We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect blend...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Fenn

Save Saved
You added El Fenn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
El Fenn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Leamington Spa, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect blend...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This Riad is perfectly done; beautifully decorated, individually designed rooms, lots of lovely sitting areas, plunge pools and a gorgeous bar and restaurant. Two breakfasts (one mini one served in your room and another served on the fabulous roof terrace) and optional massages and pedicure. I had the massage (I'm a trained masseuse) and it was very, very good, not the usual slathering with oil but a firm working of the knots! Wouldn't particularly recommend it with very young children as there are alot of stairs to negotiate, some with low balustrades nor with elderly parents. Would definitely book again.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms open on to public courtyards but have exclusive sitting area, rooms 8 and 9 (one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Mandalola. Thanks for such great feedback on your stay here. We're delighted that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay. We've recently introduced the croissant basket that are left outside rooms each morning with fresh tea and coffee because our aim is to help guests fully relax so no rushing out of bed for breakfast! So glad you enjoyed them. Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    311
    31
    12
    8
    3
See reviews for
43
153
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We just loved staying in our riad; it certainly enhanced our Marrakech experience. We were a group of 3 couples and we all said we would like to go back to el Fenn again when we return to Marrakech next time.

The location is very convenient, it is walking distance to the buzzing parts of the town: to Jemma el Fna square, to the souks, to the Marrakech museum, to the Ali ben Yussouf medresa. At the same time, as soon as you step inside from the door of the riad, you are in another peaceful and luxurious world.

The decoration was very tasteful with great attention to details. You must spare time to spend in the riad and enjoy different corners to relax when you return from your shopping at the souks. The afternoon tea and sweets served are also a great treat. The personelle is especially very kind and helpful.

The restaurant of El Fenn is also very good- both the ambience and the food. We went to Dar Yakout and to Le Tobsil for our first two nights, both were really a great experience but I strongly suggest that you eat dinner one night in the riad as both the food and the ambience is equally amazing if not better.

Room Tip: The courtyard is full of trees, the birds come humming early in the morning. Rooms number 1 and 2 ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us and we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Many guests value our location because we're so close to the main sites of the medina and thanks so much for your praise of our food. We've worked hard to create a menu that offers both European and Moroccan food and are delighted that we compared so well so two of the best restaurants in Marrakech!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

this must have been such a wonderful place. the bones are there, the staff is lovely - but it seems there is no management oversight and no reinvestment has taken place in years.

Specifically:
Our rooms (which are huge and lovely) filled with smoke from the lovely fire for the party in the courtyard. No problem, since it masked the smell of something which died there earlier, the staff opened our windows and closed the doors. i can see they are prepping another fire for tonight. Great....

No hot water. not even after i asked for it to be fixed...
Reception is overworked and lets you feel it.
the shabby chic is really fun - until the shabby is overtaking the chic....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We are so sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Just to reassure you, the riad has undergone an extensive programme of refurbishment over the past three years - we've updated rooms, installed new wifi, extended our kitchen, created a new massage room, renovated our roof terrace and refreshed the decor throughout all the rooms and public areas - but also made sure to retain the eclectic and relaxed nature of our decor which is one of the signatures of El Fenn. With regards to the smoke from the pool fire and the hot water, we're sorry that these one-off problems occurred but some things are out of our control and we remedied both issues as soon as we could. I think the smell in your room might have been the hand-stitched leather floor? Once again, we can only apologise for falling short of expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The nicest place I have ever been living in in the whole country. Great location, wonderfull decoration, unbeleavable colours and sounds, nice food and wonderfull terrace, great photography, go there and never leave!

Room Tip: Take a suite or a colonad room, I had number 17 and it was great,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
So pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the environment we've created at El Fenn. We're constantly trying to add twists that people will enjoy and are delighted that your stay was so successful. Great to hear that we're your favourite hotel in Morocco! Do visit us again if you're ever back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Being my 5th-6th time in Marrakech, I was looking for a really special place..
El Fenn is charming, elegant and stylish, yet cozy.
My kids felt immediately home, and this is a super +++ for all of us!
This is due to the staff, everybody was incredible.
Food is very good, from breakfast to dinner, with an amazing view from the terrace overlooking the medina.
But the very special touches are the coffee/tea with fresh croissants outside every room before breakfast time, for early birds, the cinema room for the kids so no need of baby sitter, the tea ready for the guests frm 4 pm onwards..
Sooo thoughtful of them!!!
Enjoy

Room Tip: Rooms are spacious and different one from another.. Every choice can be good, I asked the team to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay - and your children too! We always like to welcome children to the riad and know that they enjoy playing with the tortoises very much. Thanks for taking the time to review and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Marrakech.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

This riad was recommended to us and would happily recommend it to all. Stunning interior - we were in room 2 which was spectacular! The staff were brilliant, super friendly and welcoming. The roof terrace is a wonderful place to chill out after the craziness of the medina and breakfast up there is the perfect start to the day. It was a shame the lunch menu wasn't very interesting, choice was very limited. We had lunch there just one day and weren't blown away it wasn't anything special but there's plenty of other places to eat. The receptionist was super lovely and very helpful with great shopping/restaurant recommendations. We tried the 'ultimate Moroccan hammam experience' which I have to say was a bit disappointing - you would expect if you're paying double the price as it's for 2 people to have two therapists but for the hammam there was only one and she wasn't exactly thorough, it seemed pretty slap dash to be honest. The following massage was better at least and thankfully we had a therapist each!

Overall we would happily recommend this riad it is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to review and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm sorry that that hammam wasn't what you expected but it's usual to have one therapist because in Morocco people like to spend a lot of time in the hammam! That said, I've let the spa manager know and we'll explain the process to future guests. Come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Lovely riad, good location, beautiful terrace atop. Unfortunately that is where my positive comments end. We stayed at this riad for a few days at a very high rate. Having said that, Marrakech has become a rather expensive tourist destination. What really irritated me about this place though was the lack of interest on the part of management.
They constituted a sort of aloof managerial clique that showed little, if no interest in the paying guest, rather focusing on entertaining one another. It was as though we and other guests never existed or even mattered. Also our requests were generally met with either a snooty retort or simple apathy. I'm not certain whether this riad is resting on its laurels based on the name of its owner, but having stayed in several riads before, I felt that Al Fenn is really poor in guest relations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We're so sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay and since then I've fed back your comments at a team meeting because we never like to disappoint guests. Having said that, we were surprised that you felt the management here were a snooty clique. We pride ourselves on being approachable, relaxed and involved with our guests - as so many reviews here attest. We spend a lot of time making our guests feel comfortable, getting to know them and making recommendations about how to make the best of Marrakech. But obviously this wasn't your experience which is why you met with the general manager to discuss your concerns and have them addressed by him. We can only apologise once again that on this occasion we failed to live up to expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Fenn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Fenn

Also Known As:
Riad El Fenn Hotel
Riad El Fenn Marrakech
Riad El Fenn Hotel Marrakech
Riad El Fenn
Address: Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#23 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#63 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#73 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Fenn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 20 individually styled rooms and suites, a four-bedroom private riad, 3 swimming pools and its own hammam spa, El Fenn is a unique boutique hotel combining grandeur and historic architecture with hideaway nooks, terraces and gardens - making it the most peaceful place from which to enjoy Africa's most exotic city.Our story began with two friends on the hunt for a small riad to buy as a holiday home. It was 2002 when Vanessa Branson and Howell James walked into the almost ruined courtyard of one of Marrakech's formerly great private homes. Nearing dusk and with the sound of the muezzin's call to prayer echoing in the air, they instantly fell in love with the atmospheric house which was being sold with three smaller neighbouring homes. They soon realised that their holiday home was going to become so much more.At the time, only a handful of Marrakech's riads had been converted to small hotels and Vanessa and Howell knew they wanted to open a place offering something different – a home from home retreat that combined great food and service with the spirit of the building's past and a contemporary decorative twist. During a two-year renovation, local craftsman used traditional techniques to breathe new life into the building. Polished lime plastering was used in a rainbow of colours to create walls, baths and bed frames, original tiling was renovated and carved cedar ceilings restored. Retro furniture sourced from local flea markets was combined with one-off bespoke pieces to create a unique interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your El Fenn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Fenn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.