We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Fenn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added El Fenn to your Saves list
El Fenn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

What a beautiful Riad with inspiring architecture, art and perfect ambiance. Great location to the main square. The staff was incredibly friendly and helped advise us a great recommendation to where we found beautiful Moroccan rugs. My only complaint would be the quality of food. For such a nice place and restaurant, I would expect better quality. We had amazing Moroccan tagines and stews all throughout our time in Morocco, except for Riad el Fenn. We asked for something vegan/vegetarian but we were served plain peas and potatoes without couscous, without chutney or any flavourful sauces. So the food was disappointing but otherwise, the Riad and service was remarkable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    44
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
63
214
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This hotel is quite possible one of the best hotels in the world. It was thoughtfully designed to create a sense of peace and tranquility amid the Marrakech hustle and bustle. It is close to all attractions and the staff is top of the line. The roof terraces are amazing and the breakfast is excellent! A must stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This incredible Riad has a 'wow" factor not to be underestimated. The fantastic renovation combines traditional style and elegance with all the modern comforts you could wish for. We were travelling with our 4 year old and the Riad perfectly catered for all of us. The staff are extremely attentive and helpful. We certainly plan to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

El Fenn is a uniquely excellent hotel. It's in one of the best locations in Marrakesh (within the medina but at the edge so that you're not 'buried' inside the medina), a 2-minute walk to the Djema el Fna, and next to the Mouassine section of the medina. It has a high level of luxury (and the prices are quite high too, but deservedly) yet balanced by a very Moroccan attitude--not overly luxurious, and decorated in an authentic Moroccan style. Each room is entirely different, and there are several lovely open courtyards. The building is a genuine old riad with exquisite design around the door frames, beautiful wood, and elegant fixtures. And the roof-top terrace is probably the nicest in Marrakech--overlooking the Katoubia with lots of comfortable corners to relax in, along with a bar.
Although I'm an avid reader of TripAdvisor, this is the first time I've written a review of a hotel, but having just returned from El Fenn I felt that I should share my very positive experience with other readers. While you can find rave reviews of a very wide range of hotels in Marrakech (and there are of course many hotels of every different standard), I agree with previous reviewers who wrote "absolutely beautiful" and "lovely". And I also agree with the comments about the service--exceptional, personal, and professional.
The amenities were also excellent quality--both the hammam and the massage were wonderful, and the hotel organized several different excursions for us, which were reliable, fun, and reasonably priced. Some of the rooms overlooking the main courtyard can be a bit noisy, but that's also part of the open atmosphere of the hotel.
My one critical comment would be that it seems a shame to charge additionally for breakfast at this level of hotel, since while the breakfast is good (fresh fruit, croissants, juice, yogurt, and a choice of an egg dish) it's not elaborate, and in my opinion is that it's always better to include everything in the initial price so clients don't feel "nickeled & dimed". It would perhaps be better to include the basic breakfast and then allow people to order hot dishes as a supplement (?).
However, at this moment I am saving up my money to be able to go back to El Fenn next year and enjoy all the wonderful and authentic aspects of Marrakesh that this riad has to offer.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the main courtyard are lovely but more open to noise. If you can afford it (which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Totally amazing in every way. So quiet and tranquil and decorated beautifully. Every room is different and the art and range of colour is sensational. The staff are incredibly friendly and kind and want to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The food is delicious, on the roof and in the dining room. Generally the most pleasant hotel/ riad I have ever stayed in and felt very at home. I didn't want to leave. Very easy walk into the Jemaa el- Fnaa and souks. Also staff were very knowledgeable and helpful with directing you towards the variety of Biennale events which El Fenn are involved in. It is a large riad with a library, pool and turtles but it is cosy and homely. Desperate to go back. Recommend highly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Absolutely beautifully renovated riad - sumptuous and exotic. Excellent food served on the rooftop. I went over Christmas period - sun shining, blue sky; what's not to like? Well located for the old town. Hospitable staff, and a wonderful hamam.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Wonderful in every way. The location was perfect -- just on the outskirts of the souks, but hidden away down an alley for maximum tranquility. Our room was gorgeous. Service was exceptional. Turtles were abundant. Couldn't recommend more highly!

Also, I am usually not one for airport transfers, but having a pickup was worthwhile given the tucked-away location.

Room Tip: Room 14 is breath-taking, with incredibly high ceilings and a massive metal tub in the bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Fenn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Fenn

Address: Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#27 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#45 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Fenn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 20 individually styled rooms and suites, a four-bedroom private riad, 3 swimming pools and its own hammam spa, El Fenn is a unique boutique hotel combining grandeur and historic architecture with hideaway nooks, terraces and gardens - making it the most peaceful place from which to enjoy Africa's most exotic city.Our story began with two friends on the hunt for a small riad to buy as a holiday home. It was 2002 when Vanessa Branson and Howell James walked into the almost ruined courtyard of one of Marrakech's formerly great private homes. Nearing dusk and with the sound of the muezzin's call to prayer echoing in the air, they instantly fell in love with the atmospheric house which was being sold with three smaller neighbouring homes. They soon realised that their holiday home was going to become so much more.At the time, only a handful of Marrakech's riads had been converted to small hotels and Vanessa and Howell knew they wanted to open a place offering something different – a home from home retreat that combined great food and service with the spirit of the building's past and a contemporary decorative twist. During a two-year renovation, local craftsman used traditional techniques to breathe new life into the building. Polished lime plastering was used in a rainbow of colours to create walls, baths and bed frames, original tiling was renovated and carved cedar ceilings restored. Retro furniture sourced from local flea markets was combined with one-off bespoke pieces to create a unique interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Fenn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Fenn Marrakech
Riad El Fenn Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Fenn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.