We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, wish we could have stayed longer!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Fenn

Save Saved
You added El Fenn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Fenn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€200 (EUR)
Ranked #45 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, wish we could have stayed longer!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Very easy to find in the Medina, well located for the square. The staff were exceptional, the room was massive, bed and sheets of great quality, breakfast on the roof terrace was a particular highlight. Would love to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room One which was one of the cheaper rooms but was huge! Breakfast on the roof terrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Great to know that you enjoyed your time here - and our close location to the souks! We're always delighted to get feedback so thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    383
    41
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
61
191
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay in el fenn. We had a beautiful room and bathroom to die for. The welcome drinks were a welcome on our arrival. My favorite area was the roof top, where there is plenty of space to relax and sit in the shade if you like too. We did a cookery course at el fenn which I would highly recommend. The head chef took us on a tour of the markets to start with and then we made home made tagine which was extra tasty as we made it ourselves! We were vegetarian which they were very happy to accommodate. Afternoon tea was a really nice extra as well. The surroundings really did make it a lovely place to relax but it is definitely more like a hotel whereas other riads feel more personal so it depends what you are looking for. Can't go too wrong here though!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to give us such great feedback. Hafid will be delighted to know how much you enjoyed the cooking class and we really feel it's a great addition for guests who want to see some local colour and learn the secrets of our food. We do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

The experience I received while staying was next to none. Delicious food, polite and helpful staff and a beautiful setting. The roof terraces the swimming pools the cinema the spa treatments the service the views the art the swag and coolness of the whole place just overwhelmed my girlfriend and I. The price is fare and the walk to the medina is a good length of 3 minutes. The pictures of the hotel do not do it justice in anyway. They should be re done . I loved it and anyone else who is thinking about it should definitely go. Thank you to Riad el Fenn, I will never forget you.

Room Tip: All the rooms are gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you so much. We're just delighted that you had such a great time here - and yes… the riad photography is currently being redone to try and capture everything perfectly! It was great meeting you and we really hope to welcome you back another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

This is a must! Unusual and good. So much attention is given to the design, making it as experiental one can get in Marakesh! Such an intriguing and clever design. Incorporating maroccan elements in a very stylish, soulful and fashionable way. Full marks to music and atmosphere too. Staff are also extremely professional - always ready to help. Highly commendable.

Thank you

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
What kind words and thanks so much for reviewing us. We really appreciate people taking the time and it's great to know that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This is a lovely hotel created by knocking 5 riadhs into one. It is a maze of passages, courtyards and staircases, but in a good way.
When I stayed for three nights the hotel was still undergoing some renovation works and there were problems with hot water from time to time. However, all of this was only a minor inconvenience. The building and its fittings and design are stunning, but completely in keeping with its surroundings. The staff were attentive and efficient, solving problems with great despatch. We are in the hotel's restaurant on two occasions, one dinner and one lunch. Both times the food was excellent, a delicious selection of local produce.
Although I didn't have any spa treatments, others in our party did and pronounced it 'very good'.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you Nick L for taking the time to review and letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay. As you said, we had some renovation work that ran a few days over but thank you for being understanding and we worked hard to ensure that guest's stays weren't affected. Great to know how much you enjoyed your time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Riad El Fenn far surpassed all expectations! My family of four, including grandma, had three rooms at El Fenn for four very memorable nights, including a very exciting New Years Eve celebration with an exquisite gourmet meal. Anna, Karima, and Lise went out of their way to make sure that our every need was taken care of, and the whole staff was so efficient, I've never experienced any such service in any hotel that I've stayed out throughout the world. The rooms were luxurious, the hammam (which even my 20 year old son experienced!) was relaxing, and the gourmet meals were extremely creative. I appreciated the fact that the staff did not accept tips (you can tip at the end of your stay by putting your tips in a box for the staff to divide among themselves so that no staff is left out), and they even prepared the fireplaces in your rooms each evening. I applaud each and every staff member and especially the chef for being top-notch. Grandma greatly appreciated the driver/guide that El Fenn arranged for her on the spur of the moment so that she could return to the market to shop on her own. And we were able to order room service at all hours, to accommodate our crazy tour schedules. We also enjoyed spending time on the roof top terrace: the Riad is centrally located and we could see wonderful views of the city. We can't wait to return to El Fenn someday!

Room Tip: Request a main-level room for an elderly person. Rooms 7, 8, and 12 were all very unique and beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
The rooms, the spa, the food, the terraces and the staff - thanks so much for all your praise and we were so pleased to know how much you enjoyed your stay. Yes…. You must come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I was bowled over by the beauty of El Fenn. It really was an oasis of calm in the middle of Marrakech. The riad offers so many different areas to retire to apart from your room but the main courtyard was my favourite - especially with the afternoon tea left out for guests. The art work around the riad is impressive and I particularly loved the driftwood Christmas tree that was up when we were there. We stayed in Riad Vanessa (the sister riad next door) but used the El Fenn restaurant and bar. We would have used the beautifuls pools too but it was a bit chilly in December! The staff were really friendly throughout our stay,and their driver was a star, driving through narrow streets to collect us after a luxurious hamman experience. A couple of the waiters even stood guard to ward of birds while we ate breakfast on the roof terrace (my friend has a bird-phobia). We had two meals at the hotel and the food was great on both occasions. Riad Vanessa is also a treasure in its own right. We returned to fine fires lit for us each night and lanterns lit up the starirways. I would, and have, thoroughly recommended El Fenn and Vanessa to anyone visiting Marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
It was lovely to meet you and your friends during your stay here and thanks so much for reviewing us. I've passed your comments onto Hassan our driver - he's delighted!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Fenn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Fenn

Address: Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#33 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#57 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Fenn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 20 individually styled rooms and suites, a four-bedroom private riad, 3 swimming pools and its own hammam spa, El Fenn is a unique boutique hotel combining grandeur and historic architecture with hideaway nooks, terraces and gardens - making it the most peaceful place from which to enjoy Africa's most exotic city.Our story began with two friends on the hunt for a small riad to buy as a holiday home. It was 2002 when Vanessa Branson and Howell James walked into the almost ruined courtyard of one of Marrakech's formerly great private homes. Nearing dusk and with the sound of the muezzin's call to prayer echoing in the air, they instantly fell in love with the atmospheric house which was being sold with three smaller neighbouring homes. They soon realised that their holiday home was going to become so much more.At the time, only a handful of Marrakech's riads had been converted to small hotels and Vanessa and Howell knew they wanted to open a place offering something different – a home from home retreat that combined great food and service with the spirit of the building's past and a contemporary decorative twist. During a two-year renovation, local craftsman used traditional techniques to breathe new life into the building. Polished lime plastering was used in a rainbow of colours to create walls, baths and bed frames, original tiling was renovated and carved cedar ceilings restored. Retro furniture sourced from local flea markets was combined with one-off bespoke pieces to create a unique interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your El Fenn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Fenn Marrakech
Riad El Fenn Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Fenn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.