We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just STUNNING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Fenn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added El Fenn to your Saves list
El Fenn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just STUNNING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed here in May and had the most blissful 3 night stay in the heart of Marrakesh - all just a 5 minute walk from the infamous Souks.

The staff were all lovely and the decor was so tasteful it hurt. Super comfy beds and great cocktails.

A gorgeous mix of mid-century and traditional Moroccan styles. Would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    44
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
62
213
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I rarely write reviews on trip advisor, but I recently enjoyed a fabulous evening at Riad El Fenn's restaurant. On this occasion I was only a guest at the restaurant, but I have been a guest of the hotel in June 2006, May 2008 and September 2008. Over the years the riad has expanded and improved, but it's the familiar faces of staff that make the place extra special and their attention to service. Houssaine, the restaurant manager, knew it was a special occasion and saw to it that we had a perfect evening on the roof terrace - faultless service, delicious meal and an absolutely magical setting.

I highly recommend a stay at Riad El Fenn. It is an other worldly oasis of tranquility and the perfect counter balance to the hectic Marrakech medina.

As a frequent visitor to Marrakech, I can say a big plus is its location. Taxis/car access is just a few meters from the door, which is very reassuring when dropped off late at night! It is 5 minutes walking distance to jemaa el fna square (close but not too close) and close to the la nouveau ville neighbourhoods of hivernage and gueliz.

Room Tip: The colonnade rooms on the first floor offer more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I must start this review by stating that I do not write reviews period, let alone 2 months after my trip.

El Fenn was simple a stunning Riad, from the immaculate gardens, to the ornate bedrooms but most extraordinarily, the amazing staff. El Fenn is located in the heart of the Medina but once you enter you feel like you've entered into an oasis. No amount of reviews/ pictures can accurately depict this stunning hotel.

Before we arrived, we arranged an itinerary with Karimah who paid exquisite attention to detail. From arranging airport pickup and drop off service, a tour of the Souks with mrberbercarpet, to cooking and belly dancing classes to even accommodating an extra night stay at the very last minute.

On our arrival, we were met by a VERY handsome gentleman who made us feel very relaxed and comfortable. He taught us some Arabic words/phrases and gave us a history lessons of landmarks we passed. We weren't quite sure if we heading in the right direction when he got close to the Riad, because it was in the middle of the medina and we had to walk to the hotel but the uncertainty was worth it.

We were given a tour of the Riad and our suite which was beautifully decorated. In our suite we were met with fresh flowers and a sumptuous plate of pastries and Mint team. The almond cake was DIVINE. We had dinner at the rooftop restaurant and was catered to by the staff, even ensuring that we're comfortable when the temperature dropped by providing comfy blankets.

My roommate and I wanted to try an authentic Moroccan dinner and once again Karimah arranged reservations for dinner at Al Fassia. She even arranged pickup from our Sunday Brunch at La Moumania to ensure that we would be on time for our cooking class.

One day when we were slightly lost at Jemma's el-Fnaa square, we met one of the staff members Icham who helped us even on his day off. He even gave us suggestions of non touristy activities to partake in.

Icham, Abel, Karimah, Mrberbercarpet, bartender/waiter whose name name I can't remover and all the amazing staff at El Fenn, thank you for making my trip truly remarkable. I have memories to last a lifetime.

If you're reading this review, stop and book El Fenn as your Riad of choice. You won't regret it!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We were on a family holiday and stayed for 4 nights at El Fenn. It was a very comfortable stay with a great roof terrace especially to relax and have dinner at night. The pools were great to cool off during the hot hours of the day. Great location in the old town and easy to find in comparison to other Riads in the medina. Hotel staff was very helpful and it was all together a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We recently spent 4 nights at El Fenn on our first trip to Marrakech. The staff at El Fenn were fantastic and very accommodating. They booked several day trips for us including a camel ride and a trip to the Atlas Mountains.
The riad is spectacular... The decor is beautiful. Each corner of the riad has been decorated in Moroccan style. Lots of amazing Instagram photos here! The rooms are all individually decorated which is a great surprise. We had a stunning junior suite. Only thing to note is that as with lots of traditional riads there aren't locks on the rooms.. When you leave for the day you close your door to the room with a latch so anyone could access. This was a first for me however, we soon felt very relaxed and realized how safe the riad was. In general the riad feels very safe. It's right next to the souks but once inside the doors of el fenn you feel instantly safe, relaxed and tranquil. Definitely an oasis and place to relax. The roof top space is amazing... Beautifully decorated.. And a lovely restaurant to eat and enjoy drinks at night time looking at the stars.
Each day the staff would leave complimentary bottles of water, coke and and a bottle of wine in our rooms.
We loved the turtles they had in one of the courtyards...just wandering around!
We had a couples hammam at El Fenn spa... This was a great experience! Would recommend!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong- all individually decorated in beautiful styling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Located near the Bas El Ksour gate and mere minutes walk from the heart of Marrakech's Djemaa El Fna square is El Fenn.
Be prepared to be bewitched from the moment you enter this extremely stylish riad and enjoy its calm opulence and measured decadence.
The staff are all outstanding as was the food and attention to every detail. Nothing was too much effort.They were exceptional hosts who helped us to experience the amazing city that is Marrakech.
After getting lost and found in the labyrinth of souks we enjoyed the hammam at El Fenn followed by another sunset on the massive roof terrace enjoying delicious food and wine as the beautiful yet haunting sound of the muezzin's reverberates across the rooftops.
We had a colonnade room which was lovely and large with a massive bed, bath and fireplace.
Staying at El Fenn feels like being a part of a very special family.

Our thanks to all at ElFenn.
Linda And Patrick Melbourne Australia

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I can't write more highly about Riad El Fenn. Located on a quiet street at the start of the colorful and bustling markets, El Fenn is a quiet oasis but not too far from the action. Within the walls are lush courtyards, a serene pool area, spacious rooms (made so dark and quiet at night that I haven't slept better since), and an overall soothing yet sumptuous atmosphere. The roofdeck restaurant offers a nice alternative to going out without feeling like you are missing out. The textures and colors of the furnishings and decor and scale of the place will inspire me forever.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Fenn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Fenn

Address: Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#26 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Fenn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 20 individually styled rooms and suites, a four-bedroom private riad, 3 swimming pools and its own hammam spa, El Fenn is a unique boutique hotel combining grandeur and historic architecture with hideaway nooks, terraces and gardens - making it the most peaceful place from which to enjoy Africa's most exotic city.Our story began with two friends on the hunt for a small riad to buy as a holiday home. It was 2002 when Vanessa Branson and Howell James walked into the almost ruined courtyard of one of Marrakech's formerly great private homes. Nearing dusk and with the sound of the muezzin's call to prayer echoing in the air, they instantly fell in love with the atmospheric house which was being sold with three smaller neighbouring homes. They soon realised that their holiday home was going to become so much more.At the time, only a handful of Marrakech's riads had been converted to small hotels and Vanessa and Howell knew they wanted to open a place offering something different – a home from home retreat that combined great food and service with the spirit of the building's past and a contemporary decorative twist. During a two-year renovation, local craftsman used traditional techniques to breathe new life into the building. Polished lime plastering was used in a rainbow of colours to create walls, baths and bed frames, original tiling was renovated and carved cedar ceilings restored. Retro furniture sourced from local flea markets was combined with one-off bespoke pieces to create a unique interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your El Fenn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Fenn Marrakech
Riad El Fenn Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Fenn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.