakech's riads had been converted to small hotels and Vanessa and Howell knew they wanted to open a place offering something different – a home from home retreat that combined great food and service with the spirit of the building's past and a contemporary decorative twist. During a two-year renovation, local craftsman used traditional techniques to breathe new life into the building. Polished lime plastering was used in a rainbow of colours to create walls, baths and bed frames, original tiling was renovated and carved cedar ceilings restored. Retro furniture sourced from local flea markets was combined with one-off bespoke pieces to create a unique interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your El Fenn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Fenn Marrakech
Riad El Fenn Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Fenn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.