We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderfully special place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Fenn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added El Fenn to your Saves list
El Fenn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A wonderfully special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Just returned from spending 3 nights at El Fenn and could not recommend this place more. It is a little oasis of calm, luxury and relaxation right in the middle of the crazy yet splendid medina. The location could not be better as you are in a stones throw of all that is happening. you can walk easily to the souks (although then you will get totally lost amongst the alleyways of shopping!) and the main square with all its entertainment and night markets is a 5 minute stroll. All the staff at El Fenn and so friendly and helpful, recommending places to go and restaurants to eat in (including no. 14 stall on the night market which you must try!). We were only there for 3 full days and managed to get two spa treatments in purely because the first (hammam followed by a massage) was so good we needed to ensure we got another massage in before we left! Having the beautiful pool and plunge pool on the roof terrace cannot be underestimated given the heat and the ability to just take some time out relax and cool down. The decor of the place is spectacular with all its nuances at every corner it completely draws you in. The relaxing courtyard where they serve up complimentary tea and cakes each afternoon is awash with birds (and tortoises!) and it is a place which is just so easy to just lose yourself. A rude awakening returning to a rainy England yesterday. Would not stay anywhere else in Marrakech that is for sure.

Room Tip: All the rooms look beautiful I had a peak in a few whilst there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    44
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
62
206
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We recently stayed at El Fenn for 4 days in August. It was hands down one of the best hotels we have ever stayed!

The location is right near the medina but far enough away to not be too loud. The interiors were stylish and elegant and our room was huge and relaxing. The perfect stay if you are looking for a relaxing, beautiful hotel with style.

The service was wonderful and we found Abdal to be particularly excellent!

Room Tip: Room 14 was a huge secluded room right near one of the pools. Definitely recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This really is one of the best hotels in the world - and I'm fortunate to have stayed in some great places over the years. El Fenn is stylish and relaxed. The rooms are gorgeous and idiosyncratic, with exquisite artwork, high ceilings and huge bathrooms. There are countless places to lounge and chill or snuggle up with a book. Mint tea and cakes are served each afternoon in the central, plant filled courtyard – also home to two tortoises. Beautiful views of Marrakech and the Koutobia Mosque from the roof terrace. But it’s the friendly service which makes this place so special. Adil, the house manager and the team, were ever eager to provide advice on places to eat, shop and visit. We can't wait to go back

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We had the most wonderful hospitality at El Fenn. The staff were so kind and helpful. The rooms were absolutely beautiful and the environment of the riad was just fantastic. Located in the heart of the Medina, if you want to experience Marrakech and retreat into an oasis I could think of nowhere better. What a fantastic experience and we will be back for sure... with our friends too! THANK YOU and very very highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

My husband and I visited Riad El Fenn as part of our honeymoon in Morocco. We loved it - the staff is friendly, kind, attentive, and accommodating. The entire hotel is gorgeous. We were lucky to spend nights in a few of the guest rooms, all of which were uniquely beautiful, tastefully decorated, spacious, and quiet. The food at the hotel was nice too. El Fenn has many small areas such as courtyards, pools, and reading areas that make the Riad feel very peaceful, quiet, and private. The location is very central - close to lots of good restaurants and shops. We also booked an excursion to the desert through El Fenn, and were very pleased with the three day trip that they helped us to organize. We went to the spa at El Fenn to get a traditional Hammam treatment and we recommend it... this is a great spot!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Its a bit like going into the Tardis! An unassuming modest exterior that opens up into a series of beautifully designed intimate spaces, comfortable and stylish. However, it is the staff that really makes the time you spend at El Fenn really special, they really are fabulous. Had a wonderful time, ate good food and enjoyed seeing the collection of contemporary art in this setting. There are tortoises too!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Everything was perfect, beautiful rooms, lovely staff, good food and well located. Would highly recommend this Riad. Day trips are expensive when booked via the Riad but you do get a big air conditioned car so worth it if you can spare the cash.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Fenn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Fenn

Address: Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#26 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#50 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Fenn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 20 individually styled rooms and suites, a four-bedroom private riad, 3 swimming pools and its own hammam spa, El Fenn is a unique boutique hotel combining grandeur and historic architecture with hideaway nooks, terraces and gardens - making it the most peaceful place from which to enjoy Africa's most exotic city.Our story began with two friends on the hunt for a small riad to buy as a holiday home. It was 2002 when Vanessa Branson and Howell James walked into the almost ruined courtyard of one of Marrakech's formerly great private homes. Nearing dusk and with the sound of the muezzin's call to prayer echoing in the air, they instantly fell in love with the atmospheric house which was being sold with three smaller neighbouring homes. They soon realised that their holiday home was going to become so much more.At the time, only a handful of Marrakech's riads had been converted to small hotels and Vanessa and Howell knew they wanted to open a place offering something different – a home from home retreat that combined great food and service with the spirit of the building's past and a contemporary decorative twist. During a two-year renovation, local craftsman used traditional techniques to breathe new life into the building. Polished lime plastering was used in a rainbow of colours to create walls, baths and bed frames, original tiling was renovated and carved cedar ceilings restored. Retro furniture sourced from local flea markets was combined with one-off bespoke pieces to create a unique interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your El Fenn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Fenn Marrakech
Riad El Fenn Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Fenn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.