We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Fenn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added El Fenn to your Saves list
El Fenn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Vienna, Austria
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just fine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights, perfectly located, great service, clean and well kept, spacious rooms, maybe a little bit much decorated (sometimes a little bit less is much more), but overall a wonderful and perfect place to stay in marrakech.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    44
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
63
214
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I loved the hotel - the rooms, the gardens, the staff, everything was perfect. Our own private paradise! Excellent design, and ideal for relaxation.
Additionally, the staff made great recommendations about daytrips and restaurants, and we willing to help with whatever we needed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My husband and I spent 4 wonderful days in this inspiring hotel. The atmosphere is warm, stylish and sexy.The roof terrace is fantastic! Are you looking for romance and inspiration Go there! Thanks to all the staff for a great stay in Marrakech!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darien ct.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The Riad El Fenn really was a feast for the eyes from the minute you arrive, and you never tire of the admiration for the design and architecture and color.
We were in room number 1 right in the courtyard and it had a big round tub, a comfortable sitting area right in front of the huge beautiful doors facing the courtyard and a comfortable bed. The ceilings were super high and the luxurious curtains surrounding the doors were dramatic, the place felt comfortably luxurious. We enjoyed languishing around our Moroccan table lying on the rug or a pouf and enjoying a glass of wine, even with our doors open facing the courtyard we felt somehow connected yet private.
The pool was fabulous and just the right temperature for a really refreshing dip between medina jaunts and an afternoon catnap.
We only used the downstairs pool which seemed a bit more shaded than the rooftop pool.
The rooftop was great, best part was the great view in the evening of the lit up mosque and all the great nooks and crannies to find your own private space to just laze and stargaze while listening to the call to prayer or a pre dinner cocktail .
Dinner was served only rooftop during our stay though there is also a beautiful dining room and bar downstairs .
Breakfast was good and served open air upstairs as well ,buffet style with eggs a la carte( we enjoyed the eggs tajine)and fresh oj.
The staff in general were very nice and at meals service was very good as well as for drinks.
The welcome drink in the courtyard upon arrival was a nice touch before being shown your room as well as the daily afternoon tea available in the courtyard.Though breakfast was not included in the price( though very reasonable and I considered a good value price/ quality..) they set up complimentary tea and coffee outside your room each morning.
The toiletries are very nice (amazing!) so don't bother with bringing your own...though they are not the take home size and I wish I had bought some in the gift shop because the shampoo and conditioner were some of the best I have ever tried.
Also, they give you a list ( either paper or web access)of restaurants, shops, advice on what to see and do etc. and definitely take their advice on letting things go a bit while in marrakesch and don't get too uptight with haggling for prices, being asked for guide money from local boys , etc, you need to let things roll off your back a bit while out in the medina... Hard to learn at first, next time I hope to be better at it.
If El Fenn could improve a bit I would say it would be:
1) menu selection / food at dinner. After dining there one night, it gets a bit tired the 2nd or 3rd as there is no element of surprise/ novelty as far as a different menu or specials. Ie: one of us ordered the lamb tagine both nights and it was inconsistent , good the 1st time and verging on extremely disappointing the 2nd with the chicken tagine dry as a bone and the pasta very overcooked.
One can overlook this the first night due to the lovely ambiance of dining under the stars but the 2nd night it just seems a bit tired as far as the food.
2)front office:we asked several times about a Berber village tour in the front office and we just couldn't get any one to take any real interest in our questions and curiosity about taking this tour, we just got very cut and dry answers. Maybe the staff has no incentive to encourage guests or " sell" the tour but it was on offer through them and they just seemed too bothered or didn't understand that we were trying to make a decision as to wether we would want to spend one of our precious days there doing that and we just got very unenthusiastic bland responses( maybe the tour isn't that great and they don't want to sell it... Who knows )it would be nice if they had a book with some pictures and specifics of the tours on offer.
Also do find out what medina gate you are closest to for map purposes and getting back on your own or even telling a taxi,
this information wasn't given to us when we first arrived and not until the 2nd or last day( just unfortunate chance as we had a difficult time getting back our first trip out of the hotel).i know navigating the city is our responsibility but it goes back to the feeling that we didn't get enough information from the front office which I find unfortunate as I feel they seemed to be persons that would have a lot to offer regarding the city.
Overall the staff seemed very efficient and sophisticated. Our pick up from the train station and drop at the airport were very pleasant and the group tipping policy at the end makes the stay hassle free and our driver was so kind and he wouldn't take a tip from us upon departure.

Overall I would definitely pick El Fenn for my next stay and recommend it to friends.. I look forward to going back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 Nights and really enjoyed our stay. The Staff was very friendly and helpful. The riad is quite and very nice. If you are looking for privacy in the busy city of marrakesh its a lovely place to stay. Thanks a lot for everything.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in this lovely Riad. The room was spacious, bathroom huge and in a courtyard with only one other room nearby. Coffee arrived every morning and the breakfast on the roof terrace was delicious - too much to actually eat. We had treatments which were excellent and ate dinner there once, again on the terrace, when the food was great.

It is in the Medina and walking distance from the main square but once you are back inside it is so quiet. Only a 20min drive from the airport, the manager advised us to get a local taxi because it was cheaper than the driver they could arrange which was nice. The staff were all lovely, I would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This Riad was well tipped in "Marrakech Select". We spent a very enjoyable and lazy afternoon here. We started with a light lunch on the terrace which enjoys a great view of the famous mosque, with rather bizarrely a strip of grass or putting green immediately in front of it on the terrace. We then dozed and read on their long comfortable sofas, for much of the afternoon. We returned later in the evening for a drink to enjoy the view and atmosphere.

Our only wish was that we had spent longer at this splendid place and stayed here, rather than at Riad Catalina around the corner. Service was discrete, courteous and efficient. A wonder through some of the other rooms and floors indicated that this would be a very relaxing place to stay. If we ever return to Marrakech we will be checking availability here before anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Fenn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Fenn

Address: Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#27 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#45 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Fenn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 20 individually styled rooms and suites, a four-bedroom private riad, 3 swimming pools and its own hammam spa, El Fenn is a unique boutique hotel combining grandeur and historic architecture with hideaway nooks, terraces and gardens - making it the most peaceful place from which to enjoy Africa's most exotic city.Our story began with two friends on the hunt for a small riad to buy as a holiday home. It was 2002 when Vanessa Branson and Howell James walked into the almost ruined courtyard of one of Marrakech's formerly great private homes. Nearing dusk and with the sound of the muezzin's call to prayer echoing in the air, they instantly fell in love with the atmospheric house which was being sold with three smaller neighbouring homes. They soon realised that their holiday home was going to become so much more.At the time, only a handful of Marrakech's riads had been converted to small hotels and Vanessa and Howell knew they wanted to open a place offering something different – a home from home retreat that combined great food and service with the spirit of the building's past and a contemporary decorative twist. During a two-year renovation, local craftsman used traditional techniques to breathe new life into the building. Polished lime plastering was used in a rainbow of colours to create walls, baths and bed frames, original tiling was renovated and carved cedar ceilings restored. Retro furniture sourced from local flea markets was combined with one-off bespoke pieces to create a unique interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Fenn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Fenn Marrakech
Riad El Fenn Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Fenn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.