We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in marrakech!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Fenn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added El Fenn to your Saves list
El Fenn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best place in marrakech!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of stay at El Fenn twice while on our honeymoon in April. We first stayed in room 1 in the courtyard which was beautiful (like every other room in this fantastic riad). We loved being in this room as you feel like you're in the middle of everything happening in the riad, you also get to watch the many tortoises strolling around their huge home, even sunbathing in the spa! Everything about el fenn is not only individual but beautiful, I'm an artist so a very visual person and I loved walking around all the many areas of this very unique riad. The pool on the ground floor is great if you want to go for an actual swim however I loved just relaxing in the sun in the plunge pool on the terrace. For our second visit at the end of our honeymoon we were upgraded to room 6 which is a pool suite, this is the most amazing room we've ever stayed in ever!! This made our honeymoon perfect, having our own living room (with a swing!!) huge bedroom and bathroom and then a private terrace and pool, AMAZING! We're so grateful for the upgrade as we were unable to afford this room ourselves so we will always remember this kindness :)
However even if you can't afford a pool suite all the rooms are completely fabulous and I wouldn't advise staying anywhere else!
We also loved the afternoon tea every afternoon in the courtyard, delicious!
I can't wait for our next trip back to marrakech just to come and stay at El Fenn.
Thanks again x

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your time here and how great to hear that you enjoyed both your rooms. We were delighted to upgrade you because we knew it was a special trip and were only too happy to help. Come back for your first anniversary….?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    51
    18
    8
    3
See reviews for
88
276
26
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We first visited El Fenn last November and were overwhelmed by the beauty, charm and tranquillity of this stunning riad. The whole place is a work of art, beautifully curated, with such richness and depth of colours that sparkle as the light fades. The food was fantastic and the staff could not have been more helpful and attentive making for a truly memorable stay. In fact we had such an amazing experience that we had to bring our children when we visited again recently. This time we again had a wonderful time but the children had an experience that they will never forget. El Fenn is so safe and secure and the staff so helpful that after the madness of the souk we were all able to relax and wind down in these beautiful surroundings. They were even able to cater for all the children's dietary requirements when the local food was not the most popular! It really has been the most perfect place stay and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
It was so lovely to see you all again and we're always happy to help cater to children who might find tagines a bit much! Thanks so much for taking the time to review. It's always such a pleasure to know that people have enjoyed their time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We were lucky enough to have the most amazing long weekend at El Fenn recently. Our second visit to this wonderful City was the stuff of dreams. It was our first adventurous trip abroad with our 1 year old son and the staff at El Fenn made our stay so relaxing, enjoyable and family friendly. The rooms are amazing, each one has it's own character and style. The food is delicious and the kitchen is happy to cater for a small persons needs too. Whenever we thought we need something there would be someone on hand to help. It's an oasis of calm in the hustle of the city, but a destination in itself when you consider the rooftop bar with exemplary views over Marrakesh. It really is the very best place to stay in this magical City.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
It was so lovely to have you here and we always try to make sure that parents get to enjoy the riad as much as the children do so we're happy to help with food, babysitting and anything else you need. Marrakech is a wonderful city and culture to introduce children to so we're delighted that you started early with yours! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

After my first stay at this incredible oasis, I didn't think it could get any better....I was wrong. Recently went back and stayed at El-Fenn again and didn't want to leave. The rooms are stunning, the management and service unparalleled, and the feeling you get when you walk through the door is indescribable....total sanctuary. Understated luxury in the medina is near impossible to find but this gem has it all. I felt so at home on more than one occasion I dozed off in one of the quiet comfy corners hidden throughout the hotel. Food was fantastic and there really is no other place to take in the views while enjoying a cool glass of Rose on the rooftop. Now I just need to figure out when I can go back....

Room Tip: No tip needed...all the rooms have their own character and charm...there isn't a bad one at El-F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Come back soon for a snooze and a glass on the rooftop! Thanks so much for taking the time to review. It really makes all the difference to get such great feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

One of the reasons I love Marrakech so much is that my first experience was at the incredible Riad El Fenn. Each time I've returned, El Fenn only improves: more beautiful rooms (the new ones off the orange tree courtyard and rear pool are incredible), fantastic food and a sense of calmness that is hard to match in Marrakech. The location is ideal: as it's on the edge of the medina, you have easy access to the souk (and Jemaa El F'Naa, the Koutoubia, etc) but can come and go while avoiding the madness. In fact, the view of the Koutoubia from the roof terrace is one of the most lovely in town. The staff is attentive and the atmosphere oozes hospitality and charm. I'll never stay anywhere else in Marrakech.

Room Tip: Room 11 is a personal favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Such a great review so thank you very much for writing. We've completely refurbished El Fenn over the past two years so it's lovely to hear that you liked the changes. Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I visited El Fenn with a number of friends to celebrate a birthday and have to say that they lived up to all the expectations I had....and more!

Hidden behind an unassuming frontage is a heavenly palace of courtyards, terraces and internal gardens. The roof terrace has lots of comfortable shaded seating with little separate areas that makes you feel like you are the only guests there.

All the rooms have a different feel and are immaculate, my bathroom in particular was spectacular.

The staff were incredibly helpful and nothing was too much for them. Making sure that your every desire is catered for, we can't thank Megan enough for everything she did for us.

The location is perfect for exploring all that Marrakesh has to offer and never being too far away from the quite peaceful home from home that is El Fenn.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
It was wonderful to have you all here for such a great celebration. We were delighted to host you and you must all make sure to come back again for the 50th….?! Thanks so much for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Riad El Fenn is a very special place to stay. We stayed in the Junior Suite with the red leather walls and thoroughly enjoyed the ambience of the courtyards and pools. There are lots of different areas to enjoy so it always felt very private and luxurious.

The food and drink was extremely enjoyable with healthy lunches and evening meals taken on the rood terrace.

The hotel is wonderful and we can't rate it highly enough.

Room Tip: It is worth paying more for a Suite. They are all very unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
We're so pleased you enjoyed your time with us so much. All the rooms here are unique so I guess this means that you have to come back to try out some others…..?! Thanks for such great feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#7 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 645 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Villa des Orangers
La Villa des Orangers
#28 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 413 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Farnatchi
Riad Farnatchi
#31 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,311 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#29 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 756 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Fenn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Fenn

Address: Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#14 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#19 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#23 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#26 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Fenn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 20 individually styled rooms and suites, a four-bedroom private riad, 3 swimming pools and its own hammam spa, El Fenn is a unique boutique hotel combining grandeur and historic architecture with hideaway nooks, terraces and gardens - making it the most peaceful place from which to enjoy Africa's most exotic city.Our story began with two friends on the hunt for a small riad to buy as a holiday home. It was 2002 when Vanessa Branson and Howell James walked into the almost ruined courtyard of one of Marrakech's formerly great private homes. Nearing dusk and with the sound of the muezzin's call to prayer echoing in the air, they instantly fell in love with the atmospheric house which was being sold with three smaller neighbouring homes. They soon realised that their holiday home was going to become so much more.At the time, only a handful of Marrakech's riads had been converted to small hotels and Vanessa and Howell knew they wanted to open a place offering something different – a home from home retreat that combined great food and service with the spirit of the building's past and a contemporary decorative twist. During a two-year renovation, local craftsman used traditional techniques to breathe new life into the building. Polished lime plastering was used in a rainbow of colours to create walls, baths and bed frames, original tiling was renovated and carved cedar ceilings restored. Retro furniture sourced from local flea markets was combined with one-off bespoke pieces to create a unique interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your El Fenn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Fenn Marrakech
Riad El Fenn Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Fenn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.