We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Fenn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added El Fenn to your Saves list
El Fenn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 470 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Truly stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This incredible Riad has a 'wow" factor not to be underestimated. The fantastic renovation combines traditional style and elegance with all the modern comforts you could wish for. We were travelling with our 4 year old and the Riad perfectly catered for all of us. The staff are extremely attentive and helpful. We certainly plan to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    49
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
78
242
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

El Fenn is a uniquely excellent hotel. It's in one of the best locations in Marrakesh (within the medina but at the edge so that you're not 'buried' inside the medina), a 2-minute walk to the Djema el Fna, and next to the Mouassine section of the medina. It has a high level of luxury (and the prices are quite high too, but deservedly) yet balanced by a very Moroccan attitude--not overly luxurious, and decorated in an authentic Moroccan style. Each room is entirely different, and there are several lovely open courtyards. The building is a genuine old riad with exquisite design around the door frames, beautiful wood, and elegant fixtures. And the roof-top terrace is probably the nicest in Marrakech--overlooking the Katoubia with lots of comfortable corners to relax in, along with a bar.
Although I'm an avid reader of TripAdvisor, this is the first time I've written a review of a hotel, but having just returned from El Fenn I felt that I should share my very positive experience with other readers. While you can find rave reviews of a very wide range of hotels in Marrakech (and there are of course many hotels of every different standard), I agree with previous reviewers who wrote "absolutely beautiful" and "lovely". And I also agree with the comments about the service--exceptional, personal, and professional.
The amenities were also excellent quality--both the hammam and the massage were wonderful, and the hotel organized several different excursions for us, which were reliable, fun, and reasonably priced. Some of the rooms overlooking the main courtyard can be a bit noisy, but that's also part of the open atmosphere of the hotel.
My one critical comment would be that it seems a shame to charge additionally for breakfast at this level of hotel, since while the breakfast is good (fresh fruit, croissants, juice, yogurt, and a choice of an egg dish) it's not elaborate, and in my opinion is that it's always better to include everything in the initial price so clients don't feel "nickeled & dimed". It would perhaps be better to include the basic breakfast and then allow people to order hot dishes as a supplement (?).
However, at this moment I am saving up my money to be able to go back to El Fenn next year and enjoy all the wonderful and authentic aspects of Marrakesh that this riad has to offer.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the main courtyard are lovely but more open to noise. If you can afford it (which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Totally amazing in every way. So quiet and tranquil and decorated beautifully. Every room is different and the art and range of colour is sensational. The staff are incredibly friendly and kind and want to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The food is delicious, on the roof and in the dining room. Generally the most pleasant hotel/ riad I have ever stayed in and felt very at home. I didn't want to leave. Very easy walk into the Jemaa el- Fnaa and souks. Also staff were very knowledgeable and helpful with directing you towards the variety of Biennale events which El Fenn are involved in. It is a large riad with a library, pool and turtles but it is cosy and homely. Desperate to go back. Recommend highly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Absolutely beautifully renovated riad - sumptuous and exotic. Excellent food served on the rooftop. I went over Christmas period - sun shining, blue sky; what's not to like? Well located for the old town. Hospitable staff, and a wonderful hamam.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Wonderful in every way. The location was perfect -- just on the outskirts of the souks, but hidden away down an alley for maximum tranquility. Our room was gorgeous. Service was exceptional. Turtles were abundant. Couldn't recommend more highly!

Also, I am usually not one for airport transfers, but having a pickup was worthwhile given the tucked-away location.

Room Tip: Room 14 is breath-taking, with incredibly high ceilings and a massive metal tub in the bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

El Fenn is a beautiful tranquil haven in a fun, exciting, bustling city. The rooms are stunning as is all the nooks and crannies that you stumble across, the staff helpful, charming and welcoming. It was cold and raining the first two days of our trip which would have been awful if not for the roaring log fires, huge day beds, plenty of books to read and the chill out music to listen to at the El Fenn. It almost makes you feel like you have lived there forever rather than being a guest for a few days, it's sheer bliss. The Hamman treatment is a must, as is trying the egg tagine for breakfast. But what I liked the most was the family of tortoises with their own house in the Courtyard. Really pleased with myself for finding the El Fenn and even more pleased for booking it.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketchum, Idaho
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

My son and I just spend 6 nights at the El Fenn and were nothing short of stupefied by the hotel and its environs. The service was exceptional, breakfast on the roof a daily delight and the restaurant just lovely. I don't know how Vanessa Branson was able to complete such a glorious and colorful renovation but as an interior designer I was thrilled, constantly finding treats around every corner from the art to the glasses to the turtles in the courtyard of the riad. The crowning moment for me was my first Hammam after a rainy, damp and muddy afternoon in the souks. The next time I come back I will have more than one! It was an incredible experience that I shall never forget, nor my soon to be 21 year old son. The fact that El Fenn was there for us each day when we returned home from exploring quite simply made the trip. I was sad to leave and have put the El Fenn and Marrakech on my family to do bucket list! Thank you to the entire staff!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are amazing. . . if you have a big budget room 19 is it! If not, 15 and 17 are me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Fenn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Fenn

Address: Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#23 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#29 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Fenn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 20 individually styled rooms and suites, a four-bedroom private riad, 3 swimming pools and its own hammam spa, El Fenn is a unique boutique hotel combining grandeur and historic architecture with hideaway nooks, terraces and gardens - making it the most peaceful place from which to enjoy Africa's most exotic city.Our story began with two friends on the hunt for a small riad to buy as a holiday home. It was 2002 when Vanessa Branson and Howell James walked into the almost ruined courtyard of one of Marrakech's formerly great private homes. Nearing dusk and with the sound of the muezzin's call to prayer echoing in the air, they instantly fell in love with the atmospheric house which was being sold with three smaller neighbouring homes. They soon realised that their holiday home was going to become so much more.At the time, only a handful of Marrakech's riads had been converted to small hotels and Vanessa and Howell knew they wanted to open a place offering something different – a home from home retreat that combined great food and service with the spirit of the building's past and a contemporary decorative twist. During a two-year renovation, local craftsman used traditional techniques to breathe new life into the building. Polished lime plastering was used in a rainbow of colours to create walls, baths and bed frames, original tiling was renovated and carved cedar ceilings restored. Retro furniture sourced from local flea markets was combined with one-off bespoke pieces to create a unique interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your El Fenn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Fenn Marrakech
Riad El Fenn Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Fenn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.